Old 3rd November 2015, 00:03   #16

Mean Metal M-Zero: An Indian Supercar Concept

Originally Posted by rsidd View Post
Such cars, whether GT86 or Lamborghini or Bugatti (or even Abarth!), are about glory and bragging rights. Nobody needs them. Nobody thinks they need them. Nobody buys them because they think they need them. And society certainly doesn't need them. The only way such a car would "help our market" would be if, like Tesla Motors products, it was a test-bed for next-gen technology that would trickle down to regular cars.

We petrol-heads certainly NEED cars like the GT86 and Miata. A well sorted chassis and rear-wheel drive. Some accessible motoring fun. India never got any of those and it is high time we did. And these cars are about simplicity, far from hunting for glory and bragging rights. Just enough power to have some fun and priced well within reach of the common man. But that is just my opinion.
And by "helping our market", I meant the petrol-head market. Not helping the society and environment and economy.
And I am all for Tesla, by which I hope you meant electric cars. And about the "test-bed for next-gen technology that would trickle down to regular cars", that's what World Endurance Championship and Formula 1 is for. HYBRIDS are the next step before full electrification happens. Can't just shun the internal combustion engines that companies have invested billions of dollars and around100 years to develop. The battery technology has almost caught up to the combustion engines real quickly but there is still some way to go to achieve its true potential. Maybe another 10 years or so.
I am all for these kids and hope they do achieve their goal.

Last edited by shyn : 3rd November 2015 at 00:05.
Old 9th February 2016, 17:08   #17

India's First Hybrid Supercar: M-Zero

Came across this very interesting and exciting piece of news while browsing today, and wanted to share it here. It looks like India will have it's very own Hybrid Supercar very soon

Quoting directly from the article:

Created by Mean Metal Motors, a total of 4 teams from 4 countries (Portugal, Italy, UK, and India) have been working on the radical-looking parallel hybrid supercar. Over the last one year, the team has made substantial progress and are now almost ready with the final prototype. Additionally, they have now finalized what the cabin of the M-Zero will look like.

One of the most intriguing details about the project's progress is a new material innovation by the group - Carboflax. It combines flax fibre, which is not only inexpensive but also offers a wide array of potential application, with carbon fibre to produce a hybrid composite material.

Flax fibre is a natural cellulose-based fibre whose material properties are similar to that of glass fibre that are improved upon being combined within a composite. According to the team, 'CarboFlax' is "the perfect hybrid blend to tackle today's market for the need of alternative materials." Furthermore, CarboFlax can absorb vibrations better than metals and carbon composites which translates into better NVH levels, hence a quieter cabin.

Sarthak Paul, founder and director, Mean Metals Motors told us that CarboFlax has already been tested on the gearbox housing of Nicolas Perrinn's Le Mans concept. As far as the M-Zero is concerned, the company will use the material in the front spoiler, skirts, semi-monocoque chassis, diffuser, and high vibration areas. He adds that they also intend to supply CarboFlax to the military in the future.

Moving on, the M-Zero parallel hybrid supercar will use the 4.0-litre AMG V8 biturbo unit that delivers 510bhp. About acquiring the AMG engine, Sarthak said, "We still haven't contacted AMG since we are in middle of an investment round." For the electric motor, the company is looking to get US-based Clean Wave Technologies' M15 module that puts out 190bhp. Thus, M-Zero's total power output will be 700bhp. The torque at maximum rpm, on the other hand, will range between 700-750Nm. However, it needs to be noted that the tuning of the engine may lead to more output, thus possibly allowing the M-Zero to punch out an additional 50bhp.

Like we mentioned earlier, Mean Metal Motors' M-Zero first prototype is nearly ready. Suffice it to say that we can't wait to see it.

M-Zero Specs:
Engine: 4.0-litre AMG V8 biturbo
Total Power: 700bhp (510bhp + 190bhp)
Total Torque: 700-750Nm
Acceleration (0-100Km/h): 2.8 - 3s (Expected)
Expected Weight: 1250Kg (In the process of being reduced further)
CarboFlax Prototype:
Mean Metal M-Zero: An Indian Supercar. Fact or Fiction?-1.jpg

M-Zero Interior:
Mean Metal M-Zero: An Indian Supercar. Fact or Fiction?-2.jpg

M-Zero Side Profile:
Mean Metal M-Zero: An Indian Supercar. Fact or Fiction?-3.jpg

M-Zero Rear Profile:
Mean Metal M-Zero: An Indian Supercar. Fact or Fiction?-4.jpg

Source: NDTV Auto

Great stuff here on the technology front, and I think it looks good already! Can't wait to see what the prototype will look like. Will keep a close eye on the development of this one, and hope to see the production ready model, along with the final specifications of this car shown soon

Joxster is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th February 2016, 17:54   #18

Re: India's First Hybrid Supercar: M-Zero

1. They still haven't contacted AMG. Will AMG even agree to provide them the motor? Horacio Pagani has a history and is a well known figure and Mercedes has purchased stake in Aston Martin which is why both employ AMG motors. Aston hasn't started yet but in future will. What kind of credentials do these guys have that AMG will lend them their engines?

2. Again with regards to the electric motors, nothing is finalized.

3. Styling is way too extreme and overdone in my opinion.

It feels like a pipe dream to me.
Bookkeeper is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2016, 18:43   #19

The concept car MZero looked very different when they showed it last May. Looks like the kids have changed their mind on the design.

Also, have they already finished raising the $7 million funds that they were targeting to build this Mean Metal MZero?

Looks like an attempt to stay in the news IMO.

PS- Before anyone feels offended that I am pulling an honest Indian effort down, consider this-

1. They are college students or recent passouts.

2. The contact address on their webpage is the second floor of their college in Karnataka.

3. They haven't even started talks to acquire the engine, nor the electric motor, nor built the first prototype. But they claim 3 seconds to 100, 300 kmph top speed and much more.

Sounds genuine? Sounds like either a college dream or a scam to me.

In case the project comes true, this is the man (kid) to thank-
Passed out of college in 2015. Founded mean metal motors and became supercar designer in 2014.
Mean Metal M-Zero: An Indian Supercar. Fact or Fiction?-image.jpeg  

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 9th February 2016 at 19:10.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 9th February 2016, 18:54   #20
A.K

India's First Hybrid Supercar: M-Zero

Looks like an ambitious project with a rather tacky name. Pardon me, but who would honestly think about something like this when you mention a name like "Mean Metal Motors"? Sounds like a roadside paint tinkering shop to me, to be honest. Hope they change the name in due course of time. Also, the design looks like a complete rip off of the Lykan Hypersport made by W Motors. Or is it just me?
That said, going by the specs and the engine, this looks promising if pulled off right. Way to go guys.

PS :: Bookkeeper, I second your point #1, why would AMG lend their engines? And if they've infact contacted AMG, then why no mention of it?

Last edited by A.K : 9th February 2016 at 18:59.
A.K is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2016, 18:57   #21

AMG Engine? In your next life probably! don't think so this car will see production anytime soon.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 9th February 2016 at 21:51. Reason: Prolly > Probably. Please refrain from using SMS lingo while posting on the forums. Thanks!
ravelsnip@gmail is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th February 2016, 21:47   #22

Looking at these new renderings, specially the rear sans the 'cross hair' design, looks like they are still very much alive and kicking. Got to give them points for that!

And the fancy hybrid material, CarboFlax, looks interesting. Maybe they are trying to go one up on Pagani and their CarboTanium and hoping that will get them noticed by AMG!

Speaking of AMG, I think these kids are being a little too ambitious for wanting to ask them for the M178 unit. Maybe they should be a little realistic and go for a Ford EcoBoost crate motor. The V6 or the I4 or even the multiple award winning 3-cylinder 1 liter engine, seeing how they are planning on electric motors too. The i8 uses a similar formula and does a plenty good job.

But who knows if they will progress any further. There are a lot of factors that can still kill them in their infancy. I was a staunch critic when I first heard about them (blame it on the childish name and design). But now I don't really care much. Well and good if they can make it.

Anyway, here's wishing them all the best.
Godspeed.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 9th February 2016 at 21:51. Reason: Posts moved to existing thread. Thanks!
shyn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2016, 21:59   #23

re: Mean Metal M-Zero: An Indian Supercar. Fact or Fiction?

The interior shot shows a left hand drive type configuration. If they are designing it in India, why haven't they shown a RHD configuration?
Old 10th February 2016, 03:04   #24

Sorry guys! Forgot to do a search before creating the new thread, nor did I do any research into the company. Lesson learnt.

Going through this thread though, it looks like a couple of amateurs without the right financial backup trying to realize their dream.

I still wish them all the best of luck, because creating a supercar from the scratch ain't no joke!
Old 10th February 2016, 04:41   #25

An internal combustion engine powered supercar in today's times from a company coming from India, which has no supercar legacy to speak off, is incredibly ambitious and frankly pipe dream. I would have loved if they were working on an electric supercar like Tesla since all their patents are now open and for everyone to use.

Since an electric super car isn't traditional even from supercar countries, it will have more acceptance globally. If they are so passionate, I wish they change their course and make something that will sell and has a future.
Old 10th February 2016, 08:06   #26

The concept car MZero looked very different when they showed it last May. Looks like the kids have changed their mind on the design.

Also, have they already finished raising the $7 million funds that they were targeting to build this Mean Metal MZero?

Looks like an attempt to stay in the news IMO.

PS- Before anyone feels offended that I am pulling an honest Indian effort down, consider this-

1. They are college students or recent passouts.

2. The contact address on their webpage is the second floor of their college in Karnataka.

3. They haven't even started talks to acquire the engine, nor the electric motor, nor built the first prototype. But they claim 3 seconds to 100, 300 kmph top speed and much more.

Sounds genuine? Sounds like either a college dream or a scam to me.

In case the project comes true, this is the man (kid) to thank-
Passed out of college in 2015. Founded mean metal motors and became supercar designer in 2014.
Totally agree with you on all points.

Interestingly on their website they have started crowdfunding with the hashtag #CrowdSupport, and there is a link to their crowdfunding page, which has raised Rs. 408,653, they were only asking for 500,000 (keep in mind that Rs. 500,000 is only $7300). So where are they getting the rest of their money from? Do they have rich parents? Has any big automaker invested in them? Also, on their website they say that if someone contributes Rs. 50,000 they'll receive a 3D printed model of their car, a t-shirt and a visit to their "micro-factory" (BTW what the hell is a "micro factory" anyway?) No thank you.

Also like it has been mentioned by several posters, they haven't secured the engine, or the electric motor. Their car only exists on a computer, yet they're claiming a 0-100 km/h time of less than 3 sec and a top speed of over 320 km/h. And they want to have a prototype ready by the Paris Auto Show this year (October).

Sounds more like a pipe-dream (I really really hope it's not a scam). If it is genuine, then they should be realistic. Just looking back at Tesla and the years of development they went through and how much money? And this company has nowhere near the money needed to develop a car of this magnitude and I doubt large venture capitalists would fund them. And finally if they do start building the m-zero, I don't know how many people will be flocking to buy a $100k+ car from an unknown company.
Old 14th February 2016, 05:39   #27

Originally Posted by Jeeper1941 View Post
And finally if they do start building the m-zero, I don't know how many people will be flocking to buy a $100k+ car from an unknown company.

Add to that it is a PRESTIGE PRODUCT. In economic parlance it's called a VEBLEN GOOD.

Nobody who spends big money on a car, especially in a status conscious society like India, would buy INDIAN when spending a lot dough. I certainly wouldn't. I want snob value if I'm spending big for four wheels.

When people think Ferrari, Lamborghini, you think sexy, Italian, developed beautiful European country with good looking people and good food - along those lines.

Pit that with MEAN METAL MOTORS FROM INDIA !

Righhhttt so we're supposed to believe the rich man will choose their product (assuming it's even made) over the many alternatives.

These are terms these guys have never heard about:
Commercial viability
Finance
Scalability
Feasibility Study
Market Research
Return on Equity
Brand Equity

Either these kids are naive, or they're really smart and they know it's going to fail anyhow, but they think they can leverage the experience and proven initiative and hype into landing a gig with a solid company.

Last edited by D33-PAC : 14th February 2016 at 05:43.
D33-PAC is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th February 2016, 08:35   #28

So many nay-sayers!! ok, let's level on this one. What's more important in this venture? The end product or the experience / network they are building? Looking through a start up lens, I'd say the latter. All these things they are building, as D33 rightly said, may just go away and they just walk out of this with experience. But this is not going to be their first and only venture. They possibly will look at this and figure out , as most of you had pointed out, that it takes capital to get things moving. So they are not going to get that now. Keyword: now.

Their next iteration will be much better and it's only going to go up from here. Our experience with these types of ecosystems has taught us that it's typically the third or fourth iteration that shows any form of success.

So, let's be patient. I am sure these guys are reading this thread and while we are critical, we maybe giving them some excellent guidance as well.

From a product point of view, the end price of the product just needs to fit a demographic willing to pay. And in a country like ours, there's always someone who's willing to buy something if it's unique enough.
Old 22nd February 2016, 12:51   #29

I love find flaws with these guys, it's freaking hilarious.

From their crowdfunding page at catapoolt.

http://www.catapooolt.com/campaign/i...d=MTExOQ%3D%3D

If you contribute 1 Lakh:
Passes to our prototype launch in any one of the international Auto-shows, Chance to meet the complete team of Mean metal Motors , special mention at the car launch , website and social media page, #supported jumper and Bi monthly progress report

What it really means:
So you have to pay 1 Lakh to see the car in person (assuming it's made). Your name will also be mentioned if you pay the 1 lakh.

If you pay
250000 INR

You get:
Supporter card ( Mean metal motors will help budding techie's with their ideas , researches and even give them a chance to apply for an internship with us and bi-monthly progress report

In other words:
Pay us 2.5 lakhs and we'll be nice enough to let you meet us, or to work for us.

I don't think even Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerberg charge people like tis, and they're proven entrepreneurs with fortunes larger than entire GDPs of some nations.

Lastly if you pay 50000 INR

you get a "3-D metal die cast model of the M-zero concept.,"

First off, aren't all die cast models metal (hence the term die-CAST, wherein CAST is a reference to the result of the poured METAL ?), and aren't all die-casts 3D ? I don't remember a 1D or a 2D die cast.

Hahaha this has to be a scam, I think these guys are trying to raise funds for something else. Nobody remotely serious would present as they have.
D33-PAC is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 25th November 2016, 12:31   #30

The Mean Metal Motors' (MMM) M-Zero supercar will arrive in India sometime in 2019.

The MMM group has finalised a 3.3 million Euros deal with the Tazzari group, a company based in Imola, Italy, and who specialises in making all-electric vehicles. The collaboration will build two prototypes of the M-Zero by end-2018 which will be in the market in 2019.

The M Zero will see generous use of CarboFlax, a combination of carbon & flax fibers which is inexpensive and has the ability to absorb vibrations better than metals. MMM group has patented CarboFlax, which will be used for the front spoiler, skirts, semi-monocoque chassis, diffuser, and high vibration areas of the M-Zero supercar.

The MMM M-Zero supercar will be made available in 3 variants, possibly priced between Rs 58 lakhs to Rs 89.3 lakhs. The car will come homologated to the latest Euro-VII emission norms, when launched.

The M-Zero will also see an integrated augmented reality based display with modules for navigation, infotainment, battery meter, speedometer and other vital stats. Artificial Intelligence has already been developed which will help integrate environment controls in the car like collision avoidance, lane change, drive assists and much more.

The final product will see a fully electric drivetrain capable of peak power of 493 bhp and this will allow the car to go from 0-100 km/h in less than 3 seconds. Top speed will be somewhere in the area of 275 km/h.

MMM expects the M-Zero to cover 300 to 340 km on a single charge, however, testing of these batteries will continue in Italy in a bid to boost the range of the car to more than 400 km.
RavenAvi is offline   (7) Thanks