Old 14th August 2016, 16:12   #346

Re: 2015 Volkswagen Jetta Facelift : A Close Look

Originally Posted by mmmreddy78 View Post
I took leap off faith and I made booking for Jetta CL 2.0 TDI 2015 last Friday. Now again news in media forcing me to wonder if i am making foolish decision to buy Jetta now.

I liked octavia, as alternate option was considering 1.4TSI but would be loosing on safety features. I liked the Octavia for seating comfort and better color choice, MirrorLink, nimbleness.

My head says to go with Octavia. :Frustrate

Given the uncertainty can some one advise Jetta still make sense?
Would suggest you to wait and watch for a month or so and then take a call. Are you getting huge discounts?

You can consider an octavia as Skoda is trying improve service quality and also throwing a 4 year standard warranty.
Octavia diesel is better option but you would loose multi link suspension when compared to TSI.
djay99 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th August 2016, 17:42   #347

Thanks djay99

Originally Posted by djay99 View Post
Are you getting huge discounts?

2015, CL diesel for 20.3, 2016 for 21.5
Old 14th August 2016, 18:35   #348

Have been using using Ford Fusion 1.6 petrol from 2005. I am used to excellent ride quality, noise insulation, suspension etc. Inspite of abuse never had any major issues.

Was looking for additional car for last 4 years, but the price vs VFM and the bar set by my current car hold me back.

After test driving, Corolla, Jetta, Octavia and evaluating pros and cons, buying Jetta made sense. First there were news from Autocar that Jetta getting discontinued. I reached out VW customer care to know if its getting discontinued, their after sales people called me up but they did not have such information.

I took leap off faith and I made booking for Jetta CL 2.0 TDI 2015 last Friday. Now again news in media forcing me to wonder if i am making foolish decision to buy Jetta now.

I liked octavia, as alternate option was considering 1.4TSI but would be loosing on safety features. I liked the Octavia for seating comfort and better color choice, MirrorLink, nimbleness.

Well, I am in a Similar situation! We have been Waiting to replace my 2008 Ford Fiesta 1.6 Petrol and The bar set by my car , Drivability, Response from The Steering is pretty High! Almost Booked the Highline TDI AT, But just waiting for The New Elantra to launch (August 23rd ) to make a Confirm Decision!

Even if the Jetta is discontinued, You'll be covered for 4Years If you are opting for extended Warranty( As mentioned by someone on this Thread).

Resale value is Usually pretty Bad for German Cars and either way ,If you've planned to keep the Car for Four Years, There is no point in thinking about the resale Value as the Car has already Depreciated quite a bit within the first 3 years.

I strongly Feel that ACI report is not true, Seems well in time, when a Brand New D1 Segment Vehicle is being launched .

Last edited by nishithrao95 : 14th August 2016 at 18:36.
nishithrao95 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th August 2016, 19:49   #349

When I bought Cedia back in 2007, I bought it coz it was Mitsubishi rally machine. It was the period of Honda City selling like hot cake and "kitna deytee hai" times. Mitsubishi discontinued Cedia in 2010. I replaced all 4 shocks, all suspension bushings, tie rods and ball joints few months ago. Mitsubishi has global market share in decimal percentage and VW is#1 car seller!
That's why I ain't worried a bit to book my Jetta.
Old 14th August 2016, 22:00   #350

I'd say stick to Jetta 2.0 TDi. The Octavia 1.4 TSi is very much a niche combination as of now, plus you lose a lot of the safety features.
itwasntme is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 15th August 2016, 14:39   #351

2015, CL diesel for 20.3, 2016 for 21.5
If VW chooses to discontinue Jetta then you can extract more discounts (may be 1 to 2 Lac) on 2016 manufactured car. I think its better to wait and watch.
Octavia 1.4 TSI is no match when compared to Jetta 2.0 TDI as latter has more power, more FE, more safety features and a multi link rear suspension.
djay99 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2016, 18:37   #352

https://www.cars.com/articles/2017-v...1420689908254/
Now this one says Diesel Jettas are GONE. OMG moment if this is to be believed. Only 4 petrol trims.!
Old 22nd August 2016, 14:17   #353

Originally Posted by RajaTaurus View Post
Now this one says Diesel Jettas are GONE. OMG moment if this is to be believed. Only 4 petrol trims.!
I somehow suspect that this is a marketing ploy to get people to buy the current gen Jetta. They would be insane to drop diesels altogether from their lineup for the Jetta considering most folks use it as a highway cruiser.

It could be also that VAG may think (read:strategize) that Skoda is the luxury brand for India and leave VW to other countries. Again, a crazy idea but having observed their pattern, it sure wouldn't be too far a stretch.
Old 22nd August 2016, 15:53   #354

Or could be something big going on behind the scene on their diesel scandal which could end up in a "ban" and they don't want dead stockpile on diesel cars.
Old 26th August 2016, 21:49   #355

Friends, quick update from my side. Taking the delivery of silk blue comfortline Nov-2015 make and 2016 model TDI tomorrow. Just done PDI this evening.

Thanks Tanveer_2558, djay99, nishithrao95,RajaTaurus, itwasntme for your response.

Thanks to numerous ownership reports which helped me to make this decision. Will keep posted how things go.

-Murali
mmmreddy78 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th August 2016, 06:55   #356

Advance congratulations! I am still waiting for my Blue beauty! It has not yet been shipped from Pune, Dealer is blaming it on intervened holidays but still promising the date of Sept 2.
Safe Miles to You.
Old 27th August 2016, 07:32   #357

This is referring to the US market, where obviously VW is trying to sort out the emissions scandal. They are withdrawing Diesels there sue to the backlash. Does not mean anything for India, where cuatomer still loves Diesel and care generally very little about emissions ( other than to the extent of what might happen to residual values in case of government actions.)
Old 27th August 2016, 09:03   #358

silk blue comfortline Nov-2015 make and 2016 model TDI...
-Murali
Did you get a good discount? If yes, can you please share how much it was?

Edit: never mind. Just read your post above regarding price. In case there are any more inputs it will be appreciated.

Last edited by reppy : 27th August 2016 at 09:05.
Old 1st September 2016, 07:19   #359

Blue beauty arrived home yesterday. Dealership experience 8/10. Detailed ownership report thread to follow. Only thing I added were mud flaps. Thanks to all J-lovers for their support.
RajaTaurus is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st September 2016, 09:24   #360

Blue beauty arrived home yesterday. Dealership experience 8/10. Detailed ownership report thread to follow. Only thing I added were mud flaps. Thanks to all J-lovers for their support.
Congrats on the Jetta! It's a fabulous vehicle, and will leave you grinning for years to come.

Please put up some pictures and the review up soon. I don't think we have a blue silk on Tbhp yet.