Old 5th February 2016, 10:02   #46

Re: Toyota Innova Crysta @ Auto Expo 2016

Big shoutout to Vid6639 for shooting these pictures & his coverage of the Auto Expo. Thanks for sharing, man!
+1

Thanks to all for the Expo coverage.

After 10 years of faithful ownership with a 2006 V, looking forward to the next generation Innova.

In spite of all the pleas I read about the old Innova being sold concurrently, I can't think of any model in any market, not just India where Toyota has sold an old and new one together.

I can see some angst against the rear looks. Even though of late, Toyota has put out some funky designs which does cast some doubt about my impression of Toyota design. That, unlike some brands, they don't just put kinks because they can.

The one place where you get the maximum low rpm vibration in the current Innova is the rear quarter. That extra reinforcement in the third window (kink in the design) should take care of that.

The jutted out lights actually saves a lot of room on the inside of the cabin. Just have a look at how much of a scoop the current lights take inside.

If you have driven the Innova in even a light drizzle, you know the rear gets completely filthy. Hopefully some of those "kinks" will keep the rear cleaner.

Overall looks great and I am looking forward to driving one soon.

gthang is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 10:24   #47

Originally Posted by swiftdiesel View Post
This isn't a negative point (at this point in time) but I have a feeling the engine would be tuned more for longevity than performance. Again, I'm prepared to be surprised.
The constituency for Innova overwhelmingly cherish longevity over performance (aka- dus-saal-ki-gaadi), so I don't doubt that will be the case with the current gen's tuning as well.

I am happy with the al-round upgrade, and the fact that Toyota has not tried tinker with a winning formula. I would have preferred some more contemporary safety features though, considering the number of zillion kilometers the Innovas spend on highways. 6 airbags and VSC/ traction control would have been welcome.

And I know it sounds trivial, but maybe a slightly larger fuel tank as well

But as I said, as someone who has owned an Innova for some time, I am happy with the package, especially news of the AT. Hope we get a petrol AT as well.
Contrapunto is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 10:51   #48

The front quarter-glass and overall wheelbase is clear giveaway that its old generation architecture. But then why break something which is really good.

Very good and exhaustive major engineering change(MCE) which has brought out this beautiful change. Claps and respect for Toyota engineering prowess.
anu21v is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 11:07   #49

I was there at the Expo yesterday and saw the new Innova in flesh for a long long time. I must say that the car definitely looks quiet a few rungs above the current car. The car will definitely bring a lot of owner drivers back to the Innova due to the sheer package. I myself am seriously contemplating one after taking a look at it. I think the 6 speed Auto box will make it an ideal deal for owner driver like me who's looking for a great family mover!

The Toyota guy present told me that they are looking at May launch and the price list too will be announced than. But me and my friend after looking at the car think that pricing will go above 20 lacs easily. Plus they're going to keep the current innova running concurrently with the new one so I believe the pricing is gonna be much more from the current one.

All in all the car is fantastic in flesh. Lets see what the pricing comes about to.
abs182 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 11:16   #50

In my opinion, considering the kind of upgrade this has got, already highly priced current generation product and the lack of any other competitive product in this segment...this will go for a huge premium.

Hope it doesn't repeat what S Cross did...
Old 5th February 2016, 11:47   #51

May be, the current Innova can target the taxi segment, meaning remove the V and Z variants from the current line-up. Get the Crysta in this price range [starting @ V].
Old 5th February 2016, 11:59   #52

The ex showroom price spread in the current generation is nearly 5 lakhs, between the top end Z variant (16.5L) and the E variant with a/c and power steering (11.5L).

The 2WD Fortuner begins at 24L for both the 3.0 and the 2.5 versions. The 2WD AT Fortuner goes for 25L+. The next generation Fortuner should easily move up to the 30L range.

So it is quite possible that the Crysta might start at current ZX + 5L making the entry at 21L or thereabouts.

I feel if Toyota asks 25L ex showroom for a fully loaded Z variant with the 2.8L engine, auto gearbox, power fold mirrors, ISOFIX, captain chairs, high end audio and that posh looking leather, that would be excellent.

I am convinced. Super White, please. Thank You!

Last edited by Yeldo : 5th February 2016 at 12:02.
Yeldo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 12:11   #53

Look-wise it sure is a better looking van particularly from the front view. Though the sides and back are still plain and Toyota should have done some bending and pressing of the metal to make it more appealing. I presume that they have increased the thickness of metal as the current Innova's get easily dented.

I think all they have focused is on the front and slapped an over sized bumper. I can see some upward angle to the bumper which should protect it from day to day intimacy with the monster speed breakers which you find on our roads. This was one my worst worries as the current generation Innovas never miss kissing even a medium to large speed breaker; thanks to it's low hanging front and the tow rings. A slightly higher GC would be certainly welcome with the same level of manners at the high speed highway cruising.

Engine start/ stop switch is a big welcome, but looking at the gear shift lever, I am sure to miss the lorry style gear lever . I personally enjoyed this lever and the biggest differentiation while getting into any other car was this. Variable geometry turbo will further optimise the power and reduce the turbo lag.

Toyota should think seriously about providing all round disc brakes and other safety features like curtain and door airbags. Atleast this should be an option if not the standard. Interiors are still boring but practical and spacious. Wooden trim on the dash could be avoided.

Overlooking all the downsides; I must say that the legend is truly reborn and will keep ruling the highways eternally.
sknglobal is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 13:24   #54

Making it above 20L will take the car into another territory.

True, its new, jazzed up, looks cool, with lots of features and tuned up engine. But if Innova goes into that pricing and no launch of new Fortuner, it will be competing with Fortuner at the same price almost on the showroom.

I don't think Toyota should be that greedy to increase the pricing to such obnoxious levels. Its a different thing that they might turn that greedy.

Hopefully, it shouldn't make the car very premium such that sales settle to very low number. (and is out of reach of many people).
tanwaramit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 14:59   #55

Originally Posted by Yeldo View Post
I feel if Toyota asks 25L ex showroom for a fully loaded Z variant with the 2.8L engine, auto gearbox, power fold mirrors, ISOFIX, captain chairs, high end audio and that posh looking leather, that would be excellent.

At 22-24L ON ROAD, the Innova may still pull customers. At 25 lakh EX SHW, you're talking 28~+ on road. That's nodding distance away from the 2.2 ltr Endy A/T. I believe a LOT of people would tip over to the Endy if the difference between the two products is too little.

If I was a prospective Innova buyer - at your suggested price points, I would either buy the XUV A/T for a lot less money or the Endy for a little more money.

Last edited by Axe77 : 5th February 2016 at 15:01.
Axe77 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 15:07   #56

Originally Posted by Yeldo View Post

The 2WD Fortuner begins at 24L for both the 3.0 and the 2.5 versions. The 2WD AT Fortuner goes for 25L+. The next generation Fortuner should easily move up to the 30L range.

So it is quite possible that the Crysta might start at current ZX + 5L making the entry at 21L or thereabouts.

With Toyota hardly offering any competitive differentiator in their current Innova, they might just stick to the g version (for taxi segment) and sell the new Innova at current + max 50 K and maybe a lakh of premium for the auto box. Any more than that, with the current slew of launches slated, they might just find out how discerning the Indian consumer is.

Any closer to the 25 L ex showroom, I will pick up the endy any day.

Last edited by an_and : 5th February 2016 at 15:10.
an_and is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 15:19   #57

I just have an altogether different question in my mind. Why should Toyota (as long as they can get the kits) discontinue the higher variants of Innova?? It is a product that gives good margins and they may continue to milk it. They may choose to bring the Crysta only in mid level+ variants so that even though there is an overlap between old and new, at least the customer will stay with Toyota. Also, this will give them a chance to plug the wide gap between Innova and Fortuner (upcoming)
octane_100 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 16:18   #58

I'm sure this will be another hit for Toyota, but I'm going to be a dissenting voice here.
The rear end from the side looks a bit too much like the Go+ (the length of body behind the rear wheel is too much), the current Innova looks better.

Interior wise, I didn't like the wood trim. and that 7" ICE touch screen looks a bit like a stuck on piece as if they remembered about it after they designed the dash.

It sure is going to come at a premium though.
nmenon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 19:51   #59

Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
At 22-24L ON ROAD, the Innova may still pull customers. At 25 lakh EX SHW, you're talking 28~+ on road. That's nodding distance away from the 2.2 ltr Endy A/T.

If I was a prospective Innova buyer - at your suggested price points, I would either buy the XUV A/T for a lot less money or the Endy for a little more money.
Originally Posted by an_and View Post
sell the new Innova at current + max 50 K and maybe a lakh of premium for the auto box. they might just find out how discerning the Indian consumer is.

Any closer to the 25 L ex showroom, I will pick up the endy any day.
Actually the current Innova Z is 19L+ On The Road in my state. The Endeavour 2.2L 2WD MT Trend is around 29L. The Fortuner 2.5 2WD MT is also 29L.

The larger 2.8L Toyota engine with automatic transmission should be a very tempting package indeed.

I am yet to drive / ride in the new Endeavour, but I have sat in a demo vehicle. However decked up that Ford is, I simply would not want to be crouching in those backseats. As for the XUV, it is not good enough for the current Innova, so I do not see it holding up against the reportedly much improved Crysta.

I expect Toyota to ask 21L for the 2.4MT variant.

But I would be pleasantly surprised and totally happy if Toyota asks +50k and 1 lakh over the current Innova or 22-24L OTR as both of you kindly suggested. Hope Toyota listens to you, and not me!

Anyway, let us leave the pricing decision to the manufacturer now, and make our calls after we get to see the price list.
Yeldo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 20:12   #60

Innova ZX retails for 16l ex showroom in Delhi and GX at 13.5lac ex showroom. Toyota should look at covering the 17l - 22l (ex showroom) territory with Crysta and this is what my local city dealer is expecting too.

The other thing he tells me is that, they are expecting the current Fortuner will stay in the 2.5 ltr avtar, covering the 23lacs - 25lacs (ex showroom bracket) and the new Fortuner when launched will be placed bang in the Endeavor's territory.
rrsteer is online now   (1) Thanks