Old 1st October 2010, 11:23   #331

How much would no. 13 fetch in Bangalore? If someones going to offer me the kind of money that fetches in Chandigarh I am ready to sell my car immediately.

I am sure there are no takers as "13" is considered as most inauspicious number.

My Indica has a registration number which runs as KA 02 MJ 13.

I had to pay 1.5K in 2004 to get this number. I paid for this number not because I belived in "lucky" concept, but just to prove my mom and other family members that there is nothing wrong or right in a number. Lot's of number in our family has "13" in it, whether house number, my phone, date of birth, etc and my mother always felt it was unlucky number.

One thing for sure that this number may not have been lucky, but definitely has not been unlucky.
Old 1st October 2010, 11:38   #332

In Kerala, it was reported yesterday that a person has got the number KL 01 AZ 01 for an amount of Rs. 9.25 Lakhs Think this should be a new record.

http://www.hindu.com/2010/09/30/stor...3062300300.htm

The auction was quite heated and he had more than two competitors upto that price.

As a saving grace, the vehicle was much costlier - a BMW X5
Old 1st October 2010, 22:19   #333

I am planning to get number AP XX AK 47. It appeals to me to have that number.
Old 2nd October 2010, 12:04   #334

Originally Posted by simplyself View Post
I am planning to get number AP XX AK 47. It appeals to me to have that number.
Sure,but it may cost you quite a bit.Not to mention the glances you are going to get right from the time of registration to taking out your vehicle every time.

Drive safe.Dont be a terror on the streets
Old 4th October 2010, 17:27   #335

I'd gone for the registration number for my new Bajaj Pulsar 180 in Delhi. We were presented with a sheet with all the numbers available. I really wanted 6346 as that's the default port on the Gnutella 1/2 and most P2P apps out there ...

Unfortunately, it was taken. Had to go with 6316.. which totals out to 7, supposedly lucky. Which it was not, as the bike was stolen 2 years later much to my dismay...
Old 4th October 2010, 17:38   #336

Here are the numbers which were bought for my cars:

KL XX A 131 (800)
KL XX J 11 (Zen)
KL XX A 99 (Lancer)
KL XX B 7676 (i20)

I don't believe in numerology or any related stuff. These numbers were bought just to make the license plate look more legible
Old 4th October 2010, 17:40   #337

Got 7444 number from Pune RTO for our Vento last week without receipt for Rs.3000
Old 4th October 2010, 17:57   #338

This is a cool thread. I've never harboured any particular fascination for numerology so my cars have always been randomly numbered.

Accent was 5274.Since '74 is my year of birth, lots of people assumed it's my birthday. My deadpan answer to that is "no but it's probably the day I was conceived" (am November born)
When I transferred to Karnataka, had to go to the Bangalore RTO for the new number allocation. My number allocated was 4238. I tried my broken Kannada (and whatever charm I could muster in that hellhole) but the guy growled that 4242 would be 2.5K extra. Pittance really, but I'd already paid 43K for the state transfer and wasn't about to shell out a penny more!
My Swift bought second hand last year is 5533. No idea if the previous owner paid extra for it, but someone referred to it as a "fancy" number once and I found that really funny.

Last edited by noopster : 4th October 2010 at 18:02.
Old 28th October 2010, 18:58   #339

Not a VIP but Fancy Number

I paid 5k for getting KA xx xx 2200 for my Optra. I had checked for "9000" (as my mobile number ends with 9000) and the agent told me minimum charges will be 1lac and if the number goes for auction then God Save me. So chose 2200 (for those who understand Punjabi "bayi", for others "bayi" would mean someone respected), I feel its quite fancy

My wish list of VIP/Fancy numbers is: 0001, 0009, 9000, 9999
Old 29th October 2010, 00:05   #340

Originally Posted by drive_or_die View Post
I paid 5k for getting KA xx xx 2200 for my Optra. I had checked for "9000" (as my mobile number ends with 9000) and the agent told me minimum charges will be 1lac and if the number goes for auction then God Save me. So chose 2200 (for those who understand Punjabi "bayi", for others "bayi" would mean someone respected), I feel its quite fancy

My wish list of VIP/Fancy numbers is: 0001, 0009, 9000, 9999
Drive_or_Die 22, to get numbers XX00 in Delhi, a letter is required from some high ranking official. My uncle had to get a letter from MLA for 9300.

Last edited by tsk13 : 29th October 2010 at 00:06.
Old 29th October 2010, 02:25   #341

Well - this is pure by chance - but my car's registration reads WB 26 K 27xx, while my dad's car reads WB 26 C 27yy.
So the 26 of the RTO code and 27 at the beginning of the number are same
Old 29th October 2010, 23:47   #342

Originally Posted by tsk13 View Post
Drive_or_Die 22, to get numbers XX00 in Delhi, a letter is required from some high ranking official. My uncle had to get a letter from MLA for 9300.
Delhi is altogether a different game my friend, would suggest get the car registered in nearby small town. My plan is to get PB 25 xx 0001 from my hometown for the SUV I buy (God ,especially money God, help me buy one in couple of years). I believe the number 0001 gets its due respect irrespective of place of Reg.

I wanted to do this for my Optra as well. I paid 1.3 Lac as Road Tax in Bangalore and it would have cost me 30k only. I was ready to shell 1Lac for 0001. But dropped the idea for reasons like, the net cost of car was coming almost equal (due to good discount on car in Bangalore) and wanted to avoid any legal complications in future as I already drive PB registered (without paying Karnataka Road Tax) Zen in Bangalore
Old 30th October 2010, 19:10   #343

And the numbers roll on!!!

Yo mates, I wanted to get the number 7000 for the Innova I am taking delivery on monday. I saw that book full of numbers and the broker said I could have what I wanted as long as it wasn't written "GOVT". And yaar most numbers that I could muster to think were with that God-forsaken word. Be it 1 or any of the single numbers, or the single 1000's or other numbers like 1001, 2002 and so on. When I did enquire that if I did wish to get any of the above, what next. The broker gave me a huge smile and said, "nothing saar, you just have to give me a lakh and I shall see what can be done!".

I was already humbled with shelling out so much for the VX model, and settled for the Swity's number, 7500. Only compromise is, when I got that number for the Swifty I shelled out 13k, for the Innova it was 12k. So much for numbers!!!

Champion
Old 9th December 2010, 20:56   #344

Re: now where dows my number fit in??

Originally Posted by benzbala View Post
my car no is TN45-AD- 9999
other no is 7335......lol
Hello Benzbala, nice to see you from Trichy. My M800 is TN45 AC 0090.

Last week I saw a Tboard Innova with the number 13 (TN 59 XX 13). Yesterday I saw a Swift Dzire with a BIG # 8.

In TamilNadu, the RTO does not allocate the numbers 8, 4 and 13 unless asked for and no one wants to buy these numbers as these are supersticiously supposed to be DRIVEN by accidents

When someone wants to buy a single digit VIP number for free they can ask for a single 8 or 4 or settle for a double digit 13. Display it big and the other vehicles keep the essential 10 feet distance from every corner of your vehicle
Old 10th December 2010, 00:30   #345

Re: now where dows my number fit in??

Tata Indigo CG 04 xx 1111
Hyundai Santro CG 04 xx 6611
Toyota Innova CG 04 xx 0786
Pulsar 220 CG 04 xx 6611
Yamaha RX 100 MP 23 x 0007
Yamaha RXZ MP 23 xx 0025 when CG was not a state