Old 29th March 2017, 20:20   #61

Re: The predicament of 900,000 unsold BS-III vehicles

Originally Posted by AltoLXI View Post
What will happen to the old cars that are BS-III? The ruling says cars sold before March 31st can be registered. Pardon my ignorance but can fuel meant for BS-IV vehicles be used in BS-III vehicles?
Existing BS3 vehicles will run perfectly fine on BS4 fuel. BS4 fuels are backwards compatible to vehicle certified for earlier emission regulations. The same would be true for BS6 fuel on BS4 vehicles in the future.

Unless the regulatory bodies would come back with another blanket ban on vehicles based on age etc, the existing BS3 vehicles would ply on as normal.
avinash_clt is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 20:25   #62

A quick question; how do I check if my Suzuki access 125 is bs3 or bs4?
zhopudey is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 20:48   #63

Originally Posted by zhopudey View Post
If it is a new vehicle, you can ask for 'FORM 22: INITIAL CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE WITH POLLUTION STANDARDS, SAFETY STANDARDS OF COMPONENTS AND ROAD-WORTHINESS'. This is issued by the manufacturer and requires them to explicitly mention emission certification.

The predicament of 900,000 unsold BS-III vehicles-form-22-snippet.jpg

Two wheeler manufacturers have started rolling out BS4 units only recently as the country didn't require BS4 norms of two wheelers in the same line as that of cars. For already registered vehicles, details are usually mentioned in the RC of the veicle, but again this practice varies between and within RTOs.
File Type: pdf Form 22 sample - Kerala MVD.pdf (86.7 KB, 1159 views)
avinash_clt is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 20:59   #64

As I suspected, automobile companies plan to export unsold BS-III stock
http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/bus...k-2249225.html

1) Amazing Fact: BS-III vehicles cause 80% more pollution than BS-IV vehicles

2) The current unsold inventory is now 6 to 7 lakh units, with 85% of them being two wheelers. Rest are CVs.

3) Passenger cars & SUVs are negligible in the unsold lot.

4) The above vehicles can still be sold in countries of Middle East, Africa and Bangladesh

5) Tata Motors has an inventory of 30,000 CVs while Ashok Leyland has an inventory of 96,000 CVs.

6) Bajaj Auto has close to zero BS-III 3 wheelers in its inventory

7) Hero Motocorp has an inventory of 220,000 BS-III two wheelers worth Rs. 1600 crores

Last edited by SmartCat : 29th March 2017 at 21:07.
SmartCat is online now   (9) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 21:08   #65

Originally Posted by zhopudey View Post
A simple method to check your vehicle : Check if the headlamp switch is present or not.
The BS4 vehicles are coming with AHO ( Always Headlamp On ) feature.
fz_rider is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 21:11   #66

Originally Posted by fz_rider View Post
A simple method to check your vehicle : Check if the headlamp switch is present or not.
The BS4 vehicles are coming with AHO ( Always Headlamp On ) feature.
I got my scooter just this Sunday, but it does not have AHO. I'll check in form 22 as suggested by avinash.
zhopudey is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 22:22   #67

Does the 2017 face lifted Honda City comply to BS4 emission norms? Appreciate a quick response from the forum.
SMSP is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 22:46   #68

Supreme Court has banned sale of BS3 vehicles beyond march 31st and not registration of BS3 vehicles beyond march 31st.

According to what i heard, some CV manufacturers have found convenient solutions to this problem. On the bill, the date of purchase will be mentioned as March 30/31st for purchases beyond that date. Even the chassis which will be bought on April 1st will have date as March 31st !!!
n_naik is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 22:47   #69

I read that registration can be completed post Apr 01, if the sale is done by Mar 31. Please do google for the details.
Could you please share the link? I tried googling but didnt find any info like that. Everywhere it says registration is banned.

My brother just got an Activa 3G 2 weeks back which is due for registration. Would it be rendered a dead investment if the formalities aren't over by 31st March.That would be blasphemous as lots of people are buying two wheelers due to the ongoing discounts

Last edited by SoumenD : 29th March 2017 at 22:48.
SoumenD is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 23:12   #70

Originally Posted by SoumenD View Post
Could you please share the link? I tried googling but didnt find any info like that. Everywhere it says registration is banned.
Here you are :
http://www.business-standard.com/art...2900499_1.html

The order, for which the reasons will be supplied on a later date, further stated that “all the vehicle-registering authorities under the Motor Vehicles Act are prohibited from registering such vehicles on and from 1st April, 2017 that do not meet BS-IV emission standards, except on proof that such a vehicle has already been sold on or before 31st March, 2017”.
n_naik is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 23:35   #71

Originally Posted by n_naik View Post
Supreme Court has banned sale of BS3 vehicles beyond march 31st and not registration of BS3 vehicles beyond march 31st.

According to what i heard, some CV manufacturers have found convenient solutions to this problem. On the bill, the date of purchase will be mentioned as March 30/31st for purchases beyond that date. Even the chassis which will be bought on April 1st will have date as March 31st !!!
The ban is total by the apex court on the sale and registrations (vide these news links) of brand new non-BS IV motor vehicles of all categories, throughout the country.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-...s38BSyjrI.html

http://www.livemint.com/Politics/ij1...m-1-April.html

So the question of any predated sale is perhaps ruled out. Upon reading the full judgement, the facts will be clear. The apex court is very much in the know of the exact terminology to be used in such cases, so that loopholes are neither created , nor used by one and all. Hence, it is likely that the judgement has also banned registrations of pre BS IV motor vehicles.

The state registering authorities (RTO'S) may work overtime during the two remaining days to clear as much rush as possible.

The last I had read was that the vehicle manufacturers were also mulling possibilities of exports to non BS IV compliant countries,where some of them have a market for their products.

Last edited by anjan_c2007 : 30th March 2017 at 00:01.
anjan_c2007 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 23:49   #72

Originally Posted by SMSP View Post
Does the 2017 face lifted Honda City comply to BS4 emission norms? Appreciate a quick response from the forum.
Yes it does, do not worry.
Eddy is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 30th March 2017, 00:07   #73

Originally Posted by n_naik View Post
Thank you. Just found the PDF version online as well. So it has to be purchased on or before 31st March,2017.

2017-03-29_1490776942 (1).pdf

Damn, wish I had the moolah handy. Could have got some really sweet deal

Originally Posted by SMSP View Post
Definitely does. My 2010 Estilo is BS IV. Car manufacturing companies switched to BS4 long back. Its the two wheeler industry that's hit due to their lethargy/reluctance to update till the last moment.

Last edited by SoumenD : 30th March 2017 at 00:10.
SoumenD is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th March 2017, 00:37   #74

Hey Guys any idea if BMW, MB, Audi and JLR are having BSIII cars left over, I am sure you will get crazy discounts on those. I'd love to make a decision for those in 2 days. 50% off anybody
zulfi hansi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th March 2017, 02:41   #75

Originally Posted by zulfi hansi View Post
Hey Guys any idea if BMW, MB, Audi and JLR are having BSIII cars left over, I am sure you will get crazy discounts on those. I'd love to make a decision for those in 2 days. 50% off anybody
If you can find a 7-8 year old car still lying in dealer/manufacturer stocks, you could . Most passenger cars have switched to BS4 since 2010 itself. Unlike two wheelers, non-BS4 passengers cars were not allowed to be registered since April 2010 - starting off initially with NCR+ 13 majors cities, increasing to 39 cities by 2014, close to 50 cities by 2015. At the same time BS4 fuel availability became broader across the country.

As a thumb rule, all passenger vehicles, made after 2010 and having a common rail diesel engine or a petrol engine are likely to be BS4. There were a few exception of vehicles with CRDI and BS3 (introduced pre-2010) that continued sales and registration in BS3 RTOs. For most models, there wasn't a case for OEMs to have both BS4 and BS3 inventory as the former became mandated across more and more cities/states.

Those remaining BS3 passenger vehicles are most likely ones with old school mechanical diesel fuel injection systems (namely certain models from Tata, Mahindra, Force Motors). These vehicles owing to their lesser cost, robustness to fuel adulteration and ease of repairs outside authorised dealer workshops continued to be bought by commercial operators and those in the rural market.
avinash_clt is offline   (4) Thanks