Old 24th August 2016, 21:30   #16

Re: The Mercedes W124 E-Class Archive: Pics, Videos & Reviews

Witness the safety standards of the W124 during a real life high speed motorway accident. No modern electronics and yet the driver walks out unharmed. When your life and those of your loved one's is at stake, few vehicles can match the structural integrity of an over-engineered classic Mercedes Benz.

Ask yourself one question - what would have happened in a Verna/ Vento/ City/ Ciaz or any other "modern" 10 lac vehicle?

Last edited by Screwdriva : 24th August 2016 at 21:33.
Screwdriva is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 25th August 2016, 11:32   #17

Love the W124s. Because the newest example you can buy today would be 20 years old, it's nearly impossible to find a clean car. And the few owners who have put in the effort to keep their W124s tight don't want to sell them.
I absolutely share the same emotions about the W124. I was in my school days when it was launched in India and I have fond memories as a back bencher flipping through its reviews in auto india magazine. I was just amazed at the paint quality when I had the opportunity to touch one when I'd visited a Tata service center with a relative for service of his tatamobile.
Back then there were people who used to modify the tatamobile as a sedan with w124 headlamps grille, taillights and of course the three pointer logos

Until sometime back, I was looking to acquire one. But the prohibitive costs for refurbishing and maintaining one held me back. This thread has somehow rekindled my desire to own one.
If someone were to buy one today, will it be practical to use it as a daily driver given that the maintenance costs are looked after? There is also an issue of newer motor norms coming into force which may call for a total ban on older vehicles.
Old 25th August 2016, 17:28   #18

[quote=Neur0t0xin;4042194
But the prohibitive costs for refurbishing and maintaining one held me back. This thread has somehow rekindled my desire to own one.
If someone were to buy one today, will it be practical to use it as a daily driver given that the maintenance costs are looked after? There is also an issue of newer motor norms coming into force which may call for a total ban on older vehicles.[/QUOTE]

Prohibitive? Quite the contrary in my ownership experience over the past 8 years when my W124 has cost me less than my Skoda to maintain. The real challenge, as GTO pointed out, is finding a truly well cared for example for less than 7 lakhs. Plan to spend another 3 lakhs to import original MB sourced parts, still available from the factory, to get your car to showroom fresh condition

Unlike all other cars that cost around 10 lakhs, the W124 will appreciate proportionate to what you spend to care for it going forward. All while giving you the prestige, ownership and driving pleasure only a classic Mercedes can. Fail to find a well cared for car, fully inspected by a Benz specialist, or to import original factory parts (no aftermarket crap) and your experience will definitely not be as favorable.

Last edited by Screwdriva : 25th August 2016 at 17:47.
Screwdriva is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th August 2016, 15:31   #19

Recognize one of the (six) fastest appreciating Mercedes Benz models?

For Indians, no other executive saloon is as well built, affordable to buy and maintain, prestigious, safe, classy and now...a sound investment decision. All you need to do is find a good one (they're out there!) and source original parts from MB, and it will last you a lifetime, while every other new car falls to pieces once the extended warranty runs out!
The Mercedes W124 E-Class Archive: Pics, Videos & Reviews-001_clc_517c.jpg  

Last edited by Screwdriva : 27th August 2016 at 15:41.
Screwdriva is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st September 2016, 01:00   #20
v12

An immaculate imported W124 for sale on our Classifieds.

http://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy-.../E-Class.html/

The Mercedes W124 E-Class Archive: Pics, Videos & Reviews-picture_175269.jpg
Old 1st September 2016, 13:01   #21

Amazing example! For our South Indian friends, here's another one, really well (and rare) spec'd with Self Leveling Suspension and AMG alloy wheels. If I didn't have my car, I'd buy this one in a heartbeat.

Last edited by Screwdriva : 1st September 2016 at 13:02.
Old 7th October 2016, 00:48   #22

I always wanted to buy a beautiful W 124, but I was hell scared of how it will be maintained here in Bangalore, I don't think we have 5% of the talent what Mumbai has to take care of this gem. Or rather anyone at all. For everything one needs to go to the official A.S.S. And I think they ain't good enough, they just import and replace stuff and charge you 3 times more than what it would actually cost otherwise, like @Screwdriva said cheaper to maintain than a Skoda. They [Sundaram Motors] just about do their job with my W211 [but they are not as bad as I heard about BMW n Audi in Bangalore]. I don't think any blue blooded W 124 worshiper goes to MB dealer A.S.S in Mumbai.
Old 7th October 2016, 02:50   #23

Originally Posted by zulfi hansi View Post
I always wanted to buy a beautiful W 124
You should get one. Believe me when I say this, maintaining one is easier and cheaper than maintaining any 2008+ Skoda. All you need is Mercedes Benz factory original parts. We have several folks here who have their parts shipped to India from the EU. Alternatively, if you know someone living in the EU/US, sourcing these parts is exceedingly simple (and cheap!). Owning a W123 or a W124 is a completely different experience than owning any other newer German car, including newer Mercedes cars i.e. stress free and very, very pleasurable.

After all, its one of only a handful of cars that will continue to appreciate in value, the more you spoil her. No new Mercedes, BMW or Audi can claim this.

Last edited by Screwdriva : 7th October 2016 at 03:07.
Old 7th October 2016, 12:59   #24

Originally Posted by Screwdriva View Post
You should get one. Believe me when I say this, maintaining one is easier and cheaper than maintaining any 2008+ Skoda. All you need is Mercedes Benz factory original parts. We have several folks here who have their parts shipped to India from the EU. Alternatively, if you know someone living in the EU/US, sourcing these parts is exceedingly simple (and cheap!). Owning a W123 or a W124 is a completely different experience than owning any other newer German car, including newer Mercedes cars i.e. stress free and very, very pleasurable.

After all, its one of only a handful of cars that will continue to appreciate in value, the more you spoil her. No new Mercedes, BMW or Audi can claim this.
I really appreciate your encouraging words. I am pleasantly surprised that getting parts from EU/US are cheaper! But then I don't know if I can manage to get the stuff on time. Nobody in EU. I hope to get from US and Canada if possible.

I did miss a great example about 2 years back which was registered in UP [Noida], but owned and used by a company in Bangalore, it was really well maintained, I just couldn't decide since getting the number changed to KA is a nightmare here in our RTOs.

What I am really concerned about is the non-availability of good MB mechanics in Bangalore. And the fact that most mechanics here only want to cheat you, even if they cannot do the job they still take the money and leave you hanging and your car rotting in their garage!

I am not sure how our Bangalore guys are managing though. Nonetheless, I am still open and if I see a well kept W124 E220, will certainly take the plunge. Please do let me know if you come across a car that you will certainly buy if you were in the market for one. Now I don't have the luxury to get a car only from Bangalore, there are hardly any left here. I am happy if I get a great car for not so crazy price anywhere in India.
Old 7th October 2016, 19:01   #25

Originally Posted by zulfi hansi View Post
Please do let me know if you come across a car that you will certainly buy if you were in the market for one.

^ If this is still available, you won't find one better. Ignore the asking price because this will continue to appreciate.

Instead, I would reach out to other Bangalore W124 owners (there are several on TBHP in the threads mentioned here) and ask for their guidance on how best to take care of this Uber tank. At the end it all, no other car sold in India is as gratifying under 10 lacs.
Old 8th October 2016, 16:03   #26

A Diesel with only 2 owners and extremely low miles available in Andheri, Mumbai.

Can't speak to the condition of the car but it looks like it is worth the investment at this price. Best to get it looked at by an experienced W124 specialist.

Old 10th October 2016, 00:05   #27

Love the period footage and music....No surprises here but (I think) the Mercedes won!

Last edited by Screwdriva : 10th October 2016 at 00:07.
Old 8th January 2017, 14:07   #28

Official MB Sales Training Video. Complete with History of Daimler Benz. A truly incredible watch that teaches all of us why Mercedes was the best car manufacturer in the world till it merged with Chrysler.

Old 10th January 2017, 22:15   #29

Old 11th January 2017, 01:36   #30

I just read through this thread. Watched the videos posted and then read things on the internet about it. I had heard about W124 being an iconic car but I never really knew why. It's been 3 hours since I have been reading on it. I am amazed by this car and been falling for it.
Then I started searching on the classified ads for it, found some really good deals and maintained cars around Delhi (One 1994 Limited Edition Model). We are looking to switch from my 2009 Swift Diesel and this car seems to be all that I want now. I had few doubts here. :-
1. Being a new gen guy, I would try to make few cosmetic changes which would be reversible and wouldn't really change the stock nature of this car. Would it be considered a disrespect of this legend?
2. Should I really go for it? What are the things I should consider?
3. Wouldn't the govt./SC banning old cars is going to be an issue for this car?

I am glad I found this thread. I would be able to respect it even more.

Last edited by kvsingh13 : 11th January 2017 at 01:43.