Old 19th October 2017, 11:24   #496

Re: Scoop! Skoda Octavia vRS spotted in Mumbai. EDIT: Launched at 24.62 lakhs

Originally Posted by esma1981 View Post
I've had Manoeuvre braking on since I've been driving the RS and feel it's worth keeping on for Mumbai. It has stopped twice for me when bikers rode across my front when I was about to join a road and once when I was going to reverse into another car during night time. All 3 instances were at crawling speed when the parking sensors were on automatically, so no issue of getting rearended.
Agree with the viewpoint. I guess the sudden braking without truly understanding why is the car braking on its own caused me to be tentative in the first place. Flashes of sudden braking when I am driving at >50+ kmph flashed in front of my eyes in that instance till I googled it up

If one knows and understands it, certainly no harm. I need to test and understand the distances/severity of the braking before I enable it.
Old 19th October 2017, 16:02   #497

Originally Posted by esma1981 View Post
I've had Manoeuvre braking on since I've been driving the RS and feel it's worth keeping on for Mumbai. It has stopped twice for me when bikers rode across my front when I was about to join a road and once when I was going to reverse into another car during night time. All 3 instances were at crawling speed when the parking sensors were on automatically, so no issue of getting rearended.
I agree, though one may need getting used to. I have it on, but haven't really driven too much in crawling city traffic!
Old 20th October 2017, 17:28   #498

Originally Posted by sandeepmohan View Post

I guess practicality is important in our market. The VW GTI could not achieve this.
True and it makes sense paying 5 lac for added performance then 20 lac (GTI over GT or regular Polo). Its 250 cars only in first batch and I believe majority would have bought it as 2nd car. Repeating this number month on month would be a challenge and not sure company would have higher margins in comparison to regular Octavias, so whatever RS sells will be cross shopping between Superb and regular Octavia.

More of a branding exercise by company to reestablish itself in performance segment.
Old 20th October 2017, 17:42   #499

In my opinion Automatic braking is dangerous in indian city driving context. I had close shaves when bikers at the rear had hard time controlling their bikes 'cause did not expect my car to suddenly brake so hard, when there was moving traffic in front of me. I prefer to have it off.
wanderhermit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2017, 21:46   #500

Ever since I bought by GT back in 2014, I have never felt like driving any other car, as I could never gravitate towards any of them.
But this 2017 Octavia vRS is truly a special machine, and I guess like many of us here, I have fallen head over heals for it.

So I just visited the Skoda showroom over the weekend to get more details. And here is what I got:

Currently - All the 250 units allotted to India Sold Out (we already know this)
OTR as on date - 3216000 INR
Next batch of vRS - February 2018

This is the best part:
Color options for the next batch - Race Blue, White and Black
The Red and Matte Silver(?) will apparently be discontinued.
Vik0728 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2017, 22:43   #501

I feel Red will be available. They may not bring in White. They may restrict it to Red, Blue and Black.
Old 22nd October 2017, 23:26   #502

Originally Posted by Vik0728 View Post

[/b]This is the best part:
Color options for the next batch - Race Blue, White and Black
The Red and Matte Silver(?) will apparently be discontinued.
Originally Posted by Nikhilb2008 View Post
I feel Red will be available. They may not bring in White. They may restrict it to Red, Blue and Black.
Is this just speculation, personal views, or is there a reliable source for this information?

I have set my sights on the red and this is heartbreaking
Old 23rd October 2017, 10:12   #503

Originally Posted by Nikhilb2008 View Post
They may restrict it to Red, Blue and Black.
Even I think the same Nikhil, but the SA (Shankar I guess) at the Tafe Access on St. Marks road was quite confident about the Red not making it to the next lot.

Originally Posted by Maibaa View Post
Is this just speculation, personal views, or is there a reliable source for this information?
Im not sure how "Reliable" this information is, but take my word dude, I would never go to a showroom, get the views of a SA and then put my personal view on this forum.
Old 23rd October 2017, 10:22   #504

Speculation mainly. Nothing is official till it's officially announced.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2017, 12:36   #505

This VRS owner drove out of the showroom and into this situation.
Scoop! Skoda Octavia vRS spotted in Mumbai. EDIT: Launched at 24.62 lakhs-image.jpeg  

AMG Power is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2017, 12:49   #506
AYP

Man! That is heart-breaking. I can only imagine what the owner must be feeling. Hope it get backs to shape as soon as possible. Being an Octavia and that too a VRS, parts would be having a high lead time.
Old 23rd October 2017, 14:02   #507

Oh wow. Was it out of the TAFE showroom as that is where this is the biggest possibility?
Old 23rd October 2017, 14:20   #508

Originally Posted by AMG Power View Post
Eeeks! What did the driver do? Drive it straight into a sharp-edged pole?

Even if there is no engine / tranny damage, he needs the new RS bonnet, RS front bumper, new RS LED headlight + LED DR, maybe new fender, maybe new grill!

Not going to be easy knowing Skoda.

Last edited by itwasntme : 23rd October 2017 at 14:23. Reason: Typo
Old 23rd October 2017, 20:39   #509

Yes, it's going to be quite a while to get that VRS back on the road as none of the VRS specific parts are available in the factory. I really don't know what he did to land up in this mess but it sort of reeks of inexperience.

Attaching a pic of the dangler tag that's on the rear mirror with instructions to remove transportation spacers before delivering the car.
Scoop! Skoda Octavia vRS spotted in Mumbai. EDIT: Launched at 24.62 lakhs-image.jpeg  

Last edited by AMG Power : 23rd October 2017 at 20:42.
AMG Power is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2017, 20:50   #510

Originally Posted by AMG Power View Post
That’s 1 down out of just 250 around. What a waste! Feel bad for the owner