Old 22nd October 2018, 20:19   #376

Re: The next-gen Hyundai Santro

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post

ACI complies the probable variant list,
So in the probable variants, there is no passenger airbag in any of them? That's really sad on part of Hyundai if it's true. Since they're launching a new car altogether, they could've provided both airbags as standard. If Hyundai can give 6 airbags in some of their offerings in top variant, what makes them skip it in the new Santro. I hope Autocar and myself are proven wrong.

I just got a school friend of mine to change from Creta SX Petrol to SX(O) only for the safety aspect. The sales advisor had given the regular crap, that you don't need Traction Control and Stability Program plus side and curtain airbags in regular use ( zaroorat nahi padti hai). Another one suggested to get an i20 Active as he'll get everything at a lesser price.
BoneCollector is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2018, 20:19   #377

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
See how horrible is the front view of the Santro, rear view too is strange!
Totally agreed. Front view is downright ugly. Maybe, after fitting the number plates, the monotony of that huge front grille will get toned down. Rear is much more palatable and looks more like that of Grand i10, especially the tail lights design. But, definitely, the previous Santro was much better look wise especially the Xing model.
Old 22nd October 2018, 21:37   #378

Originally Posted by BoneCollector View Post
So in the probable variants, there is no passenger airbag in any of them?
That’s not true.
True to Hyundai’s commitment to safety and features, expect the Top trim to offer Passenger Airbag.
Old 23rd October 2018, 08:44   #379

Just an quick attempt (in MS Paint) to make the Santro look a little better.

The next-gen Hyundai Santro-santro.jpg

The next-gen Hyundai Santro-santro2.jpg

If I could do this with MS Paint, I am sure Hyundai designers have much much more capable visualisation tools at their disposal and could have done a better job with this.
DriveOnceMore is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2018, 09:23   #380

I'm quite surprised no brochure leaks until D-Day !
People are still guessing the features expected at trim level

Anyways received the webcast link from a friend for the New SANTRO launch
Starts 11:30am onwards

-Hyundai Webcast Partner link http://hyundai.multitvsolution.com/index.html

-Hyundai India Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/HyundaiIndia/

-Hyundai India Twitter Page https://www.twitter.com/HyundaiIndia/

-Hyundai India YouTube Page https://www.youtube.com/HyundaiIndia/

-Hyundai India Instagram Page https://instagram.com/hyundaiindia (only on mobile phone)
FIAT3031 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2018, 11:30   #381

Very confusing to see the strategy from Hyundai.
They are bringing back brand Santro which established them 20 years ago so ideally they should be confident, a bit smug and dare say a bit overconfident. But then we see them do gimmicky marketing with a version "D-lite" to just show sticker prices. I highly doubt if they will even produce 10 units of this version. I mean how can they in this day and age release a car with no power steering, manually operating windows even in front, no heater-AC and not even a stereo system I guess.
I mean does Hyundai really need to fool people into coming inside your showroom?
Old 23rd October 2018, 11:43   #382

The New SANTRO has received 23,500 pre-Bookings. Accounts for about 3 months of production volumes.

The next-gen Hyundai Santro-2.jpg

The next-gen Hyundai Santro-1.jpg

Seven colours of Santro!

The next-gen Hyundai Santro-3.jpg

Source:Hyundai/launch tweets

Last edited by volkman10 : 23rd October 2018 at 12:00.
volkman10 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2018, 11:46   #383

Originally Posted by RaghuVis View Post
Very confusing to see the strategy from Hyundai.
But then we see them do gimmicky marketing with a version "D-lite" to just show sticker prices. I mean does Hyundai really need to fool people into coming inside your showroom?
Sticker price makes or breaks a decision. Most people have a price band set in mind before the purchase and only tend to go overboard when they're lured in to the higher variants.
So Sticker price is utterly important not just for cars but every other product in the market.

Remember the xx99 price (eg: Rs 999 only), its a human tendency to believe you're actually paying less. While the difference between 999 & 1000 is just Re 1, however customers are content with the lower sticker price
FIAT3031 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2018, 11:48   #384

Originally Posted by FIAT3031 View Post
I'm quite surprised no brochure leaks until D-Day !
The next-gen Hyundai Santro-1.014.jpeg

The next-gen Hyundai Santro-1.013.jpeg

The next-gen Hyundai Santro-1.012.jpeg

The next-gen Hyundai Santro-1.008.jpeg

The next-gen Hyundai Santro-1.011.jpeg

The next-gen Hyundai Santro-1.007.jpeg

RavenAvi is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2018, 12:43   #385

The launch prices are as follows...
It's all special Introductory prices for the first 50,000 cars

The next-gen Hyundai Santro-untitled.jpg

No AMT in Asta Variant is not nice but it probably because they did not want to cross the psychological 6,00,000 barrier of ex-showroom price.

Last edited by hemanth.anand : 23rd October 2018 at 12:59.
hemanth.anand is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2018, 12:44   #386

D Lite 3.89L
Era 4.24L
Magna 4.57L
Sportz 4.99L
Asta 5.45L

Found this walkaround of the Santro Asta -

Last edited by sibot : 23rd October 2018 at 12:50.
sibot is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2018, 12:49   #387

I was expecting Santro to undercut Tiago. Doesn't look to be the case. I wonder if Tiago will be threatened since price-competitiveness factors very high for someone in this budget.
ksameer1234 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2018, 12:50   #388

The next-gen Hyundai Santro

Surprising, only 700-800 were watching Live stream on official Hyundai YouTube channel.

Manual and AMT price difference between Magna variant is ₹61k and in Sportz variant is ₹47k.

Shahrukh was in all praises for his association with Santro for more than 20 years.

Last edited by jaaz : 23rd October 2018 at 12:55.
Old 23rd October 2018, 12:52   #389

Disappointed with AMT prices in particular. Ignis Delta is 5.6 lakhs, Zeta is 6.2 lakhs, with quite a few offers going around. At that price it offers better engine with much more power, dual airbags, better space and a higher segment car.
autorahul is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2018, 13:01   #390

Why do I get this feeling that this is nothing but a heavily redesigned i10?

Should be a good hit, especially in the rural markets - with the Santro badge.