Old 25th February 2017, 12:08   #106

Re: Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India

Spotted on the Manali-Chandigarh highway by YouTube user Rishabh Pandey.

RavenAvi is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th February 2017, 11:58   #107

Overdrive's sources indicate that the Jeep Compass could be launched at an introductory starting price of Rs 16 lakhs.

At this price the Compass will undercut the Hyundai Tucson by close to Rs 2 lakh. It may however be noted that the keyword here is ‘introductory’ and Jeep will increase the price of the Compass after a certain period.

The aggressive pricing is a result of Jeep’s decision to build the Compass at FCA’s sprawling Ranjangaon facility and localising most of the parts.

The Compass will be available in four trims- Sport, Longitude, Limited and Trailhawk. The latter will feature all the 4×4 bells and whistles, making it the most capable Compass for driving off-road. Jeep is expected to introduce the Compass with a 2-litre Multijet diesel that develops 165PS and 350Nm. The engine will be mated to either a six-speed manual or a 9-speed automatic, depending on the trim.
RavenAvi is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 27th February 2017, 12:37   #108

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
Overdrive's sources indicate that the Jeep Compass could be launched at an introductory starting price of Rs 16 lakhs.
Thats quite an undercut over Tuscon considering that Jeep is believed to have only the 2Liter diesel engine for India and Tuscon diesel range starts at over 21.5L.

Correct me if I'm wrong about the powertrain assumption of Compass.

Also the fact that the Trailhawk edition coming to India is nice! I'm looking forward for a sub 25L 4WD Jeep
Sks_Biker is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2017, 12:41   #109

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
If thats true, this is killer pricing! I can imagine even the likes of Creta getting hit to some extent given how the Jeep brand resonates in our minds. Plus, this one looks handsome to say the least. Now they should ensure that there are enough showrooms to sell these & that the service stays in line with expectations! There will be people who will definitely want to get this to do what it actually can which means there will be some real need for TLC. It will be such a wasted opportunity if they launch this without full preparations on all aspects and lose the opportunity to build the Jeep brand.

Last edited by Nilesh5417 : 27th February 2017 at 12:44.
Nilesh5417 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2017, 14:20   #110

Originally Posted by Sks_Biker View Post
Thats quite an undercut over Tuscon considering that Jeep is believed to have only the 2Liter diesel engine for India and Tuscon diesel range starts at over 21.5L.
In the interview with ACI, Kevin had clearly mentioned that the petrol motor will also be an option.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2017, 20:04   #111

Originally Posted by Sks_Biker View Post

Correct me if I'm wrong about the powertrain assumption of Compass.

Also the fact that the Trailhawk edition coming to India is nice! I'm looking forward for a sub 25L 4WD Jeep

I wonder whether their Top Spec Jeep Compass Trailhawk 4x4 will be actually priced at about 25 lac. Im sure it will be around 25 lac ex showroom BLR...

I would imagine that they will price that variant to compete directly with the Yeti, the Tucson and the CRV etc because the Jeep brand does certainly command that much value for sure.

Much as I hate to say it, I would be pleasantly surprised if that particular variant comes in at any less than 30 lacs on road.

But then, personally I would much rather be inclined for sure, to buy a real Jeep, even a Made in India Trailhawk Jeep in definite preference to the Tucson or CRV or similar.

Lets wait and watch...
shankar.balan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th February 2017, 11:41   #112

I wonder whether their Top Spec Jeep Compass Trailhawk 4x4 will be actually priced at about 25 lac. Im sure it will be around 25 lac ex showroom BLR...

I would imagine that they will price that variant to compete directly with the Yeti, the Tucson and the CRV etc because the Jeep brand does certainly command that much value for sure.

Much as I hate to say it, I would be pleasantly surprised if that particular variant comes in at any less than 30 lacs on road.

But then, personally I would much rather be inclined for sure, to buy a real Jeep, even a Made in India Trailhawk Jeep in definite preference to the Tucson or CRV or similar.

Lets wait and watch...
I have to agree , Trailhawk will be priced close to 30 lakhs on road considering the off-roading ability on offer in this version . It would still be a much capable vehicle & a much better choice than the Endeavour & Fortuner .However reliability is something which no one can vouch for in a Jeep .
Old 28th February 2017, 11:58   #113

Originally Posted by drift2race View Post
I have to agree , Trailhawk will be priced close to 30 lakhs on road considering the off-roading ability on offer in this version . It would still be a much capable vehicle & a much better choice than the Endeavour & Fortuner .However reliability is something which no one can vouch for in a Jeep .

I am sorry but did you mean Jeeps are not reliable?

Bharath
Old 2nd March 2017, 12:06   #114

From YouTube channel Trippers Cookers, whose spies have caught the Jeep Compass test mule in Pondicherry.

Shots include a clear interior pic.

RavenAvi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th March 2017, 03:01   #115

Finally I could spot a test mule in Hyderabad today morning at JNTU, Kukatpally area.

Pardon the picture clarity.
Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-img_20170308_085614.jpg  

Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-img_20170308_085615.jpg  

Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-img_20170308_085616.jpg  

Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-img_20170308_085619.jpg  

mrbaddy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th March 2017, 09:56   #116

This vehicle came to Hyderabad on 7 Match in the afternoon via NH 65. Presumably from Pune.
Old 9th March 2017, 14:50   #117

Car spotted parked under Metro Station, KPHB.

Thanks to my dear friend who spotted this car on way back to home and captured these for me.
Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-img20170309wa0013.jpg  

Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-img20170309wa0014.jpg  

Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-img20170309wa0016.jpg  

mrbaddy is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 9th March 2017, 19:07   #118

It would still be a much capable vehicle & a much better choice than the Endeavour & Fortuner
What makes you think like this? Wrangler is what competes with Fortuner / Everest ( Endeavour) elsewhere. Moderator Anshuman had this last month - check below links

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ex...ml#post4154091

& this for Endeavour recently

Last edited by Turbanator : 9th March 2017 at 19:10.
Turbanator is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 10th March 2017, 09:08   #119

What makes you think like this? Wrangler is what competes with Fortuner / Everest ( Endeavour) elsewhere. Moderator Anshuman had this last month - check below links

& this for Endeavour recently
Off Topic: Is that your new Endeavour? Does it have any damage at the bottom due to beaching? Did you inspect after this?

Did you do this on Sand mode?

Last edited by nareshtrao : 10th March 2017 at 09:21.
Old 10th March 2017, 09:24   #120

Is that your new Endeavour? Does it have any damage at the bottom due to beaching
yes. Nothing, it's soft sand so the truck was sitting comfortably and got pulled easily with little efforts. It was probably let down by an inexperienced driver (me).

I used Sand mode, I think it holds gears longer and RPM's are little higher as well. I might get rid of the foot boards and get some customised sliders if this hobby continues, all thanks to our NCR members - Anshuman & Rohit
Turbanator is offline   (3) Thanks