Old 1st August 2017, 17:21   #1471

Re: Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs

A 4x2 Jeep is not a Jeep...

Having said that, I am very much eager to know/TD this 1.4 MultiAir turbopetrol engine, and the Fiat version of DSG. I have been driving the Laura TSI (MT) for 6+ years now and Polo TSI DSG for 3+ years, so have a good benchmark to test the petrol COMPASS against. I am addicted to turbo-petrols and with inflation in the car prices that we have seen over last few years, Jeep has given us a unique opportunity to go back in time and buy a lusty turbo-petrol for 14.95 ex-showroom. If I can compare, I got the 1.8 TSI (MT) Laura for 13.75 on-road, Pune in 2010. The same car with the same power train now costs 21+ !!! Skoda has beaten real estate hands down

On paper 1.4 Compass produces 160BHP, 250NM - exactly same as my Laura. If it turns out to be just as flamboyant on the road as the Laura, then I would say just grab one - @4 lakh cheaper than Octy TSi.

In fact 1.4 COMPASS is now the cheapest 160 BHP turbo petrol in India. And the only one below 17 lakhs!!!

This can be "A Jeep for on-roading"
anandpadhye is offline   (24) Thanks
Old 1st August 2017, 17:41   #1472

And, just one day after the pricing announcement of the Compass, comes this "un"-official comparo:

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-image1.jpg

Received on WhatsApp.
RavenAvi is offline   (32) Thanks
Old 1st August 2017, 17:49   #1473

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
And, just one day after the pricing announcement of the Compass, comes this "un"-official comparo:
No doubt Hexa is a capable vehicle but in no way it has the DNA of a SUV, and in terms of looks its is comparable to an Innova (not even XUV5OO). Its is more a huge family wagon.
m_upreti is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 1st August 2017, 17:55   #1474

Originally Posted by aviraj View Post
It's not wrong for people who have paid the booking amount to expect priority in getting test drives. From a dealer perspective, they should also first give priority to the people who showed their faith and played blind. Having said that, if the sales people know for a fact that the vehicle is free at certain times, they should be more than willing to arrange test drives for people who have not booked. Asking them to wait for a month will definitely put off people. Why don't you share this feedback with Jeep India

True and I understand the previlige given to the ones who have booked without test driving the Jeep. They could have atleast told me that they would let me know as soon as the vehicle will be available. Asking me to book before TD is not the way to come out to a customer. If the car is worth what they ask for I will be gladly buying it, but this kind of attitude does make me think.
HOTROD is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 1st August 2017, 17:59   #1475

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post

Received on WhatsApp.
Since you haven't mentioned the disclaimer clearly, let me do. Otherwise we will see a repeat of the bashing that happened the previous day in Hexa thread.

This is a TATA presentation material for confidential circulation - which RavenAvi shares with us through his sources. As with all presentation materials, it will be one- sided and is meant to help the sales persons promote the Hexa over the competition .

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 1st August 2017 at 18:02.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (27) Thanks
Old 1st August 2017, 18:02   #1476

Dad's experience was pretty good infact. Apart from the fact that they didn't have a vehicle for TD in Kochi, the guy in Trichur was ready to bring down the vehicle all the way to Kochi for a TD. He just asked for a weeks time, which was pretty fine considering the current rush and the fact that Kochi is a good 70 kms from Trichur.

Yet to check with Pinnacle Jeep as suggested.
Raneeth is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st August 2017, 18:31   #1477

Originally Posted by anandpadhye View Post

On paper 1.4 Compass produces 160BHP, 250NM - exactly same as my Laura. If it turns out to be just as flamboyant on the road as the Laura, then I would say just grab one - @4 lakh cheaper than Octy TSi.
Rest assured, it cannot take corners like the Laura. So in that sense, it will leave out a lot of fun of driving a turbo petrol.
Old 1st August 2017, 18:45   #1478

An official review is of value to readers for the 6 - 7 years that a car is usually in production. It's even higher if you consider used car buyers. Hence, I don't see a month's delay in an official review as a big deal at all. As an example, the EcoSport official review is still relevant today and that thread has been viewed 1 crore times. The Honda City - an important car even today - has its review thread being opened 5 lakh times.

When compiling, our focus is on precision & comprehensiveness. We don't care about being "the first one out" with a review of a hot new car. What we do care about is a potential customer getting the entire, true picture.

Nothing makes my day more than an owner replying on an official review thread saying "I agree with the review".
There are many people who puts their money on new purchases based on TBHP reviews...Iam one for sure for the last 13 years or so. New car review followed up with discussions (posts) by our members is the best source for any potential buyer to make informed decisions. No wonder it takes closer to 3 weeks for putting up such a detailed reviews.
Surprise is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st August 2017, 18:48   #1479

Jeep compass Sport and Longitude photos. The all black interiors are of the Sport variant.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img20170801wa0025.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img20170801wa0026.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img20170801wa0032.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img20170801wa0031.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img20170801wa0034.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img20170801wa0035.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img20170801wa0036.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img20170801wa0037.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img20170801wa0038.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img20170801wa0028.jpg  

damodar is offline   (35) Thanks
Old 1st August 2017, 20:21   #1480

One more thing.
With this great pricing of Compass, it will help keep a check on Skoda when they launch compass rival "Karoq" next year. Thanks to FCA, Skoda will price it competitively now and not like Tucson.
nitinralli is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st August 2017, 20:43   #1481

ACI says that the diesel auto will launch in Jan 18 and deliveries by Feb 18.

http://www.autocarindia.com/car-news...ry-2018-405535
Old 1st August 2017, 21:03   #1482

Originally Posted by Arjun Reddy View Post
ACI says that the diesel auto will launch in Jan 18 and deliveries by Feb 18.

http://www.autocarindia.com/car-news...ry-2018-405535
Is this going to be the troublesome 9 speed ZF gearbox?

Have all the issues been resolved with this gearbox?
Old 1st August 2017, 21:10   #1483

Price list for hyderabad. What is logistics? Road tax @14% has to be 176000 for sport diesel. Insurance is inflated. I have booked a red sport variant in manual diesel.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-20170801_210356.jpg  

Vulken Auto is online now   (12) Thanks
Old 1st August 2017, 21:48   #1484

So finally FCA is back with a bang.

I see quite lot of Tucson here in Bangalore and will face stiff competition from Compass I think.

I like the gear knob in the Compass, in the photos atleast. Reminds me the Diablo's gear knob.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-lamborghini_diablo_gear_lever.jpg  

amvj is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st August 2017, 22:08   #1485

Originally Posted by Vulken Auto View Post
Price list for hyderabad. What is logistics? Road tax @14% has to be 176000 for sport diesel. Insurance is inflated. I have booked a red sport variant in manual diesel.

New disguise for handling charges. You can get that 25K on accessories dropped as well.

Pradeep.