Team-BHP - The Maruti-Suzuki Ignis

-   -   The Maruti-Suzuki Ignis (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/163845-maruti-suzuki-ignis-5.html)

Originally Posted by volkman10 (Post 3896440)
Suzuki Ignis Video released.

So in the video they are calling it Compact X SUV! Hmm, Mahindra can be forgiven for calling KUV 100 that! lol:

Also, it does look like 90's design but I love it. For some odd reason. :)

Nice neutral design. I hope Maruti takes this opportunity to launch one fully specced trim as well. Pricing is key, as the Baleno+S Cross experience has shown. Best of luck.

The design looks quite trendy from the front and slightly retro from the back. Overall I like it. Interiors are also quite unique and seem old school styling (plain and simple). Very refreshing! Its is well equipped with features but I highly doubt if all that will make to Indian market.

50:50 split in the back...means no headrest for the middle passenger.

Maruti Suzuki is on a roll to launch vehicles in Indian market. This will make to that list in 2nd half of 2016.

I think we are having more car launches in 2016 than mobile phones.

This has left me fully confused and as such I have lost interest in all the launches as happened with me wrt mobiles.

Ignis really has that old charm and I feel it would be successful and who knows it may replace Wagon R in sales charts.

Maruti Suzuki unveils the Ignis at the Auto expo. Expected sale in India is October 2016 though its Nexa outlets.

The Maruti-Suzuki Ignis-untitled.png

In international markets, the Ignis is powered by Suzuki’s 1.25-litre dual-jet petrol engine paired with the company’s SHVS mild-hybrid technology and an optional all-wheel-drive system. However, when it reaches our shores, the model is likely to use a 1.2-litre K12 petrol motor and a 1.3-litre diesel engine
http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-new...li-399875.aspx

Entering the Micro SUV market, Maruti Suzuki's Ignis to be launched in India this festive season through its premium Nexa outlets.
Maruti Suzuki has started testing this car in India..

Confirmed by top officials at the Auto Expo show, Ignis will come in both petrol and diesel versions. The tried and tested 1.3DDiS will power the Iginis in its diesel variant.There will also be an AT variant( CVT) on offer.

When launched the Ignis will rival Mahindra's KUV 1OO.

The Maruti-Suzuki Ignis-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20160209053849_ignis_spy_pic.jpg

Pic source: GW
The Maruti-Suzuki Ignis-marutisuzukiignisindiapics2.jpg

The Maruti-Suzuki Ignis-marutisuzukiignisindiapics3.jpg

The Maruti-Suzuki Ignis-marutisuzukiignisindiapics4.jpg

What gets attention first is the robust stance of the car and spot-on proportions. It has big wheel arches and what makes it look neater is that the mass of the car is contained within these four 'posts'. The other bit that draws your gaze is the neatly executed nose. The integrated headlight and grille combo are superbly designed and what add to the appeal are the oval LED daytime running lights.

Power is likely to be supplied by what is essentially a modified version of the 1.2-litre K series motor found on cars like the Swift and the Baleno. And later, there's also likely to be Maruti's first SHVS mild hybrid system on a petrol, that integrates regenerative braking, a lithium-ion storage battery and a small electric motor. The 74bhp DDiS 1.3-litre diesel is another option Maruti is working actively on and a dual-jet or twin injector version of Maruti's 1.2 K series petrol engine is also in the pipeline. Though the Ignis won't get an automated manual transmission like other Maruti cars of this size, it will get a smoother shifting and efficient CVT like the Baleno.

Prices are expected to start at around Rs 5.5 lakh for the base versions and work themselves up to around Rs 8 lakh for the top-of-the-line automatic.

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-new...-399875.aspx/3

I guess I see DRLs on the car. Since this is already in production, the design should remain the same. And is the door handle in silver colour?

I am eagerly waiting to see how MS markets this as premium when the Ciaz and Brezza aren't! I think very soon, NEXA will be same as regular MS showrooms if this keeps up. Anyway enough ranting :)

One question stupid: - if this car has been launched in the Auto Expo and everyone knows what it looks like, then why camouflage the car?

Also, the classification of the so-called SUVs makes it look like MSME (Micro Small and Medium Enterprises) industry classification:

Originally Posted by volkman10 (Post 3909697)
When launched the Ignis will rival Mahindra's KUV 1OO.

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-new...-399875.aspx/3

Honestly the proportions and space does not allow Ignis to compete with KUV. And the expected prices quoted are equivalent to Baleno. Not sure if Ignis will be priced that high. Lets wait and see.

Personally, I would have preferred Suzuki to launch Hustler instead of Ignis, as I don't see much differentiation in Ignis till the first 3/4 of the car to other Suzuki offerings.

Here is the promotional video of new Ignis from Suzuki.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IwIPmDxQmMw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Osyd982kY94

Where is the "SUV" in this? Micro, macro whatever. This looks like a better version of WagonR.

Also I really cannot fathom the whole concept of Nexa.Wasn't Nexa supposed to be premium?? Selling a 'premium' tallboy qualifies for Nexa eligibility?

Anyway, people at Maruti knows what they are doing which reflects in their sales charts, but honestly I feel if this was sold through Maruti dealers and called a tall boy hatchback, it would have sold anyway.

I'm really confused by what slots where in the Maruti stable now. I suppose Ignis and Baleno go alongside each other the way Ritz and Swift did at one point. Very close price points, equivalent luxury but one more of a tall boy and the other more of a conventional hatch.

And coming to Brezza, the Brezza will be slightly larger but slightly less plush and therefore in the MS dealership. Ignis a tad smaller but plusher interiors and therefore Nexa.

I guess?

Are we not taking the Boxy SUV looks thing too far. This is a like a WagonR. A depreciated 10 year old boxy costing 3.5 lacs car can actually be packaged as a micro / nano / mini SUV and priced at 5.5 lacs. The obsession with Tall and SUV like is actually crazy :)

I really like the new Ignis. Love the design and space. Will be perfect for the city with the K-Series coupled to a CVT. Maruti, please launch AT in all variants. With ABS + Airbags standard across variants (Please don't surprise us), most needs only a LXi or Sigma AT for a daily beater.

And I would rather have Maruti call it a bold hatcback than a pseudo SUV.

Maruti need to rework the rear a bit to make it more acceptable.

Anyway, this car will be a suitable replacement for Ritz.

Image source: http://www.suzuki.co.jp/ignis/gallery/