Old 30th September 2016, 10:28   #16

Re: Lexus starts importing the RX450h Hybrid SUV into India

Thanks for sharing!.
I don't know if its just me. I feel that the front end is a bit overdone design wise. Too many oblique lines and sharp angles.
It looks like the designer went overboard when drawing. But then its sounds a bit rich coming from an XUV owner (me)

I had a chance to drive my brother in laws RX300h sometime back and I must say its a butter smooth car and is a real pleasure to drive. Passengers will experience a luxurious quietness and comfort, matched only by a few.

The pricing will decide its success in India I guess, going by Toyota's previous CBU pricing history.

Cheerio!
alphadog is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th September 2016, 14:01   #17

Originally Posted by slamnos View Post
The taxes and excise are bigger impact, why isn't anyone blaming the Government for this?

The tax structures in each country have made a bigger impact, not the manufacturer alone.
My thoughts, exactly. Price any vehicle over Rs.10L and there will be a torch bearing mob ready to stomp all over you, at least that's how I feel sometimes.
India is a developing country with a car market that's in the preadolescent stage. Its not a market for RX450h. Lexus is a premier brand after all and will be priced accordingly. And I don't think Toyota is looking to sell 1000's of them. They will sell to a handful of people looking for the Lexus badge (and the associated refinement) and hybrid-credit.
Old 30th September 2016, 19:34   #18

I gave it some thought the other day, and came to a conclusion. Lexus could be a game changer in the Indian automotive Industry.

Bhpians have two major complaints with the Germans:
1. Their reliability
2. Their prices

But one big advantage they have is the sheer snob value.

Now looking at Lexus, their reliability is well known to everyone. These things usually end up outlasting their owners. I feel that snob value too shouldn't be a problem, because anyone is sure to have heard of Lexus, Acura and Infiniti. They can always adopt a top down strategy.

Now if they get the pricing right, with proper value for money offerings, they could seriously affect the sales of the Germans. Lexus is known for making comfortable cars, something Audi and Mercedes is known for. If you could get a Lexus which is just as good, with almost the same brand equity, do you really need a more expensive German car?

If the Lexus range starts at 40 lakhs for example, this might affect mass market manufacturers. The Accord is not long worth at 35, it might have to come down to 30. The Octavia then won't be value at 28 and might hover around 22, you get the idea.

But all said and done, Toyota usually over prices so one can only hope.
Old 30th September 2016, 23:13   #19

Saw a Lexus sedan LS450H in the endless Gurgaon traffic today, the car was DL registered.
However all excitement was killed when the driver started tossing out empty water bottles, torn up papers etc whenever the car came to a standstill in traffic!

It amazes me how people completely lack any civic sense!
DuHasstMich is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th October 2016, 18:25   #20

Re: Lexus - The Indian Challenge. EDIT: Launch confirmed for 2017

And now, NDTV Auto's spies capture the RX-450h at a Toyota stockyard.

Lexus starts importing the RX450h Hybrid SUV into India-lexusrx450hspotted_827x510_61475838902.jpg

Lexus starts importing the RX450h Hybrid SUV into India-lexusrx450hrearspotted_827x510_41475838998.jpg

Lexus starts importing the RX450h Hybrid SUV into India-lexusrx450hinteriorspotted_827x510_81475838951.jpg
RavenAvi is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 10th October 2016, 15:06   #21

Re: Lexus - The Indian Challenge. EDIT: Launch confirmed for 2017

Toyota’s luxury brand, Lexus is finally coming to India and will launch three models simultaneously.

1.Lexus RX450h - Currently in its fourth generation, this SUV will come to India in the RX450h guise. The Lexus RX450h will be powered by 3.5-litre V6 petrol motor coupled to Toyota’s Hybrid system, similar to the one in the Prius. The combined output will be 308hp mated to an e-CVT gearbox.

2.Lexus ES300h - The ES300h is based on the Camry sedan. It will be Lexus’ entry-ticket model in India. Like its RX cousin, it will also come to India in a hybrid guise.

3.Lexus LX450d/Lexus LX570
Globally, the LX SUV is the brand’s flagship model. Based on the mighty Toyota Land Cruiser, Lexus will bring in the LX570 petrol first with the diesel model joining in later

Last edited by volkman10 : 10th October 2016 at 15:10.
volkman10 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th October 2016, 18:02   #22

So it appears, initial lot has been given to existing Dealer owners
Lexus starts importing the RX450h Hybrid SUV into India-lexus.jpeg  

Turbanator is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 19th October 2016, 18:54   #23

That's a great angle to look at the car I like the brand for what it offers but there is simply no way I am getting near that thing unless I am walking my dog.
androdev is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th October 2016, 22:45   #24
P76

Happened to pass by one of Toyota's stockyard in Chennai, hoped to catch a glimpse of the new Fortuner, but saw this Lexus alongside the Toyotas

(Sorry about the quality and orientation of the photo)
Lexus starts importing the RX450h Hybrid SUV into India-dsc_03641.jpg  

Old 27th October 2016, 13:22   #25

Saw a Black specimen complete with KA registration, no pics unfortunately as it was in the opp lane and zoomed off. Superb road presence and the DRLs were striking. Neat lines all around.

So some lucky Dealer owner in KA as well!!
Old 27th October 2016, 13:40   #26

Originally Posted by uday.ere View Post
So some lucky Dealer owner in KA as well!!
I guess it might be of the Owner of Ravindu Toyota, which was the 1st Dealership in Karnataka & South India I guess.

They are one of the Top 5 Best Dealerships surveyed by Toyota India.

BHPians from Bangalore might start to see these Lexus Cars regularly now due to close proximity of the Plant.
Old 30th October 2016, 02:23   #27

Spotted the Lexus RX450h, this time in Hyderabad.

It was probably heading towards the airport. Sorry for the blurred image. Uploading it just to give you guys a size perspective.
Lexus starts importing the RX450h Hybrid SUV into India-imag1701.jpg  

Lexus starts importing the RX450h Hybrid SUV into India-imag1702.jpg  

Speedophobia is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th November 2016, 12:12   #28

Lexus RX 450h spotted in Delhi, first showrooms at Janpath & Gurgaon!

Their first offering seems to be this, the RX 450h Crossover which will carry a price tag of about a crore.
The Rx 450h was snapped by Ranojoy in Delhi recently.

Lexus starts importing the RX450h Hybrid SUV into India-fb_img_1479187638524_wm678x381.jpg
Lexus starts importing the RX450h Hybrid SUV into India-fb_img_1479187642382_wm.jpg

volkman10 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th November 2016, 12:31   #29

first showrooms at Janpath & Gurgaon!
Yes, but at an approximate price of Rs 1,35 Cr Ex-Showroom, these are dead before arrival. I will be surprised if they are able to do double digit number sales to actual customers ( they can definitely sell these to all of their dealers though ) One can buy a decently specced Porsche Cayenne, keep change in Bank FD for fuel and withdraw at end of 5 Years to cover part of depreciation when its time to sell. Unlike regular Toyota's I don't think Lexus will able to hold its value. Don't know who conceived the strategy for Lexus in India, in my opinion, they won't have a chance unless they start producing Hybrids in India.

Last edited by Turbanator : 15th November 2016 at 12:32.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks