Old 25th October 2017, 09:58   #61

re: The 2018 next-gen Maruti Ertiga, now launched at Rs 7.44 lakhs

After reading the updates, my guess would be this MPV being Maruti's take on BR-V which means this will be an updated Ertiga made to look more SUVish. Which could mean that there won't be any changes to the dimensions. The test mule only has extra paddings, Assuming the wheelbase wont change(like Mobilio-BR-V) Rear extension is exactly same as Ertiga(ignore the paddings) so I highly doubt the car will have any changes to the dimension(would love to have more boot though)

How soon would this launch ? 1.5L diesel has got my attention now and If they are launching it around Auto expo, i dont mind waiting.
What are the odds of an automatic on diesel(also launching alongside) ? Considering this is all new engine, i am skeptical if they want to launch only with manual and offer automatic at a later date(may be 2019)

Last edited by rajshenoy : 25th October 2017 at 10:03.
Old 25th October 2017, 14:22   #62

Originally Posted by Carma2017 View Post
Lastly, there is never going to be an Alto Diesel. Diesel has no future in PVs in India starting 2020 with the onset of BS VI.
Why do you say so? Hyundai on their website globally mention that the current set of diesel engines can be made Euro 6 compliant with the addition of filters. Apparently, those that are sold in Europe are already Euro 6 compliant
Old 25th October 2017, 14:54   #63

Originally Posted by Carma2017 View Post
Lastly, there is never going to be an Alto Diesel. Diesel has no future in PVs in India starting 2020 with the onset of BS VI.
+1, even I had a doubt on why a diesel engine when the petrol Alto's are already fuel efficient. IMHO, the Alto doesn't need a diesel, unless MSIL has piled up inventory of 800cc DDiS 125.

Last edited by jetsetgo08 : 25th October 2017 at 14:56.
Old 25th October 2017, 15:04   #64

BS 6 engines on an average are 1-1.5 lacs more expensive than BS IV due to addition of filters, peripherals and frictional loss prevention countermeasures etc. Already, a Diesel engine does not payback it's worth if usage is low to medium. With a further cost up, diesels have no future except in long haul vehicles maybe. And when you add the pressure of CAFE norms to BS VI, we see hybridisation or electrification of cars is a must post 2023. So, no car maker would specially invest much in newer, pricier Diesel engines which would anyway require replacement after 2023.
Coming back to the Ertiga, from what I heard here in Japan from people who work with Suzuki, apparently Maruti hadn't given up on SHVS and a new and improved version is coming up in new Ertiga. Some people who have had a look at the Car say that it's definitely longer and wider and better assembled but overall a generic design similar to previous Ertiga.
Carma2017 is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 30th October 2017, 15:46   #65

I have some birdie information. This is not the new or elongated Ertiga/Brezza. This is a new 7 seater vehicle. It will come with two engine options and two body styles. One of the body style option is an aggressive SUV look.
JediKnight is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 30th October 2017, 15:52   #66

Originally Posted by JediKnight View Post
This is a new 7 seater vehicle. It will come with two engine options and two body styles. One of the body style option is an aggressive SUV look.
The aggressive SUV will likely be the New Grand Vitara.

Here is the second rendering,(IAB)

The 2018 next-gen Maruti Ertiga, now launched at Rs 7.44 lakhs-11.jpg

Last edited by volkman10 : 30th October 2017 at 16:04.
volkman10 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 30th October 2017, 17:12   #67

Originally Posted by JediKnight View Post
I have some birdie information. This is not the new or elongated Ertiga/Brezza. This is a new 7 seater vehicle. It will come with two engine options and two body styles. One of the body style option is an aggressive SUV look.
Did birdies mentioned anything about the engines? Also, can we expect to see this in the Auto Expo? Finally, which segment are they targeting this vehicle?
Old 30th October 2017, 17:20   #68

The only 2 things needed ; 1.5L D at least and something that is good to drive, refined and long lasting. Not like the Celerio or other "just for gags" Diesels from pure petrol car makers.
paragsachania is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 30th October 2017, 18:28   #69

Originally Posted by avdhesh15 View Post
Did birdies mentioned anything about the engines? Also, can we expect to see this in the Auto Expo? Finally, which segment are they targeting this vehicle?
Birdie confirmed the new 1.5 diesel. Birdie does not know when it will be launched but he confirmed sometime in 2018. Birdie does not know market positioning or launch prices.
JediKnight is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th October 2017, 23:27   #70

So, from what I understand, 2 versions are coming with almost same body panels and platform and 7 seats. One is the new Ertiga which will be sold through regular dealerships. Next is a sporty version with claddings, roof rails, a different grill and bumper design. This model may have a new name and may be sold through Nexa channel.

First one will act as the competitor to the mpv brigade, while the second one will fight against creta and other +4m rivals. An easy way to capture the +4m suv segment with a lower price point!

Last edited by romeomidhun : 30th October 2017 at 23:31.
Old 13th November 2017, 15:14   #71

I saw a test mule in Greater Noida today, with an HR26 plate. I was in a Go Plus and when we overtook it, it was roughly the same length and height as the Datsun. It is nowhere close to the Innova in size.

Apologies for not taking any pictures, as I was driving and my kid was in the back and I didn't want to risk it.
ashutoshb is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th November 2017, 18:23   #72

Originally Posted by ashutoshb View Post
I saw a test mule in Greater Noida today, with an HR26 plate. I was in a Go Plus and when we overtook it, it was roughly the same length and height as the Datsun. It is nowhere close to the Innova in size.
Everyone is saying this car is bigger than Ertiga which itself is 4260mm in length, while you are saying that it is "roughly the same length" as the Go-Plus which is 4000mm in length! Are you sure you saw this so called Ertiga featured in this thread, or, is there a new 4m mpv from Maruti? Possibly, you might have seen the Wagon-R 7-seater.

Last edited by romeomidhun : 13th November 2017 at 18:51.
Old 13th November 2017, 18:59   #73

^
I was driving, so it was difficult to measure the exact size.

But, it was close to the current Ertiga. The size, the shape. Not bigger, for sure. And nowhere close to the Innova.
Old 15th November 2017, 08:30   #74

The Mysterious MPV spied again,

the test mule appears to be longer than the current-gen Ertiga and could take the space factor a notch higher than the MPV on sale right now. The area between the C and D-pillars appears to be longer, which suggests that seating comfort in the 3rd row and boot space could see an improvement. Design wise, it retains a familiar silhouette, however, expect the fascia and the rear to be updated with some visual changes. As visible, the alloy wheel pattern appears to be new already.

The 2018 next-gen Maruti Ertiga, now launched at Rs 7.44 lakhs-2.jpg

The 2018 next-gen Maruti Ertiga, now launched at Rs 7.44 lakhs-3.jpg

The 2018 next-gen Maruti Ertiga, now launched at Rs 7.44 lakhs-4.jpg

The 2018 next-gen Maruti Ertiga, now launched at Rs 7.44 lakhs-5.jpg

link

Last edited by volkman10 : 15th November 2017 at 08:34.
volkman10 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th November 2017, 12:54   #75

If Ertiga is growing bigger, I would like to see a transformation to the direction of an SUV - just like how the Crysta is coming out of the MPV design of old Innova and inching closer to SUV design. A mere extension of the rear section of current Ertiga will make it look unbalanced and weird from the sides.
The 2018 next-gen Maruti Ertiga, now launched at Rs 7.44 lakhs-marutisuzukiertigaleftsideview111107_0.jpg  

The 2018 next-gen Maruti Ertiga, now launched at Rs 7.44 lakhs-marutisuzukiertigaleftsideview111107_2.jpg  

Last edited by romeomidhun : 15th November 2017 at 13:05.