Old 5th September 2015, 14:15   #16

Re: Audi launches A3 40 TFSI Premium variant at Rs. 25.50 lakh

Originally Posted by Aditya View Post
The Audi A3 40 TFSI is powered by a 1,798cc, 4-cylinder, 177 BHP @ 5,100-6,200 rpm and 250 Nm of torque @ 1,250-5000 rpm. The engine is mated to a 7-speed S-Tronic dual-clutch transmission. Audi claims that the car can sprint from 0 to 100 km/h in 7.3 seconds and return a fuel efficiency of 16.6 kpl.
I have to say, those torque and power figures are really impressive! A pretty good fuel efficiency figure too. Many people in India will be able to enter the premium car segment, since it's so affordable now!
Old 7th September 2015, 15:35   #17

Originally Posted by Aditya View Post
The Audi A3 40 TFSI is powered by a 1,798cc, 4-cylinder, 177 BHP @ 5,100-6,200 rpm and 250 Nm of torque @ 1,250-5000 rpm. The engine is mated to a 7-speed S-Tronic dual-clutch transmission. Audi claims that the car can sprint from 0 to 100 km/h in 7.3 seconds and return a fuel efficiency of 16.6 kpl.
Is there anything special about the Audi S-Tronic DCT or is it the standard VAG DSG DQ250 with a fancy name and the same failure probability?

Last edited by itwasntme : 7th September 2015 at 15:36. Reason: Typo
Old 7th September 2015, 18:06   #18

Originally Posted by aneesh1811 View Post
I have to say, those torque and power figures are really impressive! A pretty good fuel efficiency figure too. Many people in India will be able to enter the premium car segment, since it's so affordable now!
I know the A3 Sedan, especially the higher variants were going at substantial discounts even 2-3 months back. It looks like it is a slow moving model for Audi. I would not be surprised if the new TFSI Premium variant is a strategy to sell inventory of slow moving kits. I hope we see 4-5 lac discounts on this variant by end of the year, it will make a great buy at 25 Lacs on-road Chennai!
Old 7th September 2015, 20:18   #19

So, in summary, this new 'premium' variant has some more features over the poverty-spec Attraction variant?

Well & truly agreed. The Octavia is a superior car in every way. Even in terms of presence & street cred, the larger Octavia surely looks better than the tiny A3. As much of a fan as I am of Audi's styling, the A3's midget size makes it look rather funny in person.

Totally agree. I've seen a few of them on the street, and it very easily blends into the rest of the traffic, without having the "Premium- Audi" image attached to it. One would only really look at it if you knew its an Audi A3, or you happen to spot one in the bright red.

The Octavia on the other hand is a stunning design with MASSIVE road presence. You can spot that one from a mile away.

Mercedes gets away on this with the CLA as its quite a looker, and very easily noticeable.