e46

Land Rover Discovery Sport launched in India at Rs. 46.10 lakhs

The LR DS has been launched starting from 46.1 lacs. Variants as below

147bhp S - 46.1 lakh
147bhp SE - 51 lakh
147bhp HSE - 53.34 lakh
187bhp HSE Luxury - 60.7 lakh

@mod: Subject can be edited with launch info and price.
e46 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2015, 15:25   #2

Re: Land Rover Discovery Sport CKD assembly commences in Pune

I am surprised that a car worth 46 lakhs won't have leather seats !.
That is very poor on LR's part. It also misses out on parking sensors, panoromic sunroof and cruise control. Mind you the next trim at 51 lakh also misses out on full leather seats. None of the bottom two variants have a dual climate control.

To have fabric seats in a car which will be 53-55 Lakhs on road is appalling.
kartavya is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2015, 15:32   #3

i was also informed that the OTR pricing will be 57 odd - 75 lakh. That too with the old engines. Ridiculous pricing IMO.
Old 2nd September 2015, 15:46   #4

Originally Posted by e46 View Post
The LR DS has been launched starting from 46.1 lacs. Variants as below

147bhp S - 46.1 lakh
147bhp SE - 51 lakh
147bhp HSE - 53.34 lakh
187bhp HSE Luxury - 60.7 lakh

@mod: Subject can be edited with launch info and price.
Yep I've heard the exact same for the HSE Lux 60.7 Ex showroom. Now I have a question is that price inclusive of octroi for Mumbai?

Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
i was also informed that the OTR pricing will be 57 odd - 75 lakh. That too with the old engines. Ridiculous pricing IMO.
I quite agree that the launch with the old engines is a bad deal but, then they did that globally as well. Not sure why we don't get a little preferential treatment since we are the Home market now !

Mod Note : Please use the EDIT or MULTI-QUOTE buttons instead of typing one post after another on the SAME THREAD!

To know how to multi-quote, click here.

We advise you to read the Forum Rules before proceeding any further.

Last edited by khan_sultan : 2nd September 2015 at 15:51. Reason: Back to back posts. Please use multi-quote feature
R170 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2015, 16:10   #5
e46

Originally Posted by R170 View Post
Yep I've heard the exact same for the HSE Lux 60.7 Ex showroom. Now I have a question is that price inclusive of octroi for Mumbai?

Ex showroom pre octroi Mumbai.

Abhishek
e46 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2015, 16:22   #6

Abhishek
Ouch that sucks that's another 3L in Octroi then.
Old 2nd September 2015, 18:42   #7

re: Land Rover Discovery Sport launched in India at Rs. 46.10 lakhs

Land Rover has launched the Discovery Sport in India at prices starting from Rs. 46.10 lakh (ex-showroom, pre-octroi in Mumbai).

Land Rover Discovery Sport launched in India at Rs. 46.10 lakhs-lr.jpg

The SUV is available in 4 trim levels - S, SE, HSE, HSE Luxury. While the S variant is available in a 5-seater configuration only, all the other variants are available with 5 seats or a 5+2 seats.

The S, SE and HSE variants come with a 2.2-litre TD4 diesel engine that puts out 148 BHP. The top-end HSE Luxury variant gets a 2.2-litre SD4 diesel power plant that develops 188 BHP. All variants come with a 9-speed automatic transmission.

The body of the Discovery Sport features a combination of steel and aluminium. The vehicle looks are in tune with the new products from Land Rover. The vehicle is available in seven exterior colours.

On the inside, the Discovery Sport gets a start/stop button, an 8-inch colour touchscreen infotainment system with navigation and rear seat entertainment. The car has an 825W Meridian sound system with 17 speakers. There are multiple storage spaces, power points and USB charging sockets.

Safety features include airbags, hill descent control, ABS, EBD, electronic traction control, hill start assist and emergency brake assist among other.

The Discovery Sport has approach, departure and break-over angles of 25, 31 and 21 degrees respectively, Land Rover's Terrain Response technology and a wading depth of 600 mm.

Land Rover is assembling the Discovery Sport it's facility in Pune, Maharashtra.

Prices (ex-showroom, pre-octroi in Mumbai):
  • 2.2L TD4 Diesel S : Rs. 46.10 lakh (5 seats)
  • 2.2L TD4 Diesel SE: Rs. 51.01 lakh (5 seats), Rs. 52.50 lakh (5+2 seats)
  • 2.2L TD4 Diesel HSE: Rs. 53.34 lakh (5 seats), Rs. 54.83 lakh (5+2 seats)
  • 2.2L SD4 Diesel HSE Luxury: Rs. 60.70 lakh (5 seats), Rs. 62.18 lakh (5+2 seats)
Prices include a warranty of 3 years / 1,00,000 km (whichever is earlier) combined with a complimentary 3 year standard service pack.
Aditya is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2015, 18:47   #8

Originally Posted by Aditya View Post

navigation and rear seat entertainment. The car has an 825W Meridian sound system with 17 speakers.
Thank you very much for the detailed post. Much appreciated. I Would just like to point out that the Meridian 17 speaker system with rear entertainment in only on the HSE Luxury model. The Nav comes even on the HSE.

Also, the car does have a Park Assist feature for parallel and regular parking.

I have the spec sheet and some photos that I have already shared - let me know if you'd like to have them on this thread.

Here are the price lists for the 5 and 7 seater all for All Variants of the LR Discovery Sport. I just received this in an email from the dealer.

Last edited by khan_sultan : 2nd September 2015 at 18:58. Reason: Back to back posts.
R170 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2015, 23:05   #9

Land Rover Discovery Sport launched in India at Rs. 46.10 lakh

Just finished up an hour ago at the JLR launch party for the Discovery Sport in Bombay. They had a lovely setup at the Grand Hyatt (better than the CLA launch ).

Had two HSE Luxuries and a HSE.

Good conversation and great information the the products.

LRs definitely doing a better job at PR
R170 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2015, 00:23   #10

Per Consumer reports LR discovery does not get good marks.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/...2015/71526260/
Raajiv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2015, 08:24   #11

LRs definitely doing a better job at PR
Looks you are sold out on this one .. all the best !

Reviewers at customer reports have some interesting observations

Despite the upper-class pose, though, driving this car is like opening a jar of Macadamia nuts and finding Cheetos inside. Nothing wrong with Cheetos, but it's not what we thought we were buying.

So what's not to like? Let's start with power delivery. The nine-speed transmission is neither smooth nor responsive. It tries to calculate which gear it's supposed to be in, but too often guesses wrong. Combined with the engine's turbo lag, thrust is unpredictable

The steering wheel is nice to grasp, but the steering itself feels disconnected, as if the column were linked to the drive wheels with ropes.

Neither are you apt to forget the stiff ride. On any but the freshest-laid blacktop, the chassis introduces every bump and pebble by its first name. One of our drivers commented that it felt as if the tires were filled with concrete

Overall, we were expecting a lunch-sized portion of Beef Wellington, but the Discovery Sport experience is more like an undercooked serving of bangers and mash.

more here : http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/l...-road-test.htm

Last edited by Turbanator : 3rd September 2015 at 08:28.
Turbanator is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2015, 12:38   #12

Re: Land Rover Discovery Sport launched in India at Rs. 46.10 lakhs

Originally Posted by kartavya View Post
I am surprised that a car worth 46 lakhs won't have leather seats !
Considering the Santa Fe 4x4 AT has an ex-showroom of 31 lakhs (outside octroi), I was pleasantly surprised to see the Discovery's pricing. However, the base variant is too basic and the loaded variants are priced much higher.

This is such a sham. I don't know how anyone can make claims of 'ex-showroom Mumbai' pricing without including octroi. If it's Mumbai, it better be calculated with octroi. Manipulative method of showing a lower price.

P.S. In that image, do Yuvraj & Karthikeyan look photo-shopped to anyone else?

Last edited by GTO : 3rd September 2015 at 12:39.
GTO is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2015, 12:50   #13

Yes sir . They, rather their pictures, looks to have been photo-shopped. And I agree. Ex-showroom without Octroi is a very much incorrect example of advertising.
Old 3rd September 2015, 12:53   #14

Didn't look at the image closely, but after you mentioned this I did and they definitely look to be photoshopped into the image. Hilarious
Akshay1234 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2015, 13:43   #15

Yes the images looks to be pasted , but why will or should LR do such things ? They must have taken approval from both of these so why not pay them little extra & get them on launch event .
There are several such negative reviews/posts dedicated to German cars as well. I lost count how many posts I read about troubles and breakdowns of premium German cars
consumerreport.org is very widely respected and you need to subscribe to get detailed report, of course nothing can be trouble-free but here we are talking of averages which in case of LR are pretty bad .