Team-BHP > The Indian Car Scene

Search this Thread
Old 22nd July 2006, 15:26   #1
Team-BHP Support

Indian IT pros don't buy flashy cars

I saw this news item on rediff and my first reaction was what BS, but then I gave a second thought.

I wondered what would I do if I had their kind of money. I am also an IT pro, but not that rich. No really, I took loan for my Baleno. I think I too wouldn't go for a flashy car, if I had access to infinite money, I think I'll mostly stick to C+ segment or at the most D segment, but within 20L. Don't know how to explain it, but that's what I think I will do. There is precedence, while abroad I settled for Acura 3.2TL after seriously considering BMW 328i and Lexus I300. I somehow couldn't bring myself to spend more money eventhough I could afford it.

How do I explain this. It is possible this behavior is specific to IT pros from 90s and before, where most of us came from middle class families that rarely owned cars. It may be also possible that most IT pros are not interested primarily in cars.

I am interested in thoughts members may have on this topic. I am basically trying to find out what kind of thoughts go through your head when you have to spend your own hard earned money on expensive cars. Do IT pros think differently or is it the family background that influences your choice.
Old 22nd July 2006, 16:44   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

IMO - The article seemed to try simplify things too much. Lot of IT guys may be getting good salaries, but most of them are the first generation like that. There would be other things that are also priority, esp a house. Looking at the cost of real estate in cities like Blr today, the choices that the guys have for cars isnt surprising. Many would be doing a house and a good, new car at the same time, unlike our parents who would have got a house first and much later thought abt cars, if they got a car. In case of couples, they may be having two cars.