Team-BHP > The Indian Car Scene
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 28th September 2018, 12:45   #271
BHPian

Does anyone have an idea about this stock Pricol Ltd? I am new to the stock market and this was recommended by an acquaintance. It is trading at its 52 week low currently.
Old 28th September 2018, 19:07   #272
Team-BHP Support

Re: Guide: Investing in shares of the automotive sector

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobydick1983 View Post
Does anyone have an idea about this stock Pricol Ltd? I am new to the stock market and this was recommended by an acquaintance. It is trading at its 52 week low currently.
It is trading below book value and paid dividends despite losses. Other than that, I'm struggling to find any other positives in this stock. In these markets, stocks like Pricol can go down 90% (Rs. 100 stock becomes Rs. 10) before recovering.

As a new investor, stick to well known brands.
Old 29th September 2018, 02:30   #273
BHPian

@smartcat .Really good thread.

I do know of some folks who invested in the stock market at the right time - 80s/90s for the long term and successfully converted their thousands to millions. But bulk of it was pure luck rather than a detailed technical analysis we see being done these days.

Today, bulk of the general folks are into day trading, akin to standing on a platform and getting onto a train blindfolded and then betting which direction the train will move. Your thread and investing approach was a welcome break from typical hare brained schemes offered as advice free & paid by self proclaimed investments experts.

A couple of years ago or so, someone close to me asked how was tata motors doing, it was just around the launch of zest, so I mentioned about new product line etc etc. and how tata motors was turning a new leaf in the passenger car business etc. Net result was a stock purchase - not a very large sum but substantial all the same.