Old 15th November 2006, 21:07   #1
ash_edged

VIP Car numbers

Hi anybody here purchased a VIP number in auction or something ?

I think 4.7 Lakhs for a number is ridiculous amount if its going on a Hyundai Terracan.

Ludhiana, November 9: An expensive number for an expensive car: The first number of the BW series - PB 10 BW 0001 - was auctioned for a whopping Rs 4.7 lakh by the District Transport Office this morning. ...... http://www.delhiwebsite.com/read.php?read=196

cheers,
ash

: If a similar thread exists mods please merge as i could not link one :

Old 15th November 2006, 21:55   #2
SRK

I wouldnt mind paying if I have the money...

The Number that waiting to get my hands in Mumbai are..
Sereis IM no 8055....It can go something Like MH-XX-IM BOSS..I would pay anything for it..only If I had a huge black Suv..and loads of money to spend..

Guys if anyone reading get your hands on this number ever..Please ....gift it to me..HAHA!!!
SRK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th November 2006, 22:02   #3

A person in mangalore paid Rs.40,000 for his VIP regn. number. When he went to take the delivery, the whole showroom staff was there to congratulate him on the vehicle.

The vehicle was a ......
Honda Activa...............
Vid6639 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th November 2006, 22:14   #4

Originally Posted by SRK
The Number that waiting to get my hands in Mumbai are..
Sereis IM no 8055....It can go something Like MH-XX-IM BOSS..
SRK there is a guy in Navi Mumbai who has this number on his Accord. ofcourse not the IM bit, bit it still looks cool. He's used the digit font and you don't realize it's a number till you are very close to it.
Old 15th November 2006, 22:30   #5

I had a VIP number on my one Vehicle it was 3333....
and it was a.................. bajaj Chetak
pdev29 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th November 2006, 00:55   #6

ive seen a lot of numbers with the 8005(BOSS) NUmber plate...but has anyone thought of 8008...like a mh-02-my-8008
danlalan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2006, 00:56   #7

We have 3 cars with VIP numbers and paid 21K For 55, 25K for 7777 And 27K for 5555.

I also have cell number 98XXX 00000.

Mugen_Power.

Last edited by Mugen_Power : 16th November 2006 at 00:58.
Old 16th November 2006, 01:01   #8

I (or rather my dad ) paid 1.5K extra when I bought my bike to get the regn no as 1986.....
Old 16th November 2006, 01:23   #9

Number Plate Sold For More Than 20000000

Yes its true......

In UK, the number plate was recently sold for £254,000, which equates to more than TWO CRORE RUPEES and was a record in UK.

And guess registration was........ "51NGH" !!!!

and "MR 51NGH" sold for £101,000!!

http://www.channel4.com/4car/news/ne...41&ref=archive

http://www.regtransfers.co.uk/pr/new..._a_mr51ngh.asp

http://www.selectnumberplates.co.uk/...9-05-2006.html

Redcandle
redcandle is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2006, 01:42   #10

my dad has this lucky number thing..soo all my 8 cars i have are 4242..
i get theses number for all my cars.. havin this number since late 80's.
Have this jholer person in RTO. who gives it to me free of cost.. but yet manage to give him 1000/- as TIP for his excellent work n service!
Old 16th November 2006, 01:48   #11

[quote=..but has anyone thought of 8008...like a mh-02-my-8008[/quote]

thats a good one
Old 16th November 2006, 05:49   #12

We always used to get VIP numbers for free due to some contacts in the RTO department but 3 years back the Govt. changed rules and now charges a fixed fee for these numbers. Before that we've had the following numbers:
1234 (twice)

After that just have had the number for my current car & paid 10k as fees to the govt for it 0010 is the number (again).

Last edited by iraghava : 16th November 2006 at 05:51.
Old 16th November 2006, 07:40   #13

In Trivandrum, AK 47, went for aution and was sold for some whooping amount. I am not sure how much it exactly went for.

Now in Kerala, since every municipality or so has an RTO office...so now getting fancy numbers is much more easier than before. Earlier it was KL01 to KL14....now after the new rules it has gone up to KL50s or 60s.

Last edited by basilmabraham : 16th November 2006 at 07:42.
basilmabraham is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2006, 07:56   #14

Originally Posted by danlalan
ive seen a lot of numbers with the 8005(BOSS) NUmber plate...but has anyone thought of 8008...like a mh-02-my-8008
why would you want your numberplate to read boob
Old 16th November 2006, 10:54   #15

I paid only about 4 grand for the 8877 on my Mercedes. 4.7 lakhs is ridiculous, and foolish!

I also have cell number 98XXX 00000.
Nice!!