Old 9th September 2017, 12:36   #841

Re: The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi

The orange colour looks stunning. I love the rear profile of the car, the front not so much. Congrats on the car, Drashkum.
Old 9th September 2017, 14:39   #842

I have a 2011 Fluidic Verna which came with Bridgestone 250 as OEM tires. I suffered them for 40,000 kms & they were the worst tires I have ever driven. Noisy, poor grip, prone to punctures.

Got them replaced with Apollo Alnac 4G & couldn't be happier. I am of the firm belief that the Indian tire manufactures know the Indian road conditions & their compounding is hence more suited for our road conditions.

Originally Posted by Myth_sx View Post
Hankook Kinergy > BS ecopia > BS B250(as in old Vernas).
These BS tires are harder, so expect longer durability, high noise and not so great wet grip.
Old 9th September 2017, 14:42   #843

Test drove the new Verna SX(O) MT diesel. Following are my observations-

1. Might impressed with the ventilated seats. A brilliant feature in our climatic conditions.

2. Suspension in the 4s was improved over the fluidic Verna but the new Verna is even better than the 4s. Under 120kmph I had no issues. Surprisingly even the body roll was well controlled.

3. The diesel engine remains a strong point even with this Verna.

4. The top end with sunroof.etc. is priced really well considering the vento, rapid and city.

5. A major goof up with the variants. No top end diesel automatic. What was Hyundai thinking?

6. Headroom is still not adequate. Although improved over the earlier version but it could have been better. Maybe it's better at the front in the non sunroof variants.

7. Brakes lack bite. They do the job well but the feedback could have been improved.

8. Steering remains like a typical EPS. Not expecting a lot from Hyundai in this regard.

The 2011 Verna entered the market with a blast. The 2017 Verna offers an improved package but the sales won't be as good as the earlier version thanks to the Creta.

Last edited by tsk1979 : 10th September 2017 at 12:24.
Old 9th September 2017, 15:02   #844

Originally Posted by Karooo View Post
The orange colour looks stunning. I love the rear profile of the car, the front not so much. Congrats on the car, Drashkum.
Thank you Karooo. The tail lights accentuate the great looks of the rear. It has got some LED elements and looks fantastic at night.

The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi-1504949015799.jpg

The AutoLink works now. Haven't had time to meddle with it. The iBlue app works too. Had android auto installed in mobile (oneplus2) and it works flawlessly.

The orange colour is sure a head turner in traffic. I have had people coming and peeping inside the car at traffic signals. Im enjoying all the curiosity of others.
drashkum is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th September 2017, 16:21   #845

Booked a Hyundai Verna test drive tomorrow. Will be booking one as well.

Will be great to see a Team BHP official review soon. Nothing is more comprehensive and trustworthy than a Team BHP official review!
bhpfaninblr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th September 2017, 17:57   #846

Originally Posted by Desi Dybuk View Post
I have a 2011 Fluidic Verna which came with Bridgestone 250 as OEM tires. I suffered them for 40,000 kms & they were the worst tires I have ever driven. Noisy, poor grip, prone to punctures.

Got them replaced with Apollo Alnac 4G & couldn't be happier. I am of the firm belief that the Indian tire manufactures know the Indian road conditions & their compounding is hence more suited for our road conditions.

Same here, the Bridgestones were the worst tyres ever on my 2014 Fluidic Verna. Noisy, prone to punctures, I had to get one of my tyres converted to tubes because of the punctures and absolutely pathetic grip. One tyre even had a sidewalk tyre when driving from Chennai to Bengaluru. Me too suffered them for 52,000 kms.

Changed em to Yokohama Earth 1's and believe me when I say this: absolutely brilliant set of tyres. Not a single puncture for the last 38k kms with these. Also ride comfort has increased, not much road noise and better grip too. More wear resistant too.

Sent from my iPhone 6 using Team-BHP
Old 10th September 2017, 01:32   #847

So the cost of Verna is going up by either 2% or 5% depending on what govt think qualifies for a midsize or large car. More details here.
Old 10th September 2017, 10:31   #848

Originally Posted by X-Factor View Post
So the cost of Verna is going up by either 2% or 5% depending on what govt think qualifies for a midsize or large car. More details here.
The cess on Verna is going to be increased by 5% since its large car. In this segment ciaz remains unaffected and city is going up by just 2%.

It's Verna that's going to get affected most. Isn't it time for Hyundai to bring 1.4 diesel mills into Verna???
Old 10th September 2017, 11:47   #849

Full list of cars, SUVs impacted by cess hike
The government slapped a hike of 2 percent on mid-size sedans, 5 percent on luxury cars and 7 percent on sport utility vehicles. These will be added to the 15 percent cess charged on such vehicles over and above the GST of 28 percent.
http://t.in.com/BcPR
Old 10th September 2017, 12:16   #850

Here is the verna is saw yesterday in Brown, this color looks great and stunning. I think Verna looks best in
The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi-verna_brown.jpg

Silver, Flame Red, Brown, orange - black is not that great.

Mod Note : It is imperative for you to upload pictures directly to the Team-BHP Server. Click here to view our pictorial help article on uploading pics.

Please submit images ONLY via the Team-BHP Attachment System.

Last edited by Aditya : 10th September 2017 at 15:42. Reason: Image uploaded as attachment
Mindgrinder is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th September 2017, 13:29   #851

Few pics from dealership...
The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi-whatsapp-image-20170909-5.05.48-pm.jpeg  

The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi-whatsapp-image-20170909-5.05.49-pm.jpeg  

The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi-whatsapp-image-20170909-5.05.49-pm-1.jpeg  

The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi-whatsapp-image-20170909-5.05.51-pm.jpeg  

The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi-whatsapp-image-20170909-5.05.51-pm-1.jpeg  

The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi-whatsapp-image-20170909-5.05.53-pm.jpeg  

The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi-whatsapp-image-20170909-5.05.54-pm.jpeg  

The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi-whatsapp-image-20170909-5.05.55-pm.jpeg  

The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi-whatsapp-image-20170909-5.05.56-pm.jpeg  

The 2017 Hyundai Verna. Launched at 8 lakhs, ex-showroom Delhi-whatsapp-image-20170909-5.06.00-pm.jpeg  

arit.mondal is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 10th September 2017, 17:09   #852

Originally Posted by arit.mondal View Post
Few pics from dealership...
Did you see any Sienna Browns there?
Old 10th September 2017, 17:44   #853

Did you see any Sienna Browns there?
I posted a Sienna Brown pic a few posts ago, you can check that.
Mindgrinder is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th September 2017, 18:57   #854

Originally Posted by Mindgrinder View Post
I posted a Sienna Brown pic a few posts ago, you can check that.
Thanks, but actually I wanted to see one in person. Not able to get an accurate idea of the color from photos, so was asking if he saw at Trident Bangalore.
Old 10th September 2017, 21:12   #855

Beauty lies in the eyes of beholder! For someone, it may look good and for another, not so much. One has to see in person before making a choice. Best is to go to Hyundai showroom and see the similar shade in other cars.

I am getting a 1.6 SX test drive at my house. The Hyundai person is getting it to my house. I will most likely be paying the booking amount tomorrow itself

On a separate note, looks like the 1.6 engine will not only increase the price of the SX that I plan to book in the next few days but 1.6 engine also attracts ~5K higher 3rd party insurance costs per year. See below:
https://www.bankbazaar.com/insurance...ce-policy.html

See below:
Engine Capacity --> Premium Rate
Less than 1000cc --> 2055
1000 cc to 1500cc --> 2863
Exceeding 1500cc --> 7890

Thanks, but actually I wanted to see one in person. Not able to get an accurate idea of the color from photos, so was asking if he saw at Trident Bangalore.

Last edited by bhpfaninblr : 10th September 2017 at 21:37.
bhpfaninblr is offline   (1) Thanks