Old 31st July 2017, 13:29   #1276

Wow, exemplary pricing! I'm sure this one is going to take on many so called SUVs and top trip compact SUVs. While it's good to wait for the official reviews before getting overwhelmed, I must say that Indians truly deserved such a value for money product, we have always been taken for granted by the foreign manufacturers.
ShreyasM8 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st July 2017, 13:29   #1277

re: Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs

What would happen now to ISUZU MU-X, Endeavour, Fortuner. Even HEXA, XUV 500, Duster and compact SUVs will face the heat.

When FIAT can come with Tank like build quality, coupled with a powerful engine, almost 50 safety features, still able to price so sensibly even with limited localization capabilities.
Honda city and Innova Crysta now looks like not even half the worth of what they ask us to pay.They are just ripping off their customers on the name of brand value/product.

Last edited by Highh5 : 31st July 2017 at 13:31.
Highh5 is offline   (32) Thanks
Old 31st July 2017, 13:32   #1278

Search for my next car ends here...4x4 AT it is whenever it launches...going by the demand this pricing is going to generate, would love to see FCA throw in a panaromic sunroof as well on the top end diesel auto. Will have to find takers for my AWD Duster now. All in all worth the wait pricing wise
v6kgang is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 31st July 2017, 13:33   #1279

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post

I think Jeep will target a sub 15L price tag (ex-show room) for base petrol variant.
Looks like my prediction of sub 15L for base petrol was correct

Kudos to FCA, and good news for all FIAT dealers! I think they were informed well in advance about Jeep's fantastic pricing of Compass. FCA did something right for the first time!

Last edited by Latheesh : 31st July 2017 at 13:50.
Latheesh is online now   (27) Thanks
Old 31st July 2017, 13:33   #1280

How much will be OTR for petrol limited AT which is priced at 18.70 ex-showroom? With GST, will OTR be same in all states?
Old 31st July 2017, 13:35   #1281

Very good pricing indeed. If the top end had undercut the 20 lakhs barrier it would have been icing on the cake.

On the Mopar, things are happening in the back end and if they sustain it, I dont see a reason why they would not be on par with the industry with service and maintenance costs. Primarily what they have done is chucked out the incompetent and rogue dealerships/service centers. Hope the existing ones will live up to the expectations. Earlier it was rat race to do maximum business in the service section at least in Bangalore.

Aadya is gone, Vecto cannot service the Jeeps which may convey that the end is near for Vecto, Currently only KHT is available with 2 big sized serviced centers.
nkrishnap is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 31st July 2017, 13:35   #1282

While the base and top variant looks to be attractively priced, to me Petrol AT variants appear to be expensive by a lac

Limited AT - 18.7lacs
Limited(O) AT - 19.4lacs

Hexa XTA - 16.13lacs
*19" alloy wheels
*Side & curtain airbags
*10 Speaker JBL™ system
*Cruise control
*Automatic headlamps
*Rain sensing wipers
*7 seater
damager21 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 31st July 2017, 13:38   #1283

Originally Posted by Behemoth View Post
The amount of excitement in this thread is thrilling! I just wish that we could have gotten the TBHP review out before the price announcement so that the judgements could be more balanced. Now it is highly likely that the TBHP judgements will be driven largely by the price and may be a disappointment for many, unless FCA pulls a rabbit out of the hat!
So it was a Rabbit indeed

Now we will be waiting for your Compass delivery and a detailed owner report.
nitinralli is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 31st July 2017, 13:40   #1284

Fantastic pricing and a fabulous variant spread.
I expected a price of 21.5 lakhs ex showroom for the Limited (o) 4x4 diesel.

The comparable Tuscon diesel manual GL was priced at 20 lakhs ex showroom. Throwing in AWD at a lakh rupees, the added safety package (additional airbags, rollover mitigation, Traction control, HID) at an additional 1 lakh and finally the convenience features (push button start, climate control) at 50,000, takes price up to 22.5 lakhs. Then bringing down the tuscon's over pricing by a lakh, we arrive at 21.5 lakhs.

But kudos FCA. You have delighted us by going beyond our expectations. My booking stands confirmed.
igp_79 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 31st July 2017, 13:40   #1285

Originally Posted by nitinralli View Post
So it was a Rabbit indeed

Now we will be waiting for your Compass delivery and a detailed owner report.
Yup now waiting for the delivery now and price is exactly as I expected! I guess I may be the first on TBHP to get the delivery and start the ownership review!
Behemoth is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 31st July 2017, 13:44   #1286

It's a killer pricing. They have killed XUV and likes. I hope they are able to compliment the product with their service. That area is still a grey. But overall fantastic product with bang on pricing. FCA you deserve full applause for this one.
rajamuneeb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st July 2017, 13:47   #1287

Bangalore pricing will be revealed by evening. After GST, there shouldn't be much difference in ex-showroom price.

Mixed bag, when it comes to pricing. But all depends on what're the features available on the base variant? As per one Sales Executive, Alloy wheels are available only on top variant. Alloy wheels are essential for such a heavy vehicle. Looking forward for other features, variant wise.
Old 31st July 2017, 13:47   #1288

Originally Posted by Krishnan83 View Post
How much will be OTR for petrol limited AT which is priced at 18.70 ex-showroom? With GST, will OTR be same in all states?
Ex-showroom will probably be same across India but OTR will not as RTO tax is not under GST.

Hence in MH the RTO tax on this car would be approx 12% hence OTR would be approx 22L for the variant you are speaking of.
Sahil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st July 2017, 13:51   #1289

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Ex-showroom will probably be same across India but OTR will not as RTO tax is not under GST.

Hence in MH the RTO tax on this car would be approx 12% hence OTR would be approx 22L for the variant you are speaking of.
With only 2 airbags and several D segment features missing, 22L for Petrol AT is expensive stuff. I am wondering what to do with my booking.
Old 31st July 2017, 13:51   #1290

Jeep has sure come up with a great starting price. The Compass has now got the backing it deserved to get a foothold in the market. Great vehicle backed up by a great price. FCA has taken all the correct steps so far. Need to see when they start deliveries and how they manage the waiting time.

Wish they come up with a Diesel AT asap with a few additional features - cruise control (if only to hide those ugly dummy buttons on the steering) , panoramic sunroof and a larger 8.4 inch ICE. Considering this variant is already in production at Ranjangaon for export, I dont see why they cant release it for the Indian markets as well. Hoping the roaring reception the Compass is getting, will get them to bring in this variant as well.

oh and yes, can we have a change in the interior colour combination while you are at it pls. A white / grey interior will turn beige in next to no time.

Black interiors with red stitching and red seatbelts pls

Last edited by uday.ere : 31st July 2017 at 13:53.
uday.ere is offline   (9) Thanks