Old 17th May 2010, 19:44   #256

Wow, 10L is incredible particularly since the car only costs 20L.
Old 20th May 2010, 00:35   #257

Originally Posted by diecast View Post
CHANDIGARH: In a first-of-its-kind, UT administration's Registration and Licensing Authority (RLA) earned a whopping Rs 10 lakh for the auction of a vehicle number — CH01AC — on Saturday.

The proud buyer, Sector 33-C resident Narinder Singh Shergill, is an agriculturist.
Shergill bought the number — the first in its series — for Rs 10 lakh against its reserved price of Rs 25,000.

The number that got the second highest bid was CH01AC-0009. It went for Rs 4.70 lakh and was bought by Sector 9-D resident, Dashmeet Singh. The numbers that fetched the third, fourth and fifth highest bids were CH01AC0003, CH01AC0005 and CH01AC0011.

Excited about his latest ‘acquisition', Shergill said, "I had a few dream numbers — 0001, 0002, 0003, 0010 and 1000 and I had applied for these on May 10. I just wanted a good number for my brand new Fortuner, which I purchased on Monday. My budget was Rs 10 lakh."

Shergill, who has studied from Punjabi University, Patiala, has farms in Kurali and Kharar. He is also in the business of real estate.

Initially, there were seven bidders for ‘0001', but after the bid of Rs 7.5 lakh, only two were left in the fray.

The RLA incharge said, "The overall collection has been very good... it is second highest so far. Even some ordinary numbers fetched a good price."

The total bids collected at the end of the day were, however, less than the last time's collections. The auction was conducted under the supervision of RLA incharge Prerna Puri.

Rs 10L number for Rs 20L car - Chandigarh - City - The Times of India
I wasn't shocked to hear this development considering that Punjab is in picture, for Punjabis it is Live Life Kinng Size.
Old 20th May 2010, 15:04   #258

Originally Posted by ravipamidi View Post
My Numbers

Maruti 800 xxJ 969 (sold)

Indigo xxAD 969 (Sold last week)

Kinetic Blaze xxB 969

Innova xxB 3969

Honda city xxBF 969
My Innova KA xx N 696 (Turn around the 3some)
Old 20th May 2010, 16:09   #259

Met a friend yesterday, he last week bought a pre owned #3 Accord Automatic 3.0 Litre engine White colored, looked amazing
&
he also Purchased # 8888 E Class Merc but that was a 1999 or 2000 Model
Old 21st May 2010, 10:37   #260

@khan75- What's the process & cost to get a personalized plate in the US? What are the maximum number of characters allowed?
Old 21st May 2010, 10:39   #261

Hey guys, I've been offered Rs 6 lakh for my Maruti Esteem 1995 which bears registration No. 1 e.g. XYZ 1. The heart and the mind are at loggerheads over to "sell or not to sell."

There are rumours that once etching of registration number is made compulsory on car windshields, number transferability may not then be possible.
Old 21st May 2010, 10:58   #262

Here is the amount which I paid for my bikes.

Hero Honda CBZ MH 1X Q 2244 Rs. 1000 (no chai paani)
Hero Honda Karizma MH 1X L 0001 Rs. 10,000 (Rs. 28,000 chaipaani)
Honda Activa MH 1X AM 0005 Rs. 5000 (no chai paani)
Honda Activa MH 1X AQ 0003 Rs. 5000 (no chai paani)

Soon there would be a new addition to the list A Bullet 500. I am trying to get the number MH 1X XX 0500. have been asked to pay Rs. 10,000 all inclusive. I am in the process of bargaining as the delivery of the bike is still a couple of months away.
Old 21st May 2010, 11:42   #263

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
@khan75- What's the process & cost to get a personalized plate in the US? What are the maximum number of characters allowed?
The link below gives a link for California DMV for online ordering of personalized license plates. The price ranges between $50 to $100 for the plates and additional charges for registration, renewal, retention etc. And yes, the rules vary across States.

https://xml.dmv.ca.gov/IppWebV3/welcome.do

Last edited by vasoo : 21st May 2010 at 11:46.
Old 24th May 2010, 16:52   #264

Originally Posted by ivar1951 View Post
Hey guys, I've been offered Rs 6 lakh for my Maruti Esteem 1995 which bears registration No. 1 e.g. XYZ 1. The heart and the mind are at loggerheads over to "sell or not to sell."

There are rumours that once etching of registration number is made compulsory on car windshields, number transferability may not then be possible.
So you are getting less than a lac for your car and in excess of 5 L just for the number ?
I'd take it eyes closed !

Buy yourself a free brand new car with surely a VIP, but a lesser fancy number for about 10-20k, with all that money.
Old 24th May 2010, 18:03   #265

This happend before that, do you remeber the land scam i delhi where the Guy who was running the Canteen in Deli Vidhan sabha had ammased 1500 DDA plots in his name and had over 25 cars and each car costing over 10 lakhs and all had a single digit number.

Okay i bought my SX4 ZXI in may 2009 and asked for a singe digit number and they said you have to get a letter form the local MLA. Any way managed to to get a 4 digit number and paid 17K for it.

The number IS DL-2C-XX-5005.

Originally Posted by smooth View Post
In August 2009, Government of Delhi has stopped issuance of Fancy numbers.

Any update, did they have started issuing fancy number again or not?
Old 7th June 2010, 16:26   #266

Spotted an Accord near Khan Market, the reg. no is awsome

VIP Car numbers-rno.jpg
Old 7th June 2010, 16:35   #267

^^^ How is this awesome? Isn't this considered violating the law? Shouldn't the registration number be PB <district number> <Alphabets> <Running Serial> format?
Old 8th June 2010, 10:08   #268

if the owner of the car isnt concerned about violating the law, why should I be ?? It is just the no. look super fundo (IMO)!! just chill bro !!!

and it also might be possible that it is an old reg. no. transferred to this accord.

Last edited by nick17s : 8th June 2010 at 10:19.
Old 8th June 2010, 10:32   #269

Originally Posted by nick17s View Post
Spotted an Accord near Khan Market, the reg. no is awsome

Attachment 362980
There is a scheme Punjab Transport Deptt. that if you have an old car, you can surrender the regn. no. of the same to be allotted to your (only yours) new/other car.

This owner must be having a VIP number for his old car, which he has got allotted for the new one... this one is not illegal.

BTW, the car is a V6 Accord.
Old 8th June 2010, 10:40   #270

@deep: thanks for the info bro !!