Old 19th March 2015, 16:30   #1

Rumour: Nissan Patrol SUV coming to India

Just came across this on ACI.

Didnt they just stop selling their CBUs coz of low demand and now this?

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-new...nd-393972.aspx
fx45 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2015, 09:14   #2

re: Rumour: Nissan Patrol SUV coming to India

The approximate price is 1crore as per ACI, is it really worth when you have the range rovers around?
Old 20th March 2015, 10:57   #3

The numbers on the paper look very impressive! But with a price tag of 1 crore it may not attract many potential buyers since that price bracket is dominated by the 3 legends in our country with Merc doing better than before. No doubt Nissan Patrol is loved by enthusiasts across the globe, but its chief competitor Land cruiser has superb brand value in India and Nissan will have to go-that-extra-mile to keep their cash registers ringing. Had Nissan got it right at their initial stages with "fluidic" designs across its products and better sales network, it would have been slightly easier for its flagship Patrol to touch the target numbers.
Zahoor23 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2015, 11:10   #4

Originally Posted by sajusherief View Post
The approximate price is 1crore as per ACI, is it really worth when you have the range rovers around?
Range Rovers are in the upside of 1 cr now.
Old 20th March 2015, 11:30   #5

Same as Landcruiser 200, They may not be expecting double digit sales.

If I remember correctly, Toyota Prado was initially launched with a petrol engine and Toyota was forced to withdraw it.

If they can bring Patrol, why not Murano, Xterra or Pathfinder ? I don't understand their strategy.

Last edited by GTO : 23rd March 2015 at 14:39. Reason: Language
Old 20th March 2015, 12:09   #6
D4D

Nope. Nissan can't sell this one very successfully.

All mass market brands can't sell very expensive models. Leave that to the 3 big Germans.

BTW, where's the Diesel engine?

Examples: VW Phaeton, Toyota Land Cruiser+Prado.

They price it so high and there's not much brand value to speak of. (Though the cars are brilliant)
Old 20th March 2015, 13:40   #7

The Nissan Patrol is a capable vehicle, comparable to the Toyota Land Cruiser 200.

But it doesn't have a suitable Diesel motor in the current generation. Even with a Diesel, the Land Cruiser is not selling in numbers that it deserves to sell, as the similarly sized Mercedes GL and Audi Q7 are priced in the 70 -80L price band. So with a big V8 that has a reputation for being a guzzler even in Dubai where the Patrol sells in good numbers, I wonder how many people would actually go for this Nissan.

Perhaps, as the petrol - Diesel price gap is narrower than before, Nissan might be hoping that the Patrol might attract buyers who want a SUV that is one of the world's most capable and luxurious vehicles of the type.

Lucky are the people who look beyond the badge and take the plunge and buy this car.
Yeldo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st March 2015, 15:19   #8

Mod Note : There are several language errors in your posts. This negatively affects the forum experience for other readers.

Kindly ensure that you proof-read your posts prior to submission. Also, it would be a good idea to use spell-checkers.

Last edited by GTO : 23rd March 2015 at 14:43.
dilsh3r is offline   Received Infraction
Old 22nd March 2015, 20:39   #9

Nissan has already burnt fingers when they tried to create a premium image earlier with Teana. This time the jump is far longer. In our market, a Nissan at 1Crore +... not sure how many will find it attractive. One thing that this model may do however, is to create awareness in Indian consumers about Nissan's technological capabilities.
Old 22nd March 2015, 21:37   #10

Instead of such products Nissan should be looking at Qashqai/Juke class of product for the Indian market. And also price them well. I dont know why they dont get those product lines to India.
ampere is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th March 2015, 15:18   #11

Re: Rumour: Nissan Patrol SUV coming to India

A LHD test drive model for the press is already here;

Rumour: Nissan Patrol SUV coming to India-0_468_700_http___172.17.115.180_82_extraimages_20150327055219_front-tracking.jpg

Rumour: Nissan Patrol SUV coming to India-0_468_700_http___172.17.115.180_82_extraimages_20150327055220_offroad.jpg

Test Driven by ACI already;

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-rev...ve-394137.aspx
Old 30th March 2015, 23:50   #12

The Nissan Patrol in its P60 avatar was perfect for India. A serious no nonsense off roader. The current Patrol has evolved into a much more expensive luxury vehicle which in itself is a niche segment. What would work in India is a modernised version of the P60 with a diesel mill and a reasonable price like the Pathfinder perhaps.
Old 31st March 2015, 11:26   #13

Sell one vehicle. Get 100% profit. Enjoy the ride?

I am not sure where to start with the disappointment towards this strategy. Come on Nissan. You are the guys who make the GT-R! It's incredible (and stunningly confusing) how terrible your marketing / management is vs. your engineering department.
Mad Max is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th March 2020, 13:46   #14

Being re-evaluated as a CBU, under the 2,500 vehicle exemption rule.

https://www.autocarindia.com/car-new...-launch-416708
turbo is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th March 2020, 19:13   #15

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Instead of such products Nissan should be looking at Qashqai/Juke class of product for the Indian market. And also price them well. I dont know why they dont get those product lines to India.
I wonder why as well! I hope they bring those product lines to India.

We had a rental Qashqai last year in France; It was a very comfortable SUV and we were able to do many more miles (~2500 in 3 weeks) than usual exploring the countryside and vineyards, and my better half was very thankful that I did not rent a sports sedan/coupe like we usually do (where else am I going to enjoy those rides?!). She usually complains after 2-300 miles on the road a day, but she didn't say a word in the Qashqai. And I had taken a liking to it too as it felt safe, planted, and had very minimal NVH at highway cruising speeds. A very well-sorted SUV it was. I used to be a strictly low-slung sedan kind of guy, but that car has made me prefer SUVs now
Rumour: Nissan Patrol SUV coming to India-20180814_163305__1585575220_162.216.141.34.jpg  

Rumour: Nissan Patrol SUV coming to India-20180815_020707__1585575141_162.216.141.34.jpg  

Rumour: Nissan Patrol SUV coming to India-20180814_120145__1585575026_162.216.141.34.jpg  

Rumour: Nissan Patrol SUV coming to India-20180812_182041__1585574935_162.216.141.34.jpg  

Rumour: Nissan Patrol SUV coming to India-20180812_180238__1585574907_162.216.141.34.jpg  

hortons15 is offline   (4) Thanks