Old 30th March 2018, 19:28   #61

re: The Jeep Compass Trailhawk. EDIT: Launched @ 26.8 lakhs

Trailhawk with H/T Tyres!
Why Jeep why?
Also seems like the sunroof is given a miss again.
ishlinea7260 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th March 2018, 19:38   #62

Originally Posted by ishlinea7260 View Post
Trailhawk with H/T Tyres!
Why Jeep why?
Because most Trailhawk buyers will never take it offroad. They will buy it only because it is the topmost model.
Samurai is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 30th March 2018, 19:43   #63

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Because most Trailhawk buyers will never take it offroad. They will buy it only because it is the topmost model.
+1.

And because it has the diesel + automatic combination most premium SUV buyers look for!

But the missing panoramic sunroof is a serious omission if this is indeed the production version for India.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th April 2018, 19:08   #64

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Googled but could not find even one review of the 163 bhp 1.4 petrol coupled with a 6 speed manual transmission. Is this an entirely new combination for the Indian market?
A close friend of mine has recently taken delivery of petrol sport variant manual after following up with multiple dealers for close to 2 months. While delivering the car yesterday, the SA said this is the first petrol manual in entire west India Havent got the facts verified by anyone though, so could be taken with a pinch of salt.
Maddy3008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th April 2018, 23:29   #65

I visited KHT FIAT/Jeep in Domlur yesterday.
Came to know:
1. They have received more than 330 bookings for Trailhawk
2. The engine will be not the regular 2.0L but 2.2L with 200bhp
3. Sunroof will be there
4. 9speed automatic gearbox
5. Delivery starts mid Jul’18
6. Price will be around 28L on road.

I am surprised by a) 330+ bookings, and b) 2.2 L 200bhp engine - which is a news to me. If true, it will be stoncker of an engine.

<typed on a hand held device. Please ignore typos>
daretodream is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th April 2018, 23:41   #66

Originally Posted by daretodream View Post
Wow! Jeep surely has turned the fortunes for FCA India and how!

Totally doubt it. Haven't seen this engine used in Compass Trailhawk anywhere. It's present from Cherokee onwards.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th April 2018, 00:24   #67

b) 2.2 L 200bhp engine - which is a news to me. If true, it will be stoncker of an engine.
Well, 2.2L diesel was only in the previous gen Compass IIRC & that too only made 160 odd hp.

Clearly there is some major confusion.
Old 18th April 2018, 06:16   #68

There is indeed a newer version of the 2.2 Diesel developed in 2015 to be Euro 6 compliant (see link below). It makes 200 HP and a stonking 440 NM of torque. It is said to be specifically designed for off road applications where more low range torque is needed. Also does 0-100 a good two seconds quicker, I. e., around 9 seconds to the ton. It is being used in the Cherokee at present.

If this news is indeed true, I am seriously going to be thinking of getting the Trailhawk. Best of all worlds - Diesel economy, off road capability, compact size, automatic transmission and all other creature comforts, topped off with a meaty powerful engine. Bring it on, FCA!

https://www.enginetechnologyinternat...-chrysler.html

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/JTD_engine
84.monsoon is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 18th April 2018, 08:17   #69

Rumour: Jeep to launch Compass Trailhawk in India in 2018

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
There is indeed a newer version of the 2.2 Diesel developed in 2015 to be Euro 6 compliant (see link below). It makes 200 HP and a stonking 440 NM of torque. It is said to be specifically designed for off road applications where more low range torque is needed. Also does 0-100 a good two seconds quicker, I. e., around 9 seconds to the ton. It is being used in the Cherokee at present.

If this news is indeed true, I am seriously going to be thinking of getting the Trailhawk. Best of all worlds - Diesel economy, off road capability, compact size, automatic transmission and all other creature comforts, topped off with a meaty powerful engine. Bring it on, FCA!

I have already driven this 2.2L Diesel engine in the Alfa Romeo Stelvio late last year & have a dedicated thread too for the same;

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...o-austria.html

BUT this 2.2L going in on the Trailhawk is Not understandable, specifically as Jeep is already producing 2L diesel for Australia. Then why an extra effort with a new engine for India ?
karan561 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th April 2018, 07:05   #70

I am surprised by a) 330+ bookings, and b) 2.2 L 200bhp engine - which is a news to me. If true, it will be stoncker of an engine.

The sales person I interact with at KHT Yeswantpur, clearly told me that they have booked only 3 Trailhawks so far. If Bangalore were to get 300 bookings, FCA would be sitting on a 5k order sheet for the Trailhawk, all india.

The 330 bookings seems a fast one by an eager salesperson.

The 2.2 ltr engine could be another rumour. FCA would not want to exponentially increase the cost of the Trailhawk to a point that it may not sell. If you see, there are still a lot of uncleared 4*4 stock from 2017.

Last edited by Arjun Reddy : 19th April 2018 at 07:17.
Arjun Reddy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th April 2018, 13:44   #71

I visited KHT FIAT/Jeep in Domlur yesterday.
Came to know:
3. Sunroof will be there
4. 9speed automatic gearbox
5. Delivery starts mid Jul’18
6. Price will be around 28L on road.

<typed on a hand held device. Please ignore typos>
The top spec Limited(O) 4x4 costs 28 lacs on road here in Bangalore. Is Jeep planning to offer Autobox,Sunroof, better 4x4 free of cost?

Last edited by PrideRed : 19th April 2018 at 13:45.
Old 20th April 2018, 14:04   #72

I have pre-booked Compass Trailhawk in KHT Yeshwanthpur, Bangalore (mine was 12th booking).
I spoke to my dealer - according to him
1) Total 18 bookings in KHT so far, may be 70 bookings overall
2) No confirmation on sun roof availability but could be there, no change in engine and only 9 speed automatic (Reason I pre-booked) is confirmed
3) Launch is mid July but could happen early

Now with XUV facelift launch i am in 2 minds whether to go for W11 AWD Auto or wait for trailhawk .. anyways will try to test drive XUV facelift this week end

Last edited by Acelerar : 20th April 2018 at 14:24.
Acelerar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th April 2018, 20:38   #73

Originally Posted by Acelerar View Post
Now with XUV facelift launch i am in 2 minds whether to go for W11 AWD Auto or wait for trailhawk .. anyways will try to test drive XUV facelift this week end

Considering there has been no major bump up in the power,I would look at the XUV only if I needed the additional space and the extra seats. If you are going to be driven around it makes for a comfortable SUV.

If you drive yourself, just stick to the Trailhawk. Yet to drive the new XUV but honestly I do not expect it to be on rails. You will be spending more on the Trailhawk but I guess you have the budget for it.
All the best.

Last edited by Arjun Reddy : 20th April 2018 at 20:40.
Arjun Reddy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2018, 08:05   #74

Obviously the sales person is talking through the wrong orifice. The Compass is a global model and they will never bear the cost of integrating a different engine in to comparatively low volume variant. The international version of the RHD Trailhawk comes with the regular 2.0 MJD engine. Why would they put a few 2.2s for the Indian market??

Totally doubt it. Haven't seen this engine used in Compass Trailhawk anywhere.

Originally Posted by Arjun Reddy View Post
The 330 bookings seems a fast one by an eager salesperson.
The 2.2 ltr engine could be another rumour.
Exactly !! . Agree with both comments above.
4x4addict is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2018, 13:29   #75

Spoke to Jeep dealer in mumbai he also confirmed 350+ bookings (looks like 350 bookings are all over india) what they mentioned is 2.0L engine with 9 speed gear box, all black interiors, panoramic sunroof.

Sales persons going to come back to me on 4X4 manual TD and with more details on Trailhawk. Looking at reviews I am keen to book Trailhawk.