View Poll Results: Which design of S-Cross do you like better?
Current design is better 150 23.44%
Facelifted look is much better 297 46.41%
It's a matter of personal taste but actually both look good 59 9.22%
Neither of the two look any good to me 134 20.94%
Voters: 640. You may not vote on this poll

Old 5th April 2017, 13:12   #211

re: 2016 Suzuki S-Cross facelift leaked. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 8.49 lakh

Maruti should get the All wheel drive homologated. That will be a big differentiator in this segment.
Some years back, Maruti kick started the AMT segment. This year they have introduced the "warm-big-hatch" - again addressing a new segment.
See no reason why they cannot do the same for the "soft-roader AWD" segment which has a small but very dedicated clientele.
arjab is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th April 2017, 13:49   #212

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
No info on engines, transmissions or variants are available right now.
I will be more then happy if they retain that 1.6 Diesel & also offer an Automatic (P/D) this time.

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Hope they don't launch it anytime soon (read at least by June /July '17).
I think this will be one of their launches for this year after the New Dzire. The Swift was expected in August/September Period, but it has been pushed to 2018 Auto Expo. I guess, S-Cross FL will take its place. [/quote]

Originally Posted by Nav-i-gator View Post
The current S-cross look very tasteful and elegant, one of the best looking big hatches in India for me. This new one completely spoils it! the front design is such a big mistake I would say.
We should see it physically before deciding it's ugly or nice looking. Some cars look good in real compared to one's in pictures.

Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post
While you are at it, kindly ask them if we can expect the 1.5NA petrol or the 1.4 Boosterjet.
As long as Maruti offer a good Petrol Engine with High Displacement, we should be happy. While 1.5 NA would give tough fight to Ecosport & some extent City, the 1.4 Boosterjet if offered will be priced at a premium . Around 40k less then 1.6 Diesel IMO.
CarguyNish is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th April 2017, 14:04   #213

Damn, why Maruti why??!

Already the sales are on a low and with this entering God help the sales.

Hope they don't launch it anytime soon (read at least by June /July '17).
Why not?

Only few of us in Team Bhp might appreciate an understated design (which wasn't even beautiful!), but the mass market loves exaggerated elements, DRLs, Chrome etc - and the new S Cross caters to that market.

I hope they bring it soon. So that the car becomes a better success, and they start thinking of locally producing that 1.6 oil burner.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 5th April 2017, 14:12   #214

Team,

Bringing you the first ever picture of the 2016 S-Cross facelift on Indian soil. Taken at Maruti-Suzuki's plant in Gurgaon.

Attachment 1626797

Security is tight, so only this one snapshot could be taken. No info on engines, transmissions or variants are available right now.

Big thanks to my birdies for this.

Thank you Raven.

Welcome the new design. The drooling nose is gone. Bumper looks butch and fresh. Headlight panel also looks good with the new DRL design.
That gawdy looking front mesh can be handled with wraps.
Request Suzuki India to retain the DDIS 320.
Would like to book the Scross 1.6, if we are not getting the New Grand Vitara anytime soon.
MercFan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th April 2017, 14:17   #215

I hope Suzuki do the following.

1. Improve the NVH of the car. The team BHP review said that the NVH was not to the premium standard
2. Offer few more color options. Some of the existing colors are just boring
3. Retain the 1.6MJD and not to dump that :-)
4. Sort out the issue related to the projector lamps
searacer932 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th April 2017, 14:48   #216

The toothy grill reminds me of some Buicks of the recent past. Here is a Buick Rendezvous for reference :

2016 Suzuki S-Cross facelift leaked. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 8.49 lakh-240103.jpg
sajo is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th April 2017, 15:00   #217

IF this launches, i guess for the first time in indian automobile history we will see people changing from chrome grill to black plastic grill

Jokes apart, S-Cross was a very good car ruined due to horrible pricing. This was one of the rare cases where maruti missed out on the pricing(may be got over excited with NEXA)
rajshenoy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th April 2017, 15:05   #218

I guess we need to wait and see what they do to the grill. Last time S-cross had a good grill in the internation marked and MS dumbed it down for India. Maybe they change it to a better one for India this time.
Old 5th April 2017, 17:28   #219

Originally Posted by arjab View Post
Maruti should get the All wheel drive homologated. That will be a big differentiator in this segment.
No AWD. But DCT. They have a 6 speed DCT mated to the DDiS 320 in the Italian market. This should bring in some decent volumes.
narayans80 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th April 2017, 18:04   #220

First with the new Dzire, now they are doing it again with the new S-Cross.
Looks like Suzuki has vowed to 'torture' Indian eyes with these ugly grilles.

Why ruin a harmless and elegant design and make it so ugly?

My personal opinion. Not intended to offend prospective buyers.
Old 5th April 2017, 22:38   #221

The S-cross this month in Nexa showrooms post Ciaz launch has an exchange offer of INR 20K and a cash discount of 10K. These discounts are coming in after they gave it last time to clear 2016 stock (That was a 40K exchange discount). So the discounts should help the sales
Damn, why Maruti why??!
Already the sales are on a low and with this entering God help the sales.
The numbers don't support this hypothesis. The Indian market is looking for a SUV like build like the ecosport or creta. Agree this is a cross-over but has to be more gawdy to sell good numbers. For example: I like the front grille and would look forward to buying this
Originally Posted by Nav-i-gator View Post
The current S-cross look very tasteful and elegant, one of the best looking big hatches in India for me. This new one completely spoils it! the front design is such a big mistake I would say.
100% agree. This is hitting the nail on the head. The new S-cross design could be a sureshot winner. Locally producing the 1.6 oil burner should help Suzuki margins and some of that will get passed on to the customer. They should also add the 1.4 turbojet petrol and provide that as well locally made in India.
Only few of us in Team Bhp might appreciate an understated design (which wasn't even beautiful!), but the mass market loves exaggerated elements, DRLs, Chrome etc - and the new S Cross caters to that market.
I hope they bring it soon. So that the car becomes a better success, and they start thinking of locally producing that 1.6 oil burner.
bhpfaninblr is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th April 2017, 08:53   #222

Will wait to see this in the flesh before commenting on the looks. International pics seem to indicate more road presence than the current avatar, which isn't a bad thing for a crossover in India, which is a pro "butch SUV" look market.
Couple of things I hope they introduce in the upgrade:
1. AT in the top two variants (DCT and not AMT please)
2. More safety features in the top/top 2 trims; for example, 4 more airbags
razor4077 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th April 2017, 09:04   #223

Originally Posted by razor4077 View Post
Couple of things I hope they introduce in the upgrade:
1. AT in the top two variants (DCT and not AMT please)
2. More safety features in the top/top 2 trims; for example, 4 more airbags
AT if launched will definitely be a CVT/DCT. Maruti knows that they can't even think of AMT. The DCT is mated to DDiS 320, but it comes only with AWD & not 2WD. We don't have AWD here, so Maruti might have to offer the AT with 2WD or skip it completely unless they launch AWD

If they launch AT in either Petrol or Diesel Guise, I see around 30% increase in sales. Diesel AT will definitely boost its appeal. There aren't many Good Diesel Automatics under 15 lakhs.

6 Airbags on Alpha Trim would be good since competition offers them on Top Most Models. Maruti should up the Safety Aspect.

Last edited by CarguyNish : 6th April 2017 at 09:18.
CarguyNish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th April 2017, 09:25   #224

Team,

Bringing you the first ever picture of the 2016 S-Cross facelift on Indian soil. Taken at Maruti-Suzuki's plant in Gurgaon.

Attachment 1626797

Security is tight, so only this one snapshot could be taken. No info on engines, transmissions or variants are available right now.

Big thanks to my birdies for this.

The headlight design... picked it from the Merc's?
Hope they also give it a good petrol engine this time.
Old 6th April 2017, 10:36   #225

Personally I prefer the old design as it looked more true to form and honest (whatever that means ) that said, I don't really mind the new design and I have to say it has grown on me and I'd wager it would look quite understated if one ghosts out all that excess chrome

What I am more interested in, is whether they bring the DCT and 1.4 boosterjet here to India. If so, mark my words, they have a customer in me just ready and waiting
IshaanIan is offline   (2) Thanks