Old 21st January 2019, 20:53   #406

re: The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs

Originally Posted by e46 View Post
Behind the scene videos of the XUV300. Powerdrift team was behind this! Good work I must say.
Yeah, shows how much effort went into making of that shoot. Really liked that the credit was given to every one involved - right from the cameraman, lightman to the caterer and precision JCB operator.

Last edited by manson : 24th January 2019 at 15:41. Reason: Deleted URl from quote.
mguliani is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 22nd January 2019, 06:26   #407

Now imagine him doing that in a Subaru!

Last edited by manson : 24th January 2019 at 15:42. Reason: Typos.
Old 22nd January 2019, 08:23   #408

Originally Posted by RedStallion View Post
As mentioned by another BHPian, it could be the trick with the handbrake only. Also, the way front wheels were spinning, my guess would be FWD.

Kindly give your views on this.
Our ad makers must now be the most adept at getting a car to drift - be it FWD or even a no wheel drive.

There are many ways of doing this! And when you get someone like Gaurav Gill, half your job is already done. That dude can probably make a diesel auto drift and hold it there.

The other techniques include using lots of water or loose gravel - which I can see being used liberally here. Most times they even get a flat saucer under the rear wheels to make the tail hang loose - this happens mostly when they shoot on concrete surfaces like inside a hanger and all.

I don't know about XUV 300 - it could very well have AWD (or not looking at the segment) - but I doubt it will have a rear bias to induce drift. Anyways, one doesn't need AWD or RWD for drifting. All the driver needs is intelligent weight transfer to make a car rotate on its own axis around a corner. Doesn't take a handbrake even - ever heard of a Scandinavian flick? I guess Mr. Gill can do that is his sleep.
deetjohn is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 22nd January 2019, 08:33   #409

The FWD, RWD, and AWD does not matter to Indian customers mostly. They are only being used for bragging rights like I have AWD, I could take my car off-road whenever I like. What I am used to seeing in our roads is, usually these SUV guys fear to take their cars out of the road even while tying to negotiate another vehicle coming from opposite side. I am used to taking my Honda City off the road while negotiating these so called highly capable SUVs, even a Nano user does not think twice to take it off road.

during the conversations with lot of drivers I am saddened to understand the new nuisance in all towns and cities ‘Bullet riders’. They are so arrogant and do not know how to use a cruiser bike, and use it like an activa in the city. They think they are driving a truck and are indestructible. Anyways it has become so mass market that I don’t feel any brand value for an RE. People does not know how to differentiate the different products and use a bullet just like the way they used their splendors.

Last edited by pavi : 22nd January 2019 at 08:40.
pavi is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 22nd January 2019, 18:48   #410

I got an opportunity to ride shotgun in INRC spec Cedia (driven by one of the top 3 driver of that season) and while riding into the corners on gravel, I could clearly feel the rear stepping out. I don't know by how much, but ride hard in such surfaces - I doubt it's difficult to drift a bit; may not to the extent seen in the ads, but surely yes!
Old 22nd January 2019, 19:32   #411

Originally Posted by mguliani View Post
Yeah, Shows how much effort went into making of that shoot. Really liked that the credit was given to every one involved - right from the cameraman, lightman to the caterer and precision JCB operator..
Proud to have been associated in this XUV300 making.

Shot on Red Cinema cameras

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?sto...38906962861942
revv_maniac is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 24th January 2019, 11:14   #412

Can someone share specification of petrol engine? Will it be 3 or 4 cylinder unit?

Last edited by manson : 24th January 2019 at 15:43. Reason: Typos.
Old 24th January 2019, 15:34   #413

It will be a 4 pot turbo petrol.

Last edited by manson : 24th January 2019 at 15:42. Reason: Typo.
Old 24th January 2019, 22:07   #414

Spotted some camouflaged test mules yesterday afternoon on Hosur Road, somewhere near Attibele. Two of them, flanked by TUV300's. All 4 parked by the side. Looks smaller than the TUV300.

(Could not take pics)
Old 25th January 2019, 01:39   #415

Team-BHP Exclusive - The XUV300 in all variants across all colour shades. Thanks to 2 sources who wish to remain anonymous.

W8 (O) in White & chrome-ified.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xwch.jpg

W8 (O) in Silver.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xs80.jpg

W8 in Orange.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xo8.jpg

W6 in Aquamarine.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xa6.jpg

W6 in Red.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xr6.jpg

W4 in Black.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xb4.jpg

Partial engine bay shot.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xb4engine.jpg

W6 rear.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xr6r.jpg

W4 rear.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xs4r.jpg

W4 - rear right tail light interior in chrome.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xs4rr.jpg

W4 - front grille in chrome surround.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xs4f.jpg

W4 - wheel cap accessory.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xs4wc.jpg
RavenAvi is offline   (58) Thanks
Old 25th January 2019, 07:20   #416

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
Team-BHP Exclusive - The XUV300 in all variants across all colour shades.
Hats off, scoopmaster.

Looks like Mahindra is fully prepared even with the chrome accessories for the Indian SUV craze. Too much of bling in some cars.

On the flip side, couldn't help but notice that the panels gaps are uneven at the Mahindra designed rear section. Hopefully these are pre-production models.

Now that you have seen all colours - will you be going ahead with Sunburst Orange itself?

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 25th January 2019 at 07:24.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 25th January 2019, 09:16   #417

Too much chrome. They should have an all black version.

I like the rear. Nice and compact...without the chrome though!!
bigben is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th January 2019, 11:18   #418

Some more, including some interior shots, thanks to Akshay Makwana @ Mahindra XUV300 FB group.

W4 in Black.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xw4fbl.jpg

W6 in Red.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xw6f.jpg

W6 Rear.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xw6r.jpg

Central Console.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xw8int.jpg

ODO + Central Console.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xw8int2.jpg

Front passenger side.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xw8int3.jpg

W4 in Silver, fitted with chrome garnish on grille and under headlamps.
The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-xw4f.jpg

Now that you have seen all colours - will you be going ahead with Sunburst Orange itself?
Red looks tempting but with a Nexon Red DT in the garage already, I am skipping it.

No White or Silver for me and Aquamarine isn't to my tastes so yes, still with Orange.

Originally Posted by bigben View Post
Too much chrome. They should have an all black version.

I like the rear. Nice and compact...without the chrome though!!
Some of those above (1st pic, and all from 6th onwards) are decked with chrome accessories for display. For stock OEM looks, refer to the pics I just posted.

Last edited by RavenAvi : 25th January 2019 at 11:25. Reason: added replies.
RavenAvi is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 25th January 2019, 12:15   #419

Why is sunroof not visible on the silver W8(O)? Is it the camera angle or W8(O) also comes with an 'optional' sunroof?
Old 25th January 2019, 12:50   #420

Originally Posted by tarik.arora View Post
Why is sunroof not visible on the silver W8(O)? Is it the camera angle or W8(O) also comes with an 'optional' sunroof?
Angle of the pic.

Refer to this for a better shot of the sunroof in W8 (O).

The Mahindra XUV300, aka Ssangyong Tivoli. Edit: Launched @ 7.9 lakhs-x12.jpg
RavenAvi is offline   (13) Thanks