Re: Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs

Surat dealer has 200 + bookings.
Old 5th August 2017, 12:33   #1682

Did he say March 2018 or March 2019?
Originally Posted by balan View Post
Just spoke to my friend working in jeep showroom in south Tamilnadu.
They have 60+ bookings already.
The bookings from hill / estate areas are all for 2 wheel drives. He said all the estate guys who book 4x4 prefer manual transmission.
He has asked me to wait till Renegade comes next March as I need a 4x4 on a lesser budget.
bhpfaninblr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th August 2017, 12:33   #1683

Originally Posted by OSH View Post
Now, when they come back and find out that Hexa offers much more at a lower price range of 11.99 - 17.49 lakhs(ex-showroom) their opinion about the Hexa may change, won't it be in favour of Tata then ?
Revised price post GST starts from 10.95 to 16.23 lakhs.
Old 5th August 2017, 12:53   #1684

Originally Posted by balan View Post
Just spoke to my friend working in jeep showroom in south Tamilnadu.
They have 60+ bookings already.
The bookings from hill / estate areas are all for 2 wheel drives. He said all the estate guys who book 4x4 prefer manual transmission.
He has asked me to wait till Renegade comes next March as I need a 4x4 on a lesser budget.
My guess is that Renegade's main competition will be from the Next-Gen Mahindra Thar, which is expected to be launched around the same time.

If FCA follow the same pricing formula used in the case of the Compass, M&M will really have a fight on it's hands. Anyway, the consumer will be the beneficiary.
Zezé is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 5th August 2017, 13:02   #1685

Originally Posted by bhpfaninblr View Post
Did he say March 2018 or March 2019?
He said by Jan 2018 it will be announced and released by Mar 18
Old 5th August 2017, 15:59   #1686

Originally Posted by abhi1881 View Post
Any update on 25K Accessories details, also 10k handling charges? Limited(O) is already fully loaded, what else they are providing for 25K?
Please suggest guys. I am told by Landmark jeep Delhi(Mathura Road) that the 25k accessories and first year insurance are compulsory.
As I am applying via company lease, insurance is managed by my organization only. The sales guy is not even bothering and being firm on this, even though I mentioned this as show stopper for my purchase. Most of the accessories are pretty use less for me.
Looks like these guys have took the exceptional response on their head, not even keen on responding. Really frustrating dealership experience with such a wonderful car, its been more than a month I booked top spec 4*4 Diesel Limited(O)).

Is not just about money, but the attitude and playing with customer sentiments. I will be going ahead with Fortuner if this is not resolved.

Last edited by abhi1881 : 5th August 2017 at 16:04.
Old 5th August 2017, 16:34   #1687

25k accessories and first year insurance are compulsory.

Is not just about money, but the attitude and playing with customer sentiments.
Completely agree with you - dont give in to the dealership.
However I would try the following

1. Call the tollfree and ask for somebody to call you back for problem resolution.
2. Post the same on their facebook page if there is no response.
3. I could not find any email id on the website to write directly to FCA - so if you know any ids - write directly.

BUT THE ONE WHICH CAN GIVE A RESULT and can be done asap

is call up the Bombay office at Tel: +91 022 39462600 or if you know the Delhi office number -

Ask to speak to the regional sales head north - ask for the mobile number - and ask him to resolve this.

I had done this during my 3rd purchase - had issues with the local dealers and needed intervention.

I think his name might be Abhay Kudeshia = abhay.kudeshia@fcagroup.com

you can try writing to this mail id and ask him to call you back / write to you or call up FCA office and ask if this person still work at FCA and ask for his number.

Last edited by noopster : 5th August 2017 at 18:44.
PM - B is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th August 2017, 17:20   #1688

Please suggest guys. I am told by Landmark jeep Delhi(Mathura Road) that the 25k accessories and first year insurance are compulsory.

Is not just about money, but the attitude and playing with customer sentiments. I will be going ahead with Fortuner if this is not resolved.
This is pathetic, please inform Jeep India and the FCA directly on this. Do not give in to such tactics of the dealer.
Finally FCA/Jeep has a good car on their hands and they will ruin the chances of making an impact in the market by such unscrupulous tactics of their dealers.

Jeep India has to come down heavily on such dealers to ensure goodwill and faith among the buyers.

The success and pricing of Compass has gone to the heads of the dealers in Bangalore as well. No calls or follow up from KHT even after repeated attempts to get a test drive or further information.
speedmiester is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th August 2017, 18:05   #1689

Brings back the memory of mine when i bought XUV 500 way back in 2011. Faced same issue that you cant buy insurance from outside. Stood my ground. Tweeted Anand Mahindra, mailed whatever email ID's I could find for the top guys. Result, within few days dealer himself called me back and begged me to take the car

So hold your ground. Mail top guys, tweet and post on FB.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 5th August 2017 at 21:32. Reason: Typos. Tweeted and tweet.
nitinralli is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th August 2017, 18:09   #1690

Originally Posted by wordsworth View Post
Booked a Petrol limited (O). But now confused whether to go for 4x4 manual.

Petrol: Automatic as drive mainly in Gurgaon traffic which is only going to increase in coming 5 years. However, no review / TD of petrol variant. Further, landmark is saying delivery in mid November.
Diesel: 6 airbags. 4x4 for that leh trip with friends (though only in theory). Powerful engine. Within the month delivery.

We will be keeping a driver for the weekdays and running is under 1k per month. Can't wait for diesel automatic as need delivery at the earliest.

Inputs please
Congratulations on your booking sir.

Since you've already booked a Compass Automatic, I assume that you might've test driven the 1.4 ltr Turbo-Petrol Automatic variant. Your insights on the experience will be of immense help for me to zero on a Compass as I haven't found any reviews of the automatic compass.

Secondly agree with all the bhpians that Jeep has been stingy on offering us the option of 6-Airbags on all the high-end trims. It is sheer stupidity on FCA's part on not offering extra airbags on other high-end counterparts. Customers paying 20+ lacs OTR for the high-end variants are seriously pissed off because of this omission. Hope FCA realizes this at the earliest and do the needful.

Varun
Old 5th August 2017, 18:25   #1691

Did anyone had any encounter with Compass Petrol model?

Looks like dealers are having only Diesel models for test drive.

One of my friend is interested (very positive) in buying a compass, it will be mainly for city rides. His monthly running will be less, hence I suggested for the petrol model. 160 BHP power with 250 nm of torque, not bad at all for a petrol car. However Kolkata dealer does not have any petrol model for test drive. Booked a test drive on Monday with diesel, and I will be his test driver .

Any experience / thoughts will be highly appreciated.

Sail
Old 5th August 2017, 18:27   #1692

There is a sea change in dealer attitude. All the pre-price announcement courtesies are gone. Visited WSL Automobiles Private Limited, Mohali, Chandigarh, today. Was not attended by anyone for 20 minutes, despite it not being crowded. Giggling executives saying sweet nothings to each other behind the counters but none interested in greeting or making a sale. Reminiscent of my Ford visit in their hay days. Had to leave in a huff.
Caesar is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th August 2017, 19:23   #1693

Originally Posted by Varun_HexaGuy View Post

Since you've already booked a Compass Automatic

Originally Posted by Sail View Post

Did anyone had any encounter with Compass Petrol model?

Petrol automatic will be available for test drive in September end or early October. This is what i am being told by landmark jeep in mumbai. I also have booked it and waiting car to be available for test drive.
sagpatel is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th August 2017, 20:39   #1694

Had some time, so went over to the Jeep Showroom earlier today. They had 6 models on display and all colours except the Blue. Deliveries expected to start from 10th whereas bookings made today may have a waiting of 4-6 weeks for Diesel. Petrol (both manual and auto) would start Oct onwards.

The gleaming Red Longitude Optional variant on display. This gets the DRL+ Projectors.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_3547.jpg

The glistening Black Limited variant.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-20170805_185246.jpg

I was told by the friendly sales advisor that the Limited 4X4 Option is not available on Black (since the only other feature on this variant is the HID lamps). Would have been a good idea to get a grey/silver roofing for the Black

Few pics of the Sport variant. Note the regular headlights and absence of fog lamps.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_3558.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_3559.jpg

The Wheels across the variants - Sport, Longitude and Limited.

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-20170805_185732.jpg
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-20170805_185603.jpg
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-20170805_185824.jpg

There is a nifty placement of the VIN - visible through the windshield. Note the ugly windshield washers placed on the bonnet (an eyesore on an otherwise clean design).
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_3548.jpg

The non-LED tail lights on the lower variants. Pretty stylish inner elements I must say.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-20170805_185214.jpg

The staff was very courteous and knowledgeable. Despite being told that I was keen only on the Diesel Auto, they showed around the vehicles and exhorted me to take a TD of the Manual to get a feel of the driving dynamics. Most of the TD experiences shared by fellow BHPians were evident in my TD as well. Pulls cleanly in all gears, smooth shifting, chunky steering is a delight, weighs up well with speed. Then the realization that there is a tiny element I would need to get used to if this joins my garage, while taking a U-turn, I non-nonchalantly flicked the right side stalk to activate the indicator and what happened was the wipers woke from their slumber and took a single swipe of the windscreen. Then I realized that this an American and it has its stalks reversed - right side for wipers and left side for indicators. Will need to keep that in mind

Few random pics from the showroom.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_3544.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_3553.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_3556.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-20170805_185451.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_3550.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_3551.jpg  

Last edited by uday.ere : 5th August 2017 at 20:57.
uday.ere is online now   (39) Thanks
Old 5th August 2017, 21:33   #1695

Happened to visit the FCA showroom in Domlur, Bangalore today. I was greeted by a cheerful sales representative outside the showroom who offered to park my car. His other colleague was also busy directing the visitors to park their cars appropriately. Both of them looked excited by so many footfalls. Good start I thought, to see the guys welcome us.

However, the scene inside was quite different. Couldn't find a single sales rep who could help the visitors with the details around the car. They kept popping in an out of the area. The place was quite crowded as expected. Clearly the staff looked overwhelmed and at times surprised by the number of people around. Guess they are not used to seeing such crowd.

There was just one Red Longitude model on display which looked like getting mauled by the excited visitors. Had to stand in a queue near the driver's door just get into the car! Excitement was quite palpable. There was one Black wrangler and wine red Grand Cherokee SRT which were also attracting few eyeballs.

After some wait I managed to have a quick chat with the lady at the reception, who was busy hammering the keyboard to record the requests for test drives. She said that there no petrol on offer at the moment. It will be available in October at the earliest. All TD vehicles are Diesel ones. She also had no clue about when the Diesel AT would arrive. Got hold of the price list and sales brochure. Looking at the long queue I decided not go for the TD.

My impressions about the car which is Rs 20.68 lakhs on road Bangalore. This is just based on what I saw:

-The car is quite a looker from the front.
-Build quality appeared solid.
-Good visibility from the front seat.
-All disc brakes.
-Liked the design of the MID.

Dislikes

- Fabric seats on a car that costs 20 big ones.
- Dummy buttons on the steering wheel was big eyesore, especially at this price point
- The space at the back is quite limited, given there is a substantial floor hump. Strictly for 4 adults.

Other Points:

1. The car looks quite unassuming from the rear. It blends in with the crowd. Doesn't have much of a road presence if viewed from the back. However, front view stands apart.

2. Clutch appeared quite light when pressed. Not sure how it feels while driving.

3. Steering felt nice to hold.

4. Plastic quality was ok.

5. Boot size appeared decent.

Performance, ride & handling aside, just purely going by the dimensions of the car and features available at this price point, which are key criteria for mass buyers, there may not be too many takers for this particular model. For other models may be Yes. I don't see too many Innova, XUV or even Creta buyers getting swayed towards Compass. May be I am wrong here but this my hunch. Of course, One TD can change all of that

But definitely Jeep Compass has managed to grab the attention of people. Whether it will translate into sales numbers, only time will tell.

Below are some pictures that i managed to click from my phone. Please excuse the quality of pics.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-intex-aqua-trend_20170805_193502min.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-intex-aqua-trend_20170805_150915min.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-intex-aqua-trend_20170805_151410min.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-intex-aqua-trend_20170805_152041min.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-intex-aqua-trend_20170805_152024min.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-intex-aqua-trend_20170805_152927min.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-intex-aqua-trend_20170805_152246min.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-intex-aqua-trend_20170805_152159min.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-intex-aqua-trend_20170805_152307min.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-intex-aqua-trend_20170805_153445min.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-intex-aqua-trend_20170805_151533min.jpg  

champ27 is offline   (19) Thanks