Old 5th February 2016, 13:32   #1

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016

Big shout-out to Anshuman & Eddy for their coverage and photographs.

The BMW stall was neatly laid out, and kept the focus on actual production vehicles rather than concepts:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-00-aaa_2177.jpg

The just-launched next gen X1 leads the 'X' product lineup:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-01-001img_0236.jpg

The 7 Series (seen in the background) was another launch from BMW at the expo:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-03-005img_0240.jpg

The big bikes from BMW were represented in their own section too:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-02-aaa_2176.jpg

Last edited by Rehaan : 8th February 2016 at 02:33.
Rehaan is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 13:34   #2

Re: BMW @ Auto Expo 2016

X1

BMW's Next Gen X1 has been launched in India at a price of Rs. 29.90 - 39.90 lakh (ex-Delhi).

Details & pictures in this thread.

Last edited by Rehaan : 7th February 2016 at 11:50.
Rehaan is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 15:10   #3

7 Series

BMW's Next Gen 7 Series has been launched in India at a price of Rs. 1.11 - 1.55 crore (ex-Delhi).

Details & pictures in this thread.

Last edited by Rehaan : 7th February 2016 at 11:49.
Rehaan is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 15:10   #4

i8

The i8 is no stranger to auto shows, and it's futuristic styling is quite a crowd puller:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2259.jpg

In case you missed it, 2015 saw several i8 deliveries in India:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2268.jpg

A prominent styling feature is the gap riding through from the quarter glass right till the inner edge of the taillamp:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2262.jpg

They say if you look closely at the rear of an i8, it looks like its giving birth to a Porsche 911:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2264.jpg

Note the carbon fibre door frames:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2267.jpg

The Passenger cabin in i8 is made from Carbon Fibre Reinforced Plastic, while the whole drivetrain, suspension and battery pack rests on an aluminium frame:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2266.jpg

The i8 uses a combination of electric motor and a 3 cylinder petrol engine. The 131bhp electric drive powers the front axle, while the rear axle is powered by 1.5 Litre Turbo Petrol engine that makes 231 bhp. This combination helps the i8 to hit 0 to 100kph mark in 4.4 seconds and is capable of top speed of 250 kph. Running on just the batteries the i8 can acheive a top speed of 120kph with maximum range of 35 kms.
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2273.jpg

Last edited by Rehaan : 8th February 2016 at 02:26.
Rehaan is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 15:10   #5

//M

The 'M' cars were all lined up in a row...

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2178.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2277.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2278.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2279.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2280.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2281.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2281x-aaa_2181aaa_2280.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2282.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-01-aaa_2179.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-02-aaa_2285.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-03-aaa_2283.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-04-aaa_2284.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-05-aaa_2386.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-06-aaa_2384.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-07-aaa_2287.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-08-aaa_2288.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-09-aaa_2385.jpg

Last edited by Rehaan : 8th February 2016 at 02:26.
Rehaan is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 15:11   #6

Rest of the Fleet

The X5 30d M Sport variant pricing was also announced at Rs. 75.90 lakh (ex-Delhi).

In addition to an exterior aerodynamics package, 19" wheels and other exterior tweaks, the interior additions over the Design Pure variant are electric seats at the front and a multi-function M steering wheel.

The X5 is locally produced at BMW's Chennai plant.

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2174.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2174x-aaa_2294.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-33-aaa_2276.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-34-aaa_2290.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-55-aaa_2255.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-56-aaa_2255x-aaa_2275.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-61-aaa_2256.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-62-aaa_2274.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2173.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2175.jpg

Last edited by Rehaan : 8th February 2016 at 19:59.
Rehaan is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 7th February 2016, 00:19   #7

Around the Stall

BMW had put up a nice display about the qualities of carbon fibre:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2269.jpg

A basic explanation of the stages of manufacturing something in carbon fibre:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2270.jpg

A little touch & feel. You could push against each of the 3 materials to see which one flexed the most:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2271.jpg

Lastly, each of these 3 cylinders was filled with the same volume of steel, aluminium and carbon fibre. You could use the handles to lift each container and compare. Naturally carbon had a massive weight advantage!
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2272.jpg

A merchandise section:
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2263.jpg

Another peek at the bike section (to be covered in a separate thread):
BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-aaa_2387.jpg

Last edited by Rehaan : 8th February 2016 at 02:31.
Rehaan is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 8th February 2016, 12:08   #8

Thread moved out from the Assembly Line section.
Old 8th February 2016, 12:09   #9

Superb Photographs! . I can see that the X6M comes with a proper spare wheel in its very own wheel well. Is this only for this particular model or is BMW finally changing to providing spare wheels their proper place?
Old 9th February 2016, 12:18   #10

Superb pictures there. The one thing that stands out in the BMW stall is of course the i8. Wow what a drool machine and rightly said kind of 911 ish rear.

The rest of the lineup is not completely new for our market now given that this German brand has been present for a while now.
Old 9th February 2016, 13:42   #11

went for a short time to Auto Expo in Morning , new 7 looks wow ! specially interior, the one on display with M Kit & Cognac interior looks far better in person.

Great thing about BMW Stall was that they were allowing everyone to have feel of the displayed cars - anyone can sit on any car including 6 series and other M Cars. I learnt that BMW bosses have given a clear instruction to let anyone in despite the costs ( there were some damages already ) I am sure this small gesture will go long way to promote BMW brand - most of guys were happy clicking selfies with all dream machines - now comparing this with our local manufacturers - they had simply put a ribboned wall and so had others including Jaguar Land rover.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2016, 17:10   #12

Great thing about BMW Stall was that they were allowing everyone to have feel of the displayed cars - anyone can sit on any car including 6 series and other M
+1, i went yesterday and was glad to see BMW allowing every one in and they had unlocked all their cars right upto M6 and were handing freebies to every one . This is such a great gesture compared to Merc, Audi and Jag who had left their cars locked, i did put in a mail of appreciation to Bmw India for it. This is how a premium manufacturer should behave, what kind of a premium manufacturer are you if you can not let people sit inside in your cars, that too during Auto Expo.

I was shocked to see Maruti and Hyundai locking and cordoning off their bread n butter cars like S Cross and Elite i20.

I loved the new 7 series and X1, brilliant start to 2016, 7 should sell well but X1 has all the ingredients of a hit.
coolboy007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2016, 17:25   #13

Managed to get a few pictures of the G 310 R when I was on my way to another stall. Must say, this thing has some serious protein on it and has some great and classy presence. Definitely a head turner and something I can't wait to test!

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-1.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-2.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-3.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-4.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-5.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-6.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-7.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-8.jpg
Tushar is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th February 2016, 19:20   #14

G310R looks extremely appealing. I think we will have a more Indianized version of the same bike from TVS as well (?).

Looks like this is the only BMW i can afford as of today!
Old 12th February 2016, 18:49   #15

A couple of Bimmers from my end visiting the BMW Stall @ the Auto Expo 2016 :

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-bmw-1.jpg

BMW @ Auto Expo 2016-bmw-2.jpg
AJ-got-BHP is offline   (2) Thanks