Team-BHP - HM-Mitsubishi's to be masterstroke-icar

-   -   HM-Mitsubishi's to be masterstroke-icar (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/15678-hm-mitsubishis-masterstroke-icar.html)

http://www.edmunds.com/insideline/do...ticleId=116366

http://www.domain-b.com/companies/co...31_launch.html

http://in.today.reuters.com/News/new...a-261654-1.xml

http://news.techwhack.com/4145/mitsubishi-compact-car/

http://autoreview.belproject.com/item/187

http://mitsubishi-i.jp/

the official website.

http://www.blonnet.com/2006/08/01/st...0100071001.htm

This is with reference to "HM eyeing small car segment — Likely to launch Mitsubishi Icar in India by end of 2007" (Business Line, July 30): There is no such proposal under consideration by HM.
Soni Shrivastav,
GM, Corporate Communications,
C. K. Birla Group, New Delhi

In India, the iCar would be aimed at such popular local models as the Maruti 800, which is based on an older version of the Suzuki Alto minicar.

Originally Posted by devarshi84
In India, the iCar would be aimed at such popular local models as the Maruti 800, which is based on an older version of the Suzuki Alto minicar.

It will be free too, since dreams are free,and since HM has not plans of launching it, it will be a car of your dreams :D

You forgot the lines mentioned after that. Lemme post it instead.

"What this means to you: Trying desperately to broaden its reach, Mitsubishi may be fighting a losing battle."

The Colt would make more sense in India.

http://www.mitsubishi-cars.co.uk/col...sp?strCar1=GD1

Shan2nu

Originally Posted by devarshi84

Do you know how much the i-car costs if its made in India. You can probably buy 2 M800s for that kind of money.

Originally Posted by Shan2nu
The Colt would make more sense in India.

http://www.mitsubishi-cars.co.uk/col...sp?strCar1=GD1

Shan2nu

I agree.

Originally Posted by tsk1979
It will be free too, since dreams are free,and since HM has not plans of launching it, it will be a car of your dreams :D

If Honda can bring in the latest and advanced civic for 12lac. If Maruti can bring in such a superb swift. then what's wrong with Mitsubishi bringing in the (i)????? Honda and toyota are also planning to bring in hatches. Now is that a dream too? logically thinking such a small engine like in (i) makes more sense today.

According to recent media reports Hindustan Motors plans to launch the `Mitsubishi iCar' in India by the end of 2007. It would introduce the new model through the SKD (semi-knocked down) route whereby the new vehicle will be assembled at the company's plants in India

It costs around $11,000 in Japan which converts into rough Rs5 lakh. The tiny iCar is said to have taken Japan by storm, and sold out each unit produced within three months of going on sale.

through indigenisation, the price may be further brought down in India.

http://www.domain-b.com/companies/co...31_launch.html

Hindustan Motors Ltd. plans to launch Mitsubishi's small-car model iCar in India by the end of 2007.

The hatchback will be imported in a semi-knocked down form and assembled at Hindustan Motors' plant near Chennai. Production at the factory dedicated to Mitsubishi will be ramped up, the paper said.

A tax cut earlier this year on small cars is encouraging more small car launches.

http://in.today.reuters.com/News/new...a-261654-1.xml

Now if Reuters say it, then it is almost confirmed news. HM may also not bring this car to India. if you remember HM madea bomb about releasing the carisma in India which never came.

Originally Posted by Mpower
Do you know how much the i-car costs if its made in India. You can probably buy 2 M800s for that kind of money.

talking about price 5lacs, price can be brought down to 3 lacs by price cutting, indegenization and deduction of features. And at close to 3 lacs it can sell If HM is smart enough to market it well. On top of that M800 is a economy car which has been selling for around 20 years now. icar is not a competitor to zen but with Alto/zen.

Its not good to jump to conclusions. Better wait and watch.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=twxBeHSJddY

Japanese commercial of the "i" clearly defining the target market.

Looks like an egg with wheels, windows and doors :)

http://www.japancorp.net/Article.Asp?Art_ID=13630

Tokyo, Japan, Oct 25, 2006 - (JCN Newswire) - Mitsubishi Motors Corporation today announced that the "i" minicar has been awarded the "Good Design Grand Prize 2006" (the prize of the Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry) in the Good Design Award run by the Japan Industrial Design Promotion Organization. The "i" is the first minicar model to win the Good DesignGrand Prize, which is given to the most outstanding entry among all categories in the year.

Ushering in a new age for the minicar, "i" was developed as an innovative premium small car that successfully overcomes the tradeoffs traditionally associated with the category: design versus comfortable interior space; comfortable interior space versus impact safety. Mitsubishi Motors has conquered these challenges by developing a new and leading edge rear-midship layout that mounts the engine forward of the rear axle line, This permits three new "innovations" within the category's dimensional constraints: futuristic and uptown styling; agile handling and a comfortable ride; and excellent multidirectional impact safety. This highly original exterior and interior design, which is delivered by the ingenious platform, brought the grand prize in the award.

MMC president Osamu Masuko made the following remarks: "We are honored to receive this significant prize today with our "i" minicar that has found favor with customers for its outstanding and futuristic design. We will keep working on the development of customer-oriented models with this unique rear-midship layout platform that brings new levels of ride comfort and impact safety together with innovative design."

The Good Design Awards, celebrates its 50th anniversary this year, screen entries from all fields of human activity based the view that design is an essential element in all fields of everyday life and industry. The "Good Design Award 2006" received 2,918 entries from April 26th to June 7th 2006.

Small cars like these, the Icar, Yaris, Jazz are what india needs now! Wish HM actually takes up the ICAR and gets it here. This is a sure bet for Mitsubishi to come into the good books of ppl here again.

I believe that by the time these international small cars make it to India, that segment A+ would have either diminished in premium-value or shrunk, as Indians become more advanced in their choice of initial segments.

the I-car is being readied for an Indian Launch. The big qsn is when, as HM is known to launch products late.

The iCar, if launched at a realistic price of 3.75 - 4.50 lakhs, would definitely be better value than any Hyundai, Maruti or Chevy product, simply because Mitsubishi's product & build quality is exemplary - far, far better than it's competitors.

I have a feeling that it's initial sales will take some time to pick up, say around 6-9 months, but post that it'll sell really well, provided it has a good torquey 900cc - 1.0L engine & city fuel efficiency around the 12-13kpl mark.

IMHO, the 600cc enginewon't be adequate for the Indian market where it would be perceived as poor value at the prices I've mentioned.