Old 25th July 2017, 19:01   #1261

re: The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs

Why are people making a lot of fuss for Sunroof and Leather wrapped steering? I guess, Tata may offer it as an accessory, just like it did in Hexa. Just wait for it. People who are hell bent on having a Sunroof can opt for the same. I agree it may not be a factory-fit, but we haven't heard any bad review on sunroof added in Hexa and Nano. Have we?
keeprevving is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:01   #1262

Originally Posted by prakash_ajp View Post
Indeed and thanks for the info.

But most folks complaining here about things being busy etc. are hardly interested in the car IMHO. I also find the leather wrap comment a bit too much. You get it for few hundred bucks if you are so hell-bent on one, but what I see in the pictures does look good.
I would wait till I see the car in person before making any negative comment.

I also request people to search this thread before posting something. The dimension comparison has already been discussed few pages back and we all know that in terms of length, Nexon is as long it can get under 4M.

The leather wrap is something that I said would have been great.

Apart from that whether the steering requires it or not is a different question altogether. Maybe the steering is actually so good that it does not need it. No worries , I'm ready to compromise on that part, and it is something that I had discussed with RavenAvi on twitter too.

The most appealing for me is the engine and gearbox combo along with the interiors.

After that we are only nitpicking coz we are BHPians after all. So we can expect issues with the steering, the headlights, the console borrowed from Tiago instead of Zest.

But the positives far far outweigh any of the negatives (based on perception ) that it may have.
akhil994 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:08   #1263

Excellent ! Thanks for the pics. Would have loved to see it in flesh even though the pics are barely 3 Kms from my office. (Kochi Marriot it is)

After reading through all of the comments and pics. Couple of notes from me.

1. Being an Ecosport owner, somehow the Black Silver and Grey interior looks pleasing and somewhat similar.

2. The passenger underseat storage tray is very useful, and the same is there in Ecosport.

3. People complaining on the misaligned passenger wiper, check out Ecosport it is there as well.

4. Interior especially the area around the gear knob is some place other manufacturers at least in the same range just leaves with cup holders or USBs. This is clever, especially when there is sufficient and dedicated place for the hand brake unlike the ecosport which may bite the cups / mobiles in the holders.

5. The shutter for the cup holders is again an excellent ad on. Premium !!

6. Umbrella Holder - I have seen this in my XUV at a different place, this should easily seat a 5 fold.

Thanks everyone for the pictures. and the Ref Nexon lookss. drooling.

Waiting for more pics and discussion
peterjim13 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:13   #1264
MCR

I am lost reading some opinions on this thread!
How can one judge a car just by looking at the pictures? Some comments on absence of a certain features are simply uncalled for. Most important thing is to find out if the car is mechanically sound, drives well, ride quality is good are not. If these are not good then no point in having a leather wrapped, silk draped interior with sun roof.
For me this car looks like it has drawn inspiration from Nissan Juke. Waiting for Autocar India and Team-BHP reviews to find out more. But I will take my call only after driving the car for a good 25 kms at the minimum.
MCR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:17   #1265

Originally Posted by srh View Post
One thing I am curious about - does it come with disc brakes on all 4 wheels? That would be a real addition to the specs
I think it's discs and drums combo. It was discussed earlier as to why this combination is the better suited than an all disc combo, keeping in mind replacements and serviceability in our country unless you're driving a stonker!

Don't remember which thread it was though.

Meantime, I'm enjoying the comments putting down the car and the company. Gotten so used to it, and mostly by the usual suspects, that I can only smile. The 'dead-on-arrival' comment, takes the cake.

Last edited by discoverwild : 25th July 2017 at 19:19.
discoverwild is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:18   #1266

Specifications, courtesy ACI:

Diesel:
The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-dflcagew0aacom4.jpg

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-dflcrp2v0aedsct.jpg

Petrol:
The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-dflcf2txoaagdjh.jpg

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-dfldlmzuaaiawxz.jpg

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-dfldhbywaaa0u4.jpg

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-dfldi6lxuaevcan.jpg

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-dflcqcixuaag4pu.jpg

And for those who love design motifs, there's one on the rear windshield as well:

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-dflmlo2xyaq4zod.jpg

Last edited by RavenAvi : 25th July 2017 at 19:26. Reason: added petrol/diesel numbers.
RavenAvi is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:18   #1267

Some Official specs for the Tata Nexon:

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-petrol.jpg

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-disel.jpg

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-capture1.jpg

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-capture2.jpg

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-capture3.jpg

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-capture4.jpg
Source: ACI

Last edited by amrutmhatre90 : 25th July 2017 at 19:22.
amrutmhatre90 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:18   #1268

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
It's high time people went back to the basics of what used to sell in a car - it's engine. Combine that with a decent set of safety features, and you can take my money any day.

Everything else, for me at least, is expendable.
Absolutely.

The situation now reminds me of the mixed feelings I had prior to the launch of the SCross.

Both had polarizing looks -one for being too bland and the other for being too flashy, good feature list though no big highlights, good interiors. However, with a potential stunner of an engine to look forward to - with 320Nm of torque.

Similarly, the 260Nm torque for this segment is the major attraction for Nexon now. Hopefully, this will go on to become another hot forum favourite like the SCross 1.6.

Might not sell well though, again very similar to the SCross 1.6. Being a forum favourite is one thing, and market favourite is another (SCross lost it with the initial pricing as well) . I wouldn't personally mind it, if TATA gets the diesel engine right. Fingers crossed for Day 2 of the media drive.

EDIT -

Just saw the above specs. So, for the diesel -

Power to weight ratio -

Brezza - 76 HP /ton.
Ecosport - 79 HP /ton.
Honda WRV - 84 HP/ton
Nexon - 84 HP /ton.

Torque to weight ratio -

Ecosport - 164 Nm /ton
W-RV - 170 Nm /ton
Brezza - 171 Nm /ton
Nexon - 199 Nm /ton.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 25th July 2017 at 19:29.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:23   #1269

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
I don't miss cruise control (had it on my 2014 City but never used it), sunroof, ventilated seats, or any other fancy feature which will end up being unused during an ownership span after the initial showing-off period is over.

Instead, I will be a bit disappointed if the Nexon compromises on safety - if the car is priced above 10 lakhs, I expect it to have at least 6 airbags, TCS/ESC, etc.
Cruise control is a nice to have, especially the diesel being a highway cruiser. Not a deal breaker though. Sunroof won't be missed. Kids would love them, but maintaining them and vandalism fears worry me.

Looks like there were only 2 display cars: blue XZ+ and the red (variant unknown).

I was disappointed looking at the grab handles in the blue XZ+. This eliminates curtain airbags out . There aren't very close shots of the seats, that should show whether side airbags exist or not. This is a conspicuous absence when they are competing with Ecosport, that had them since day 1 almost 4 years back.

The red looks fab, its a nice contrast to the ceramic bodyline. It didn't quite look the same on the blue (as seen in pictures). I see C_D felt the same way too

Looking forward to the reports on how the diesel drives and its NVH. Have to wait till 28th for that?

One thing I am curious about - does it come with disc brakes on all 4 wheels?
I think yes, there were some half clear shots of the rear right wheel and it did seem like a disc (as its seen on the front).

EDIT: Amrut's spec shots confirm on post 1267 it is drum, not disc.

Last edited by narayans80 : 25th July 2017 at 19:27.
narayans80 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:28   #1270

#RANT I am actually quite surprised reading from few tbhpians in this thread. We are supposed to have little bit technical info as well no?(at least this is what street junta thinks of tbhp).

Here we have a car, barely unveiled, with media gag until 27/07 IIRC, only source of info is few pics we got from Twitter and the car is dead on arrival? Really guys? Bash all you want but at least wait till we have official specsheet available?

May be I am old school but I'll take a sturdy, well built car with good dynamics anyday over something that comes with keyless entry, sunroof, Cruise control, everything in leather (including exterior, hey why not!) BUT rattles like a rattlesnake when driving on desi roads! #RANT

I am very impressed by the car. I had a plan to pick EcoSport next year but this car is droolworthy!

Last edited by akshay380 : 25th July 2017 at 19:38.
akshay380 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:31   #1271
srh

Not comparable. The Nexon is a full size bigger in all aspects Below are the dimensions:
Bolt Nexon Difference
Length mm 3825 3995 170
Width mm 1695 1812 117
Height mm 1562 1607 45
Wheelbase mm 2470 2470 0
GC mm 165 200 35
Correction - Nexon wheelbase is 2498. Almost the same as the Brezza
Old 25th July 2017, 19:32   #1272

What does this mean ?

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-img_20170725_193111.jpg

Seat Airbag ? I am hearing this first time,

Does it mean that Airbags mounted inside the Seats, Like say Side Airbags ?

If this is indeed Side Airbags in Tata Nomenclature, we may see Nexon having 4 Airbags (2 Front + 2 Side).
CarguyNish is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:36   #1273

Power to weight ratio -

Brezza - 76 HP /ton.
Ecosport - 79 HP /ton.
Honda WRV - 84 HP/ton
Nexon - 84 HP /ton.

Torque to weight ratio -

Ecosport - 164 Nm /ton
W-RV - 170 Nm /ton
Brezza - 171 Nm /ton
Nexon - 199 Nm /ton.
Makes it the most powerful in its class with an additional gear for easy cruising on the highway. (WRV has a 6th gear too, but a lower torque).
discoverwild is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:40   #1274

Power to weight ratio -

Brezza - 76 HP /ton.
Ecosport - 79 HP /ton.
Honda WRV - 84 HP/ton
Nexon - 84 HP /ton.

Torque to weight ratio -

Ecosport - 164 Nm /ton
W-RV - 170 Nm /ton
Brezza - 171 Nm /ton
Nexon - 199 Nm /ton.
Sorry for the off-topic comment, but this is like Zimbabwe winning the cricket world cup. The perennial laggard has topped the class this time around.

BTW, for those concerned about safety, kudos to Tata Motors for this

Name:  1.png
Views: 3500
Size:  43.7 KB

BTW, in one of the pics on twitter, saw smart watches being displayed with the keys, not sure what could this link be?

Name:  2.png
Views: 3400
Size:  154.5 KB

Last edited by sachinayak : 25th July 2017 at 19:48.
sachinayak is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 25th July 2017, 19:40   #1275

One good thing reported by Zigwheels' Twitter:

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-1.jpg

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-8.jpg

No compromise on safety in lower variants, at least.

Last edited by RavenAvi : 25th July 2017 at 20:02. Reason: better pic.
RavenAvi is offline   (15) Thanks