Old 5th February 2016, 11:17   #1

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016

Big shoutout to Vid6639 for shooting these pictures & his coverage of the Auto Expo. Thanks for sharing, man!

Having emerged from 2015 as the No.1 luxury car brand in India, Mercedes is on a roll. Their pavilion reflected that:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-0.jpeg

Mercedes had lots of eye-candy as well as their bread & butter models on display:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-1.jpeg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-2.jpeg

The 2013 car driven by Hamilton & Rosberg:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-3.jpeg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-4.jpeg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-5.jpeg

The AMG GTS with 500 horses from its twin-turbo V8:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-6.jpeg

Last edited by GTO : 5th February 2016 at 13:00.
GTO is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 11:28   #2

Re: Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016

The m-a-d G500 4x4-squared. Why mad?

Two dampers & springs running in parallel:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-7.jpeg

Portal axles give it 450 mm of ground clearance! Also, 3 lockable diffs:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-8.jpeg

The classic G-Class shape still looks terrific:

416 BHP from a twin-turbo 4.0 V8:

Prices start at over 200,000 Euros abroad...more expensive than even the S-Class!

Approach & departure angles of 52 & 54 degrees (respectively):

You can deflate the tyres, but they aren't self-inflating like the 6x6:

Pipes sing from the sides:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-9.jpeg

Carbon-fibre wheel arch extensions. You can detach them if needed:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-9b.jpeg

Designed with a ruler...suits the character of the car:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-10.jpeg

Not the SUV you want to buy if luxury is top on your list of priorities:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-11.jpeg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-12.jpeg

Last edited by GTO : 5th February 2016 at 11:47.
GTO is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 12:17   #3

The GLC is based on the C-Class:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-0.jpg

I'd put my money on the GLC 250d coming to India, although the recent Delhi ban on 2+ liter diesels might have put a spanner in the works. Mercedes must be waiting it out for more clarity on the longer-term judgement. An MNC which takes orders from Germany can't respond as quickly as Mahindra did with its downsized diesel engine:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-1.jpg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-2.jpg

The GLC rivals the Audi Q5 & BMW X3:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-3.jpg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-3b.jpg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-4.jpg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-5.jpg

On the inside, we see the use of nappa leather and open-pore wood trim. The design similarities with the W-205 C-Class are evident. You get a splitting armrest, tablet type infotainment display, 3-spoke steering wheel with integrated controls, a touchpad in the handrest over the rotary push-button for the COMAND system and an optional panoramic sunroof:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-6.jpg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-7.jpg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-8.jpg

Mercedes' new design brilliance is the main reason for it returning to the top spot. Even the styling of the center fascia makes you go wow:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-9.jpg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-10.jpg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-11.jpg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-12.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 5th February 2016 at 12:27.
GTO is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 12:30   #4

If you are a VIP receiving death threats, the S600 Guard is for you. The on-road price of 10 crores is chump change for the likes of the Ambanis & gang. President Pranab Mukherjee also uses one:

This 150 kilo door can protect you against AK47s & grenades! That's why, even if you have 10 crores, Mercedes won't just sell one to you. They'll run a background check to ensure you're not part of the mafia:

Special purpose tyres can do 30 kms even after they are damaged by bullets:

On the other hand, if you have $$$ without a threat to your life, there's the S500 Cabriolet:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-cabrio-1.jpeg

455 horses & 700 Nm of torque from a V8 petrol:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-cabrio-2.jpeg

Don't choose the black interiors. 3 months of driving in our kind of weather and these will turn black anyway :
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-cabrio-3.jpeg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-cabrio-4.jpeg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-cabrio-5.jpeg

Last edited by GTO : 5th February 2016 at 12:40.
GTO is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 12:49   #5

Some more AMGs, like this CLA45:

GLE Coupe:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-2b.jpeg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-2c.jpeg

And their regular range of cars:

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-7.jpeg

The merchandise area:
Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-dsc05073.jpeg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-dsc05074.jpeg

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-dsc05075.jpeg

Last edited by GTO : 5th February 2016 at 12:52.
GTO is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 12:53   #6

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Auto Expo Section!
GTO is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 14:37   #7

Some more AMGs, like this CLA45:

Attachment 1470853
Has the badging of the CLA45AMG changed? It used to be like the one below. (pic sourced from VSD's thread)

IMO, it's changed for the better. I never liked the long 4Matic lettering.

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016-img_6484.jpg  

sidparekh is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 16:11   #8

If you are a VIP receiving death threats, the S600 Guard is for you. The on-road price of 10 crores is chump change for the likes of the Ambanis & gang. President Pranab Mukherjee also uses one..

..On the other hand, if you have $$$ without a threat to your life, there's the S500 Cabriolet:
Super liked the way you differentiated S600 Guard & S500 cabriolet. And yea, S500 cabriolet is a moving monument & a beautiful statement. Simply love it.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 5th February 2016 at 16:20. Reason: Trimmed quoted post. please avoid quoting the entire post as it may inconvenience small-screen / mobile users. Thanks!
redbaron91 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th February 2016, 16:08   #9

They didn't display the new E class?? Why? Wasn't is just unveiled at some international auto show..
Old 7th February 2016, 09:46   #10

Guys, Im planning to buy the CLA. apparently 1.5 is the discount I'm getting for the 2015 variant. But i doubt if they would introduce a slightly diff 2016 model this year. Considering it doesn't come with LED head lights. So anyone at the auto show please kindly confirm if there would be any slight change in the 2016 variant for the CLA 200? So that i can wait and go for the 2016 variant which comes out in may.
Old 7th February 2016, 10:43   #11

Mercedes @ Auto Expo 2016

Personally I wouldn't buy a Mercedes if it doesn't come with LED lighting package. It makes a huge difference in the aesthetics, safety and is yet functional as hell. Especially since it is offered in most of the outside countries as an option. My advise is to wait.

Last edited by pamiboy : 7th February 2016 at 10:56.
Old 7th February 2016, 11:30   #12

The Mercedes counter IMO was aesthetically well done. The G wagon in flesh was a sight to behold. This and the GTS coupe along with the F1 car were the main attraction around.
The F1 on car on the display had specs which stated a kerb weight of 95 kg. Did I miss something there ?
Old 7th February 2016, 11:49   #13

Originally Posted by pamiboy View Post
Personally I wouldn't buy a Mercedes if it doesn't come with LED lighting package. It makes a huge difference in the aesthetics, safety and is yet functional as hell. Especially since it is offered in most of the outside countries as an option. My advise is to wait.
Thank you. Im planning to wait. Among all their line up of cars, the CLA is the only variant now which comes without LED headlamps. So i guess it might be due to get one indeed. Anyone at the autoshow, who has posted pics perhaps can throw some light on this
Old 7th February 2016, 14:14   #14

Originally Posted by Baddychat View Post
The F1 on car on the display had specs which stated a kerb weight of 95 kg. Did I miss something there ?
May be they missed the trailing 0. 950kg sounds very plausible.