Old 11th December 2015, 01:02   #31

Re: Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh

Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
The varicor 400 is the most powerful SUV in its segment. The 0-100 timings are better than even a fortuner.:
No they aren't. The Fortuner does the 0 - 100 in the low 12 seconds. Segment leader - the XUV500 - also completes the dash to the 100 quicker.
Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
The figures which i am seeing is
Storme 400- 12.8 seconds

Xuv 500 - 13.2 seconds (some even say its 11 some say its 12, some say 13.8= too much variations)

Fortuner -12.5 team bhp timings, somewhere i see 13.5

In any case they seem to be close enough even if we take the lowest figures.up
Originally Posted by peterjim13 View Post
Yes, its not just about the BHP on the spec list.

If I am not wrong this is more on the power to weight ratio of the car. I have driven the 140 bhp DICOR, and have also tried Fortuner and own an XUV5OO.

But the Safari felt like the heaviest of them all though it offers decent power.
The comparison of Safari is being done by them as per below doc with the next Gen Entry engine Fortuner. 2.5ltr MT 144bhp version which would be closest or lowest in price though still almost double the price. Which this Storme is supposed to be faster than. Not the current 3.0 ltr nor the next Gen 2.8 ltr both of which are or would be faster and more powerful.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attach...l-review-1.jpg
Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-image.jpg  

Last edited by ACM : 11th December 2015 at 01:14.
ACM is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 11th December 2015, 01:17   #32

Not able to add more snaps to previous message for some reason. But as we see these are not the specs of current 3.0-litre Fortuner.

That said for me 12sec to 14sec is roughly all the same. Now the Storme won't feel underpowered in this segment due to it's weight unlike earlier.

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-image.jpg

Last edited by Aditya : 15th December 2015 at 07:17. Reason: Inserting attachment in post
ACM is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 11th December 2015, 07:02   #33

ACM ,

The comparison is with the 2.5 Litre Fortuner variants sold currently. These were launched about a year ago if I am not mistaken.The next gen Fortuner will have 2.4 and 2.8 Litre engines. I dont think TML will compare the Storme with a vehicle whic is yet to be launched.
rajneeesh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th December 2015, 14:22   #34

There are many fans of toyota reliability but let's stick to the topic by comparing apples to apples.

lack of some mainstream features are a sore point but Safari Storme has definitely managed to upstage the Xuv500 and Fortuner on the performance front.

Talking about the performance of next generation fortuner at 35+ lacs means comparing it to one of the land rovers and not a 13lac tata safari storme. I wonder what toyota will be able to offer at even 20 lacs compared to what we get from Tata and Mahindra.

XUV500?? Well it did have an edge but not anymore.

On the brand strength, service reliability, features and sales performance?? that's a different ball game altogather and tata needs to pull their socks up further.

Last edited by devarshi84 : 11th December 2015 at 14:24.
devarshi84 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 14th December 2015, 07:58   #35

I believe the big problem for Tata is lack of brand recognition. The Storme is not registered as a Suv available for sale in India by lot of common folks. The problem increases in towns and rural areas. Lot of times when I stop for refuelling on highways the attendants don't know what fuel to fill in. During halts at highway eateries people ask about what SUV is it? They are surprised when I tell them it is a Safari iteration. The number of dicors I see on rural roads is quite large. Somewhere Tata has missed converting these into Storme sales.
Old 14th December 2015, 10:26   #36

I got to drive the 400nm safari for a pretty long distance today. Having done 18000 km in the 150ps Aria since oct 2014 I could compare both the engines. The 400nm engine tuning seems to be the best iteration of the 2.2 engine now from TATA. NVH is excellent and engine roar can be heard only when pushed hard.This revs freely too without feeling like a big lumbering diesel. For example in the lower gears when having to accelerate quickly but don`t have time to upshift you can now push the engine to higher rpms, in the 150ps engine it takes a bit more time to reach those higher rpms. The engine is so flexible now that it starts pulling from 20kmph in 3rd gear cleanly! This was done with AC and three people on board. On open roads shifting to 6th gear is possible above 60kmph so real world fuel economy should be better than 13-14kmpl which my Aria returns.
There seems to be some changes done to the steering and the suspension. Taking corners at high speeds did not induce body roll and that top heavy feeling is not there.The steering is also much lighter and direct and felt like a car than an SUV. I observed this when moving quickly in traffic as it requires less inputs at the steering for a change of direction.
Gearshift quality is ok but need to get used to it since there is some play in the lever not like as in a sedan/hatchback. But that is not a deal breaker since frequent gear shifts are not required.
Braking feel was excellent and front end dive is almost negligible.
damodar is online now   (12) Thanks
Old 14th December 2015, 10:47   #37

Originally Posted by damodar View Post
Braking feel was excellent and front end dive is almost negligible.
Now that is something I am quite glad that Tata has rectified. Barring from the Safari having the "Safed Haathi" image,glad to see the safari getting improved over the period of time as it is one of the most comfortable SUVs you get in India.
Old 14th December 2015, 17:01   #38

Originally Posted by damodar View Post
I got to drive the 400nm safari for a pretty long distance today. Having done 18000 km in the 150ps Aria since oct 2014 I could compare both the engines. The 400nm engine tuning seems to be the best iteration of the 2.2 engine now from TATA. NVH is excellent and engine roar can be heard only when pushed hard.This revs freely too without feeling like a big lumbering diesel.
Can you enjoy this as the primary ride after owning the Aria 150ps for more than a year? Here you seat much higher with the dashboard much lower in front of you vs the Aria where you are surrounded by the Dash and the doors.

Which did you feel safer /more comfortable to ride in? Assuming you are comparing the 2 Airbag version models in both.

Also Aria / HEXA to come would be having AWD which is usable on highways vs Storme 4X4 that can be deployed only on offroad conditions. Your pick?
Old 14th December 2015, 18:02   #39

Originally Posted by ACM View Post
Here you seat much higher with the dashboard much lower in front of you vs the Aria where you are surrounded by the Dash and the doors.
Aria is a much more moden platform and hence the interiors have been designed better. Where Tata screwed up big time is to give is overtly minivan-ish/muv-ish look. This major flaw has been addressed in the Hexa. Once the Hexa is out, I think it will make much more sense than the Storme as a family vehicle.

Also Aria / HEXA to come would be having AWD which is usable on highways vs Storme 4X4 that can be deployed only on offroad conditions. Your pick?
I agree. Unless you are going to do some severe off-road, AWD makes more sense than a part time 4WD Transfer case which can be used only in slippery conditions. AWD will kick in whenever you need and it makes more sense.
4x4addict is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2015, 18:17   #40

TD review with pics.
  • Fit & finish is much better than Dicor version.
  • Suspension felt better than my sisters XUV W8 2015.
  • 400VARICOR is very smooth & peppy. (negligible vibration while start & stop)
  • 6 speed GB is also felt smooth & needed less gear changing as compared to XUV W8 2015. (cruised at 60 in 6th)
  • Fabric Seats (+ for me)
  • GAS SPRING assist for Hood & rear door.
  • No Climate control / GPS NAV.
  • STEEL sump guard
Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0011-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0013-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0016-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0022-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0023-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0024-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0026-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0028-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0029-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0030-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0032-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0033-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0034-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0035-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0036-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0037-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0039-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0040-large.jpg

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-dsc_0041-large.jpg
rgds,
Nikhil

Note:i own 2009 Xenon XT & have never driven any storme so review could be biased.

Last edited by jeepster : 14th December 2015 at 18:27.
jeepster is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 14th December 2015, 18:44   #41

I had a short spin in the 400 Varicor today when getting my Storme serviced. Agree with all what members have said here. However one flaw as per me. Power delivery is non linear, a slight pause between gear changes and the first gear is too short. I'll keep mine, it's far better to drive.
@jeepster I overtook a nice bolero with a jeepster@teambhp sticker near naldurg yesterday. Was it you? Apologies for not stopping. Was in a hurry to get to Mumbai...
Old 14th December 2015, 18:55   #42

Originally Posted by apachelongbow View Post
Power delivery is non linear, a slight pause between gear changes and the first gear is too short.

@jeepster I overtook a nice bolero with a jeepster@teambhp sticker near naldurg yesterday. Was it you? Apologies for not stopping.
As the drive was brief i felt the E+GB combo was much better. (getting tired of my 2009 2.2vvt)

Yes & NO, we sold our bolero in 2013. (now you can spot me in the one & only the Xenon XT in lower part of Marathwada )

rgds,
Nikhil
Old 14th December 2015, 23:19   #43

Can you enjoy this as the primary ride after owning the Aria 150ps for more than a year?

Which did you feel safer /more comfortable to ride in?
Yes I would prefer this 400nm over my 150ps Aria just for its engine. But I love the seats and the way my Aria behaves at highway speeds. When in the driving seat the Aria tends to shrink around you, feels more compact than from outside. So the best combination would be this 400nm engine+Aria which will be there in the upcoming Hexa. I feel this 400nm engine should suit a 4x4 drivetrain either in part/full time variants because the higher torque will negate the additional weight of the four wheel drive gear.
damodar is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 15th December 2015, 08:23   #44

The visibility from inside a Storme is far better than an Aria. The high seating, low dash, thin pillars and view of the bonnet makes the Storme as chuckable as a nimble hatchback. In fact I hate the seating position and view out of the current fortuner where in I couldn't judge the width and length of the car, this was a big factor in not considering it during my Storme purchase.
apachelongbow is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th December 2015, 14:59   #45

The comparison of Safari is being done by them as per below doc with the next Gen Entry engine Fortuner. 2.5ltr MT 144bhp version which would be closest or lowest in price though still almost double the price. Which this Storme is supposed to be faster than. Not the current 3.0 ltr nor the next Gen 2.8 ltr both of which are or would be faster and more powerful.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attach...l-review-1.jpg
Wow this is news to me. Never thought the performance to improve this far. Will surely try the new Varicor when it hits the showrooms.

As mentioned : comparing the Safari with that of a Fortuner is not right just because they are lakhs of rupees apart.

Varicor 400 should be a game changer provided Tata looks deep into improving the service and maintenance side the way Mahindra did. They should obviously have something in mind keeping the new line up of Zica, Osprey and Hexa adding to the list.