Old 26th August 2017, 01:50   #2026

Re: Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs

Originally Posted by anil_neo View Post
The KHT experience has been a real adventure. And I mean in a really bad way....

Delivery day:
It was dusty as it was parked outside post RTO visit , no number plate, no invoice copies, no mudflaps, no reg/tax papers whatsoever, no demo of vehicle made, NO RIBBON , just a car parked on the pavement and keys handed over.
Hi Anil,
Did you record a video or took snaps during the delivery? If yes, why don't you share them with FCA on FB, Twitter and email (with dealer in cc)? Customers are the real reviewers of the company and reality should be known to other prospective customers.
Old 26th August 2017, 08:36   #2027

Originally Posted by arif_t01 View Post
Please check once again. It most probably will be turning DIAMETER, not radius!

That means a turning radius of 5.5mtrs, which is still ridiculous for a car that size.

The Punto has a 5 Mtrs radius. What's going on FCA ? Any reason for this atrocious turning radius ?
Old 26th August 2017, 08:43   #2028

Originally Posted by Arjun Reddy View Post
The Punto has a 5 Mtrs radius. What's going on FCA ? Any reason for this atrocious turning radius ?
Prior to the facelift, Punto's turning radius was around 5.4 and Fiat reduced it to 5m at the time of its facelift. It is similar for Linea as well - turning radius was reduced from 5.65m to 5.4m at the time of the facelift.
Old 26th August 2017, 11:24   #2029

Did not feel that the turning radius was that bad in real world. Atleast it wasn't that different from the Creta and Terrano, may cause of the vehicle dimensions.
Old 26th August 2017, 11:31   #2030

Originally Posted by cool_dube View Post

That said, I am disappointed by the front overhang of the Compass to say the least - sticks out like a sore thumb on an otherwise commendable design. Will scrap on slight undulations of regular roads, forget off-road trails
Sights like these will be pretty common, I am afraid. This is the demo car of KHT, Bangalore.

Name:  ForumRunner_20170826_104909.png
Views: 7159
Size:  279.2 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20170826_113134.png
Views: 7139
Size:  299.0 KB

On a more hilarious note -

Name:  ForumRunner_20170826_112722.png
Views: 7164
Size:  290.9 KB

Perils of hiring non-petrolheads as your DM team!
schakravarthy is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 26th August 2017, 12:51   #2031

About Rs. 1,800 crores which is cheap. MNC brands have it easy as they get readymade products from their international HQ. This is unlike 'made for India' products or homegrown cars - I remember Tata had spend 1,800 crores on the original Indica back in the 90s!

Agree it's an exaggeration.Well the article also talks about faster; than expected break even. Profits follow after breaking even. And recouping their investment is essentially in terms of revenues. Let me give a simplistic arithmetic explanation. Assuming average sales realisation per Compass at 20 lakh (~USD 34000) and assuming average monthly sales of 5000 - practical given the initial euphoria gets over - it equates to revenues of USD 175 MN. So their investment of 280 mn takes abt a year and a half only in terms of revenues. This would be the break even point.If profit margin is 10% that would mean a profit of USD 3400 for every Conpass sold.

Mod Note: Please avoid copying from external editors. Use the forum's editor to format the post.

Last edited by ampere : 26th August 2017 at 20:17. Reason: Typo Fixed
indiaashish is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th August 2017, 13:27   #2032

Requested for a test drive twice, online but there has been zero response in Bangalore. No calls, nothing. Don't like the direction things are headed with this one.
Sebring is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th August 2017, 14:37   #2033

Few pics of the new compass limited 4x2 of my deptt ex-hod in our company parking lot.

Have to agree that the compass looks much better in real than can be imagined through pics.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170826_131732253.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170826_131756213.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170826_132024841_hdr.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170826_132219559_hdr.jpg  

finiteinjustice is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 26th August 2017, 15:00   #2034

Originally Posted by schakravarthy View Post
Perils of hiring non-petrolheads as your DM team!

When the defender lost its compass & ended up on a jeep site
finiteinjustice is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th August 2017, 17:44   #2035

13 deliveries @ Rehoboth Jeep, Tirunelveli (South Tamil Nadu) on 24th August.

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-whatsapp-image-20170826-11.13.26.jpeg

They have 84 bookings currently which is really good for this part of TN. The sales assistant also told that Compass has helped to increase the sale of Punto/Linea, average of 4-5 per month has gone up to 11-12 per month.

These guys are arranging test drive for all the nearby towns as well
arun_josie is online now   (11) Thanks
Old 26th August 2017, 17:53   #2036

Are Compass diesel deliveries happening. My friend was told only petrol deliveries were happening and refused to take booking for diesel. Any thoughts..
Old 26th August 2017, 18:05   #2037

Originally Posted by vvrchandra View Post
Are Compass diesel deliveries happening. My friend was told only petrol deliveries were happening and refused to take booking for diesel. Any thoughts..
Isn't it the other way around, its all diesel deliveries and no petrol deliveries yet.
arun_josie is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 26th August 2017, 19:12   #2038

Originally Posted by schakravarthy View Post
Sights like these will be pretty common, I am afraid. This is the demo car of KHT, Bangalore.
Precisely my point!

BTW, does anyone have any further updates on this front?
Old 26th August 2017, 23:47   #2039

Saw 2 Jeep Compass in Mysore today, one black and the other creamy white ( don't know the exact colour name ). Looks like deliveries have begun in right earnest in Mysore . I like its road presence and still on the fence on the front grill design though.
Old 27th August 2017, 00:07   #2040

I took delivery of my White Compass Sport yesterday evening. Had a very pleasant experience with Pride Motors Hyderabad right from the first time i walked in for a test-drive to the point of delivery. I was offered multiple test-drives on a saturday without other customers breathing down my neck. Finance was arranged with SBI within 24 hrs. Infact SBI manager had called me on Aug 15th to process the loan and sanction it. Only fly in the ointment was the sales person's insistence on taking MOPAR insurance which was quickly resolved with a 5 min. call to Jeep India's toll free number. I will get started on my ownership thread by Monday with pictures. (My current set of pics are all greater than 3MB and so can't be uploaded without reducing)
paliontile is offline   (5) Thanks