Old 15th August 2020, 13:07   #1171

re: The 2020 next-gen Mahindra Thar : Driving report on page 86

Originally Posted by Kannan View Post
One question, do both the petrol and diesel are naturally aspirated or do they have some kind of turbocharger?
The Petrol one is a Turbo GDI engine.
The Diesel for sure will be Turbo as well.

Last edited by Sheel : 15th August 2020 at 14:59. Reason: Diesal = Diesel. Please proof read posts before submitting. Thanks.
Artyom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2020, 13:08   #1172

Wow!! What a great looking vehicle. Really loved that Grey shade.
Kudos to Mahindra
Eagerly waiting for the pricing details.
Ranjith812 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th August 2020, 13:11   #1173

here is the reveal video from M&M's Youtube channel, i have to say this Thar is looking good. Im a bit uncertain about the front look

Ksingh544 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th August 2020, 13:15   #1174

New thar announcement on Facebook :
The 2020 next-gen Mahindra Thar : Driving report on page 86-img_20200815_131339.jpg  

Akash.D is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2020, 13:16   #1175

Anant Motors in Bangalore are gladly accepting bookings. I made a small payment and they confirmed to put me in queue as soon as the official bookings open.

Though I prefer Petrol over diesel, the mStallion engine seems like a new offering and the power figures are mediocre. I might end up with LX Diesel with Auto transmission, though I don't know the power output of Diesel for now. Any guess what would diesel specs be ?
harishpr is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th August 2020, 13:19   #1176

Wow! What a beauty. This will surely catch the attention of non (off-road/Jeep/Thar) enthusiasts as well instead of appealing to mainly off-road enthusiasts. This one is going to have a good waiting period.

The relatively ugly front grill seems to be a deliberate attempt of evading the accusation of copy paste job/comparison with Jeep Wrangler's front. I feel this is going to be the most common mod (perhaps the only mod, too) done on this Thar. Rest of it looks premium and Wrangler like.

I hope the price is sensible and in sync with the real world trends, and Mahindra does not get carried away with the kind of response this vehicle is generating.

Good Luck Thar v3.
PaddleShifter is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2020, 13:20   #1177

Originally Posted by harishpr View Post
Anant Motors in Bangalore are gladly accepting bookings. I made a small payment and they confirmed to put me in queue as soon as the official bookings open.

Though I prefer Petrol over diesel, the mStallion engine seems like a new offering and the power figures are mediocre. I might end up with LX Diesel with Auto transmission, though I don't know the power output of Diesel for now. Any guess what would diesel specs be ?
I guess diesel will have a 300Nm torque with peak output of 97kW or 130bhp. This is from the screenshots provided at https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post4864804 by Venkatesh.
Kannan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2020, 13:21   #1178

Looks like Mahindra has got everything right except the front grill.

Now I have to decide, where am I putting my money. Do I need an EV for commute or a THAR for adventure?

Also do I need a third car when we are in lock down for an indefinite time.

I must admit, my heart is on THAR. Have to get my head close enough to heart, and that would mean my better half agreeing to an expensive toy.

Last edited by SDP : 16th August 2020 at 07:40. Reason: Typos
Old 15th August 2020, 13:22   #1179

Did some "Homework" -
The 2020 next-gen Mahindra Thar : Driving report on page 86-image_20200815_131839.png

All "?" are not explicitly mentioned in the unveil, but am assuming will be there.
Looking at these variant mapping, the LX should not be priced too apart.

My guess -
10L to 13L for the AX bare-bone diesel to AX OPT Convertible. I expect Diesel and Petrol to be priced almost at par
13 to 14.5 for the LX, with a 1 Lakh premium for the Automatic and half a Lakh for the Convertible.

Speculations Galore!

EDIT: By the way, I spoke to the showroom in Coimbatore. The cars are not here yet, expected around the time of launch. Unofficial bookings are being taken at 50k, but no clarity on refund rules. "38 bookings have been made" - pinch of salt takes it down to 10 - still good response!

Will this be my mid-life crisis buy?

Last edited by SDP : 16th August 2020 at 07:43. Reason: Changed VX -> LX
ph03n!x is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 15th August 2020, 13:25   #1180

This is going to be India's Bronco Mod potential on this is going to be astonishing. Hope I convince my dad to swap his swift for this Going to be hard to go for a desi brand after burning our pocket with a Tata, hope they have done enough testing and get know-how from their countless JV.

This could easily do 3K plus units even if priced on par with cars like Seltos.
giri1.8 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th August 2020, 13:25   #1181

Wow . Looks brilliant overall. Now I am tempted but got my Nexon just 2 yrs back!

If the comfort in backseat and the rust related issues are taken care off, then the New Thar is a no brainer and will attract a lot more customers than ‘Jeep’ folks
charanreddy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2020, 13:30   #1182

Originally Posted by Kannan View Post
I guess diesel will have a 300Nm torque with peak output of 97kW or 130bhp. This is from the screenshots provided at https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post4864804 by Venkatesh.
Thanks Kannan and Venkatesh. I read that petrol engine is more powerful than diesel! I don't know what the impact on fuel economy and the general market acceptance of petrol engines from Mahindra's stable!
During autoexpo, the mStallion's 2.0 was suppose to go upto 190bhp!
150bhp with 320nm is still quite powerful.

With all goodwill built, lot depends on the pricing. Hope the introductory prices are sensible.
Old 15th August 2020, 13:32   #1183

This thread has exploded since the reveal and it hasn't even been 2 hours. Goes out to say how our Indian Manufacturers are enticing us, enthusiasts, with their upcoming products. The Thar is no disappointment rather feels like a highly positive leap in the lifestyle vehicle niche.

What I like:
1. Simple yet functional interior layout fitted with the important features rather than throwing unnecessary gadgetry at it.
2. The color palette offered by Mahindra. Great spread. Everyone will find a colour which will suit their choice. I personally love the Red Rage shade which was revealed.
3. Design, tastefully mixed the old Thar's rugged persona with a modern athletic stance. On the contrary, I rather like the smaller grill. The open roll cage look is heart smothering.
4. Engines, no downsizing for our home boy's engine line-up for the Thar. The de-tuning step for the 2.0 mStallion engine is justified since the 190 bhp mark pushes it more to the expensive spectrum. 150Bhp with 320NM is enough to put a smile on most of our faces.
5. Plane style toggle switches beneath the AC controls. Adding onto the cool factor.
6. Appropriate badging around the car. I like the fact that Mahindra names its engine.
7. Price (Will know on 02/10/2020)

What I don't like:
1. The wheel offering on the AX variant. R16 is a bit too small. R17 would have been a better choice. But I guess most buyers will just swap it with the R18 from the LX variant.
2. For the AX variant, the side-facing or front-facing rear seats should be a choice instead of an add-on option.
3. Even though I love the looks, the bumper and few claddings look slightly too plasticky for my liking.
4. Price (Will know on 02/10/2020)

Mahindra has done the right thing by treating the Thar as a lifestyle vehicle and giving it the necessary beans which makes it what it is. Great engines to choose from. We won't feel under-powered regardless of the engine choice. The asking price of 17 Lakhs INR for the top-end petrol is justified since it is no people mover and shall be bought by the true-bred enthusiasts.

This reveal has made me even more excited for the upcoming 2021 XUV5OO.

Last edited by SDP : 16th August 2020 at 07:49. Reason: Typo and little bit of formatting
Gixxy.danger is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th August 2020, 13:32   #1184

New Thar in all its glory. Take your pic(k)
Uday

Source : https://auto.mahindra.com/suv/thar

The 2020 next-gen Mahindra Thar : Driving report on page 86-20200815_132600.jpg

The 2020 next-gen Mahindra Thar : Driving report on page 86-20200815_132630.jpg

The 2020 next-gen Mahindra Thar : Driving report on page 86-20200815_132353.jpg

The 2020 next-gen Mahindra Thar : Driving report on page 86-20200815_132424.jpg

The 2020 next-gen Mahindra Thar : Driving report on page 86-20200815_132453.jpg

The 2020 next-gen Mahindra Thar : Driving report on page 86-20200815_132514.jpg

Detailed specifications here : https://auto.mahindra.com/suv/thar/s...tions-features
The 2020 next-gen Mahindra Thar : Driving report on page 86-thar-diesel.jpg
The 2020 next-gen Mahindra Thar : Driving report on page 86-thar-petrol.jpg

Last edited by uday.ere : 15th August 2020 at 13:52.
uday.ere is offline   (32) Thanks
Old 15th August 2020, 13:34   #1185

Any reason a Petrol Manual option is not going to be provided in LX model? Was looking forward to "think" of buying that configuration if at all the stars are aligned. Now

Though AX has a petrol manual/hard top/front facing option pack, it looks like is going to loose lot of cool/cosmetic features that LX provides plus tyre size.