Old 2nd May 2016, 16:13   #541

Re: The Indian Taxi Revolution - Uber, Ola, TaxiforSure, Meru etc.

Originally Posted by carfreak7 View Post
Had a very bad experience with the surge pricing of Ola. But, people are unable to understand that due to surge pricing, it can go very well upto Rs 15-20 per km. Hopefully, something is done about this all over India.
I too got hit on Saturday by Ola Mini. It mentioned 1.4 x. I had to travel from Shivaji park to Hard Rock Cafe worli which is 4 kms away and was charged 161 Rs. While returning, I took a Kali-peeli and the fare was 37 Rs
Old 2nd May 2016, 16:48   #542

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
I used Uber for 45 KM (inside city) travel, receipt show some additional surcharges + toll charge for driver's return journey. Is it correct? Am I missing something?

Here is the break up -

Base Fare - 35
Distance ch - 315
Time ch - 65
Distance Surcharge - 210

Toll charge for driver's return journey? 155
(toll charge for onward travel was paid by me)

Total - 785
They charge a different per KM rate for trips longer than 15 km. As per the breakup above, distance charge calculated at Rs.7/km. Distance surcharge calculated at ~Rs.5/km making it to around Rs.12/km total.

Not sure about the return toll. Maybe you could write to them for a proper explanation.

Details - https://newsroom.uber.com/india/vardistfares/
Dry Ice is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd May 2016, 17:13   #543

over the weekend tried using OLAPrime couple of times. The booking confirmation comes and then the allocated car doesn't move from its place! When you call driver you hear responses like: I didn't get booking so can't come or I have logged off i don't know why i got the booking!

And when you cancel and try re-booking the cab again there is surge any where from 1.4 to 1.8!

With Ola Micro its a different story. Tried it couple of times, but each time the driver said AC is not working! So imagine in the middle of Bangalore summer the cab all heated up, it was a torture!

Experience with Uber has been always better, yes there will be surge pricing but at least we get cabs for sure which are neat and clean.
Old 2nd May 2016, 17:30   #544

Originally Posted by ant_vas View Post
When you call driver you hear responses like: I didn't get booking so can't come or I have logged off i don't know why i got the booking!
Had faced this issue with OLA in Bangalore some 3 times on same day. Incidentally it was also a weekend, Sunday morning ~ 09:00 AM or so. I don't frequently use OLA in Bangalore, hence not sure if this is a regular issue.

First time, driver said he was not sure how the booking got accepted since he is logged off. Second time the guy did not turn up, calling him up his answer was that he is not willing to drive to the location I wanted to go. Third guy said he was driving all night and was going to his house, since my destination was towards opposite direction he didn't want to accept the same. All three asked me to cancel the drive, I declined and made them cancel. Later that day I got a call from Ola customer care asking about the same, informed them it was due to drivers not accepting the same.

I use Ola and Uber frequently in Chennai and felt services of both were better there compared to Bangalore. However, couple of weeks back a Uber guy after accepting my request didn't turn up. It was at Chennai Central station, I am able to find him in maps parked at station parking lot some 100 meters from where I was waiting. So call him up and asked why he is not coming over in-spite of some 5 minutes of accepting the booking, he says he is taking rest and cannot come to my destination. I cancelled the drive by selecting the option as driver refused or something similar. Checked for another cab and by then surge pricing was in place, hence booked Ola.
Old 5th May 2016, 10:32   #545

The Indian Taxi Revolution - Uber, Ola, TaxiforSure, Meru etc.

Uber is working towards predicting demand in a bid to 'avoid' surge pricing!

http://www.bgr.in/news/uber-will-pre...surge-pricing/

Last edited by balajisv : 5th May 2016 at 10:41.
Old 5th May 2016, 14:27   #546

Originally Posted by balajisv View Post
In a bid to avoid surge in pricing due to high demand, American multinational online transportation network company Uber is trying to use a machine learning method to predict the surge in demand for its cab service. Jeff Schneider, the engineering leader of Uber’s Advanced Technology Center, while speaking at a recent data technology conference said the idea behind this initiative is to look for more cabs on the road before the surge in pricing.
Idiots. This is like listening to the weather forecast instead of looking out of the window. Any fool can predict the busiest times on the roads (ie the times when people need to travel) but it seems that Mr Schneider needs Artificial Intelligence to do it.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th May 2016, 14:40   #547

Originally Posted by mpksuhas View Post
....not sure if this is a regular issue....
It is, and I don't entirely blame the drivers even though they're the ones seemingly causing passengers discomfort.

Most cab aggregators are now past the 'blow VC money on absurd incentives' stage and are tightening their belts, causing drivers initially used to fat incentives to become disenchanted and indulge in such shenanigans. Nobody really cares for the customer, neither the aggregator nor the driver.
Chetan_Rao is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th May 2016, 14:41   #548

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Idiots. This is like listening to the weather forecast instead of looking out of the window. Any fool can predict the busiest times on the roads (ie the times when people need to travel) but it seems that Mr Schneider needs Artificial Intelligence to do it.
Isn't the surge pricing their own creation? I remember them saying that their business model is based on surge pricing (during the controversy Vs Delhi govt) and hence they cannot do away with it. Now they want to avoid surge pricing by bringing in another complex model.(Cant they just delete a line in their s/w program and be done with it?)

Anyway who is to argue when they have VCs willing to fund anything that goes with new technology. Mr. Schneider does not need AI to do it - he is just using his superior intelligence to get more money from VCs
Old 6th May 2016, 09:04   #549

Infractions: 0/3 (12)

Originally Posted by mallumowgli View Post
Isn't the surge pricing their own creation? I remember them saying that their business model is based on surge pricing (during the controversy Vs Delhi govt) and hence they cannot do away with it. Now they want to avoid surge pricing by bringing in another complex model.(Cant they just delete a line in their s/w program and be done with it?)

Anyway who is to argue when they have VCs willing to fund anything that goes with new technology. Mr. Schneider does not need AI to do it - he is just using his superior intelligence to get more money from VCs
Isn't demand based pricing a good thing? If you want a service I think you should pay for it in terms of what you consider a fair price!
Why do we have this "Quasi Commie/ Socialistic Nehruvian" hangover even now when the markets are moving towards a more "free" system?
shankar.balan is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 6th May 2016, 09:42   #550

Isn't demand based pricing a good thing? If you want a service I think you should pay for it in terms of what you consider a fair price!
Why do we have this "Quasi Commie/ Socialistic Nehruvian" hangover even now when the markets are moving towards a more "free" system?
But sir pray tell me how is it peak time at 2 pm on a Saturday afternoon to warrant surge pricing.
Wanted to go to a mall last Saturday (Chennai). Distance of about 7kms from home. Ola fare prediction with surge pricing showed Rs.350 approx.
Promptly booked a Fasttrack call taxi and reached destination for Rs.170 odd.
Old 6th May 2016, 09:57   #551

I was just giving a commenton Uber's own business model and their intention on bringing down surge pricing (when it is their own invention!) - rather tonque in cheek. Even now am not clear about the business model followed by Uber and Ola as a sustainable one

But I would rather not get into debate on 'free trade' system Vs Nehruvian model, both 'designed' to benefit only a privileged few
Old 6th May 2016, 10:05   #552

I don't think without surges it is a viable business. In Delhi it is 7Inr per km plus 1Inr per min plus 40Inr Base fare. If we calculate a car costs Inr 5lacs with running of 200kms per day which means at these fares car is earning 200kms x 10trips ( 40x10 plus 7x200 plus 12hrs x 60min x1) which is 2520Inr. Out of this 20per goes to Uber plus about 5per taxes so driver is left with Inr1890/ per day. Now consider running cost for CNG with maintenance as 3.5Inr / km so driver is left with 1890 minus 700 which is 1190 Inr so I find it unreasonable to expect this price as viable as now the emi needs to go annual insurance and of course driver income. So surge is integral part of pricing it cheap. I have paid surges upto 3.5x in Delhi and overall I see from my ride history majority rides I have got at meagre Base fares . So I am fine with occasional surges.

And to all who think it is expensive the market has options like easy cabs, meru, local taxi walls, Autos etc.

Last edited by Trust_In_Thrust : 6th May 2016 at 10:07.
Trust_In_Thrust is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th May 2016, 11:03   #553

Wonderful, this thread is maturing ...
Originally Posted by balajisv View Post
http://www.bgr.in/news/uber-will-pre...surge-pricing/
This is a just a PR move ... public everywhere is inherently socialistic when they buy any stuff. (It is another matter that those same two-faced humans get annoyed when then sell their stuff in the same controlled economy).

Imagine Govt setting a price control on software license pricing and manhour services. All our so called IT-whiz kids would be as poor as a farmer in drought season.

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
So then why do the fools in the cities still decide to hail the cabs at the moment of highest demand, knowing fully well that the surge may be applicable?

Originally Posted by mallumowgli View Post
Surge price anywhere in the world cannot be attributed to any single person. It is a phenomena that has been there since human intelligence lead to trade.

Ola, Uber, Airlines, Food, Commodities, Clothes, Every damn thing that isn't controlled by govt - all run on very simple principle of selling the underutilized inventory.

IF the RATE of supply is higher than RATE of demand, there will be a glut (unsold inventory). This leads to two situations:

a) Either the glut forces the sellers to reduce price, so that more buyers come in (who couldn't afford it previously) and reduce the inventory. Thus balancing the supply and demand.

b) Or the govt/regulators meddle and fix the prices. In which case there will be very high levels of unsold inventory leading to wastages/decay/destruction. The great case in point is foodgrains in India.

If the RATE of demand is higher than RATE of supply, there will be a shortage (zero inventory). The shortage can lead to two things:

a) either sellers increase the price / buyers bid up the price (like in auction) - so that the non serious and non capable buyers drop out (and opt alternatives like bus/metro) and thus balance the rate of supply and rate of demand

b) or have a price control by govt/regulation, but since the inventory is limited, buyers get to buy only by luck / lottery. The rest have to wait till new inventory gets to the shop.

It appears to me that people find it more fair that something gets allotted to them via lottery, vs bidding according to their competencies.
It also appears that competition in mental abilities is encouraged, ... competition in strength is also tolerated to some extent in sports, but competition in monetary abilities is abhorred.
But the same two-faced humans also try extremely hard their entire lives to out-earn every other living human beings. What a bunch of hypocrites.

It is not Uber or Ola who is raising the prices as such, it is us idiotic commuters who are raising the prices by competing among ourselves. If the prices are not raised then we will all be stuck longer without any cabs in most of the situations.

EVERY price rise of any commodity that you see can be explained by this.
Of course the public is naive and like typical humans will never accept their own misdeed and therefore looks to someone else to be made as a scapegoat.

Originally Posted by rajivr1612 View Post
But sir pray tell me how is it peak time at 2 pm on a Saturday afternoon to warrant surge pricing.
Wanted to go to a mall last Saturday (Chennai). Distance of about 7kms from home. Ola fare prediction with surge pricing showed Rs.350 approx.
Promptly booked a Fasttrack call taxi and reached destination for Rs.170 odd.
You did the right thing.
Ola's or Uber's surge is meant to this exact thing. As I mentioned above, if the rate of taxi booking is higher than rate of taxis being made available, there will be a shortage, and thus Ola/Uber starts charging higher.

You compared the alternatives and chose a cheaper Fast track. Thus freeing the Ola cab for someone else who may be in a greater need. (And therefore willing to pay a better price).
If you think Ola is stupid for doing this then everyone would do what you did, and no one will book Ola. Leading to losses for Ola.
So the point is that people are actually comfortable with surge prices. They pay the surge prices too considering the alternatives.

But it is the general cribbing nature of people: people buy 1 lakh worth iPhones and still crib about the prices.
LOL!
I mean did someone put a gun to their temple and make them buy an iPhone?

Last edited by alpha1 : 6th May 2016 at 11:11.
alpha1 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th May 2016, 11:43   #554

Originally Posted by alpha1 View Post
So then why do the fools in the cities still decide to hail the cabs at the moment of highest demand, knowing fully well that the surge may be applicable?
People travel when they need to travel. Those who are flexible wait or go earlier. Those [in this city] who can wait an hour rather than 15 minutes call Fastrack. The cost may be a little more than the "normal" charge, but it will be nothing like a substantial surge charge.
Old 6th May 2016, 11:58   #555

Originally Posted by alpha1 View Post
IF the RATE of supply is higher than RATE of demand, there will be a glut (unsold inventory). This leads to two situations:

a) Either the glut forces the sellers to reduce price, so that more buyers come in (who couldn't afford it previously) and reduce the inventory. Thus balancing the supply and demand.
Never seen this happening with Ola/Uber. They do charge more (surge) if there are more customers than cabs but never seen them reduce the price if there are more cabs than customers. It happens regularly in hotels (off-season), airlines (early-morning flights), buses (weekday fares) etc.