Team-BHP > The Indian Car Scene

View Poll Results: Would it be the after sales/reliability or the product satisfaction?
After sale/reliability 174 49.57%
Product satisfaction 177 50.43%
Voters: 351. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 4th December 2016, 15:46   #1
Distinguished - BHPian

Product vs After-sales: If you had to pick one?

A very warm hello to all bhpians out there.

I have been monitoring the Indian car scene for about 4 years now and it's only now that I understand the prominence of after sales when it comes to products.

NOTE:No offence to any owners of any particular car brand by means of this thread.

Believe it or not I have been through almost every official review on team bhp and have often noticed how people perceive cars on the basis of after sales. While some are ready to put up with the shoddy A.S.S for the sake of their cars (ala Volkswagen or Fiat); others play safe and opt for reliable cars and choose to go with trusted brands(Maruti, Honda and Toyota).

The thing is, with ever increasing complexity of cars and Indian road conditions, even cerain reliable auto giants have started to faulter in their very own game. There have been numerous quality niggles about known brands like the Toyota Innova and the Honda city when it comes to manufacturing processes.

My question is, with the reliability of any car still hanging in the balance due to the sheer number of parts involved, shall the customer sight after sales as a deal breaker or a deal maker?

So, would it be a fun to drive Volkswagen Jetta with an equally shoddy after sales, or a more reliable Toyota corolla altis which gets the job done?

I would love to hear what fellow bhpians have to say on this....

Regards,
Vishy76

Last edited by vishy76 : 4th December 2016 at 16:00.
vishy76 is online now   (17) Thanks
Old 4th December 2016, 15:55   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

re: Product vs After-sales: If you had to pick one?