Old 20th August 2017, 23:55   #1936

Re: Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs

One review item that I am looking forward to is the braking, ride quality and cornering ability on the sport variant with 16" setup. If it is deemed on par, i could just replace the stylized steel rims with 16" alloys (looks identical to the 17" alloys on LIMITED) provided by the dealer at 17,500 per wheel! Pride Motors, Hyderabad didn't have a Sport variant TD, so i couldn't check this out.
paliontile is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2017, 01:51   #1937

Guys I'm in the market for a Jeep Compass. Can anyone provide me a small feedback on the drive feel of 4x4 variant?
Old 21st August 2017, 06:14   #1938

Originally Posted by BUXX View Post
Clearly nowhere in the same price bracket , but lets compare them anyways !
How and why? You're comparing a vehicle that is almost a decade old in its life cycle (heck the platform must be older) to something as modern as this Jeep. I don't see how they can be compared at all.

On road price for a Renault 4x4 in Bangalore was a shade over 17 lacs in December 2016. Taxes are higher in this city and this will reflect across the board. You can knock off two lacs and I still see no good reason to buy one. Unless off course you are the off road kind which then brings in to question something truly off road that can be had for almost 50% off the Renault's price!
sandeepmohan is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 21st August 2017, 10:10   #1939

^^ Exactly the point .

Why should these two be compared is a mystery to me. No one is denying the pull that Compass has, but to hop & skip segment to compare as per convenience, is a tad too much.

If 5-6Lacs/ 50% budget overhead is nothing , Compass could be compared to Santa Fe /Tiguan- where does it stand then?
Old 21st August 2017, 12:51   #1940

According to the NHTSA website the Compass variants with 6 airbags have just a 3 Star rating I wonder what safety will the 2 airbag version get?
Old 21st August 2017, 13:12   #1941

Eagerly waiting for the official T-BHP review. Anyone got an idea when would that be happening?

Thank you.
Old 21st August 2017, 13:21   #1942

Originally Posted by skler View Post
According to the NHTSA website the Compass variants with 6 airbags have just a 3 Star rating I wonder what safety will the 2 airbag version get?
https://www.nhtsa.gov/vehicle/2017/JEEP/COMPASS/SUV/4WD
https://www.nhtsa.gov/vehicle/2017/JEEP/COMPASS/SUV/FWD

The current tests that are available on the NHTSA site are for the previous generation 2017 Jeep Compass

and not for

The current generation 2017 Jeep Compass

Hence Not Applicable !
PM - B is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2017, 15:03   #1943

One week update.

Had to drive it much more than expected. Had taken in a full tank right after leaving the showroom. Took another full tank last night. Total distance traveled(790 - 35). Total diesel taken in last night = 46.7. Mileage ~ 16. This is 75% highway and 25% city.

Car of course is a head turner. Be ready for test drive requests if you are getting one early.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-bhp.jpg  

ashishs is offline   (24) Thanks
Old 21st August 2017, 15:27   #1944

Originally Posted by ashishs View Post
One week update.
IIRC you have the Sport variant, right?

Can you post a few images of the headlight output? Thanks in advance.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2017, 16:06   #1945
jpm

Re: To be added to Jeep Compass

Thanks for the detailed pics ecenandu!
Originally Posted by ecenandu View Post
[center]
Tire pressure
Attachment 1668065
390Kg in total including passengers + luggage?

Doesnt this seem too low? I myself touch a 100kg on my bad days! Now that leaves just 290 kg for four passengers (i.e., I carry thinner co passengers @ 60kg each *4=240kg) with just 50kg (390-340) to spare for luggage.. Even if I were to check everyone like the airlines do(7kg*5=35 kg each), only 15 kg remains of the total allowance. Everyone tends to pack in more in their hand baggage, dont we? What happens then?

isnt this cutting it a bit too close with a stern warning as to never carry more than 390kg? Am genuinely concerned if is this normal for these type of cars?

Last edited by jpm : 21st August 2017 at 16:16. Reason: cleanup
jpm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2017, 16:15   #1946

Originally Posted by jpm View Post
isnt this cutting it a bit too close with a stern warning as to never carry more than 390kg? Am genuinely concerned if is this normal for these type of cars?
Even I am surprised, I weigh around 80 Kg, five people of similar build will exceed the 390 Kg limit. Let me see if Honda city has similar limit.
ecenandu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2017, 16:47   #1947

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs

390Kg in total including

Originally Posted by ecenandu View Post
Even I am surprised, I weigh around 80 Kg, five people of similar build will exceed the 390 Kg limit. Let me see if Honda city has similar limit.

OT. Looks what I found on the net for the C Class. Says max loading weight 575 kgs. That seems a reasonable weight for load.

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-imageuploadedbyteambhp1503314107.750640.jpg

Courtesy Top Gear. UK.

Last edited by Arjun Reddy : 21st August 2017 at 16:49.
Arjun Reddy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2017, 17:13   #1948

Originally Posted by Arjun Reddy View Post
OT. Looks what I found on the net for the C Class. Says max loading weight 575 kgs.
This is what I found from owners manual of Honda City.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-whatsapp-image-20170821-5.07.34-pm.jpeg

Doesn't talk about loading weight.
ecenandu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2017, 17:33   #1949

Thanks for the detailed pics ecenandu!

Doesnt this seem too low? I myself touch a 100kg on my bad days! Now that leaves just 290 kg for four passengers (i.e., I carry thinner co passengers @ 60kg each *4=240kg) with just 50kg (390-340) to spare for luggage.. Even if I were to check everyone like the airlines do(7kg*5=35 kg each), only 15 kg remains of the total allowance. Everyone tends to pack in more in their hand baggage, dont we? What happens then?

I just checked with the Dealership, they claim this is a cautionary note keeping in mind rough terrain. They say the only impact of going higher than this limit is possible reduced ground clearance. It seems far fetched as i didn't find the Compass's suspension so soft as to significantly impact GC under full load.

Also TopGear mentions this as 395 for the previous gen Compass.
paliontile is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2017, 17:34   #1950

Originally Posted by sandeepmohan View Post
Really? The last time I checked the on road cost of a top of the line two wheel drive Renault, it was pushing over 16 lacs on road! More like 5/10 for me. You have to look around you when you pay so much money.

Having driven a Duster extensively, there are good bits about it such as the widely discussed and praised road manners and an abuse friendly chassis. That's about it though. Is there any aspect about it that is modern? Nope.

I have not experienced the Jeep. Just looking at it is enough to confirm that it is poles apart from anything selling in its segment.
The Duster AWD has good road manners, superb ride quality, it is quite reliable and abuse friendly, decently frugal, and adequately competent off the road, specially in slush and sand. I don't think that this list can be considered as just about it. Yes, the interiors could have been better at the price point. Recently tbhpian Delix got a Duster AWD for a little over 14 lacs on road in Kolkata. That is close to 10 lacs cheaper than the Compass 4x4! I personally think that the Duster AWD will be at least as capable as the Compass. Will have to wait for real world tests to prove that wrong. So the Duster AWD makes a lot of sense when compared with the Compass 4x4 for adventure seeking people on a tighter budget.
BlackPearl is offline   (7) Thanks