Old 3rd September 2019, 20:10   #2521

Re: The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs

Originally Posted by HK. Oby View Post
Whoopsie, it seems that the image changed as soon as I opened the door to get off. It was showing tire pressure indicator before that. The monochrome display was more than adequate, I had test driven the GT model before it, and the additional screen is more of a luxury than a necessity. Everything in the monochrome one looks slick, and there are 4-5 screens you can flick through using a button on the steering wheel. Note: tire pressure when I drove it was 49 on all tires, and the SA was confused why that was so and said that he would get it changed.
Will be going on another test drive of the same vehicle soon, so I'll get the pics of all the screens then.
Also, beside the gear, there was button labeled 'Shift Lock Release'(I think, I will get a pic of this, too, soon). The SA had no idea what it was- when asked if it was like the auto-hold function in MG Hector(which I LOVED, and will miss), he said 'Yes', but when I tried to use it in traffic, the car still moved. Does anyone know what this could be?
Please look at my earlier post (post 2491 on this thread), the recommended tyre pressure is 35 PSI.
Please test the vehicle at that pressure and then give us your feedback regarding the ride quality.

And please get us the images of the 3.5 inch MID screen as well, thanks.

The 'shift lock release' button is used to lock the gear lever in the current position.
For eg, when the button is engaged, you will not be able to change from P to R, etc.

What you are talking about is the 'hill hold assist', which prevents backward rolling of the car on an incline and is only available on the GTX/GTX+ trims of the Seltos.
Vedant Gupta is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2019, 20:15   #2522

Originally Posted by sandygordon View Post
How would you compare octavia 1.8 tsi vs seltos GDI 1.4 DCT in

- Seating comfort

- Body roll

- Ride

- Fuel efficiency if you have noticed

- Visibility
It seems you've made up your mind about having an AT in your next car, so won't waste your time suggesting the Octavia 1.4 TSI MT Style.

To be fair, Seltos is punching above its weight in this comparison. And that's a good thing. Or is it? The pricing is wrong for the amount of product you get with the Seltos. It's just a matter of slightly higher EMI as you have mentioned to let you have one of the executive segment sedans.

- Octavia is definitely better in the seating comfort department. Seltos lacks lumbar support and proper side bolstering. Long journeys would be tiring.
- Body roll is well contained in the Seltos. Given it's short height, it drives just like a sedan.
- Ride, I found to be similar to the Octy. My car is 135K kms run though, and runs 50 profile tyres. The Seltos' higher profile tyres definitely help its case. But I didn't check in the cluster if the TD car's tyres were over inflated, but pretty sure they were given it gave constant "thuds" over potholes. So expect better performance with proper air pressures. By far the best ride quality I ever experienced was in a Jeep Compass. Give it a try if you haven't already.
- Fuel efficiency for me is stable at around 12.5-13 kpl in mixed conditions over long term. Highway cruising is easily 16-17 kpl for me, and worse I've seen is around 7-8 kpl in the city. Seltos shouldn't be too far, but totally depends on how one drives. Yet to see a long term figure from a proper road test of the Seltos.
- Visibility again, I found it similar. In the Octy I sit at a medium height, and for the Seltos, I had to lower the seat just a tad bit to find that perfect driving position. Both cars give you similar judgement of the surroundings allowing you a view of the hood, but I still feel the Octy is better in terms of overall visibility.

If budget allowed, my pick here would be the Octavia 1.4 TSI MT Style or the 1.8 TSI DSG Style (with good discounts)
adi_petrolhead is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 4th September 2019, 11:51   #2523

6200 Seltos Dispatched, 2 weeks passed since launch, close to 1.8 Million views on this thread, 2500 posts/replies among them, and not even a single Bhpian bought it or got it delivered??
RaghuVis is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th September 2019, 11:57   #2524

Originally Posted by RaghuVis View Post
6200 Seltos Dispatched, 2 weeks passed since launch, close to 1.8 Million views on this thread, 2500 posts/replies among them, and not even a single Bhpian bought it or got it delivered??
Looks like someone has taken delivery and already gotten the upholstery changed. I think this is the HTK+ variant. Beige does kind of look nice and premium in my opinion. Not too sure about the faux wood inserts though. Leather wrapped steering looks neat.

Source - Car Stylein Facebook Page

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-69227319_2374942412601201_8989329033988669440_n.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-69365593_2374942209267888_2244027971578888192_n.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-69380546_2374942479267861_3644256575012470784_n.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-69482919_2374942205934555_2590833313576910848_n.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-69517157_2374941495934626_533739524358930432_n.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-69588642_2374942389267870_7241622904700403712_n.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-69740632_2374942675934508_6241074354285707264_n.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-69778768_2374941522601290_4269199639707648000_n.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-69807351_2374942279267881_2603977339431813120_n.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-69976317_2374942359267873_3491463036147859456_n.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-70001713_2374942302601212_676547521958379520_n.jpg

Last edited by rahul_goyal : 4th September 2019 at 12:04.
rahul_goyal is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 4th September 2019, 11:57   #2525

Originally Posted by Alive2Drive View Post
I would love to see harrier come up with the harrier automatic and how that might also shift things in their favour.
I love the Harrier for the way it looks & would want an Indian company to do well particularly better than the Chinese & Korean.
But nothing is going to shift in favour of the Harrier (not even an Automatic) till it does not improve its commitment towards quality & consistency.

It's a shame that Honda dropped the hrv plans , they could have made the most of this havoc created by kia
I think it was a good move by Honda !

Originally Posted by AGwagon View Post
We both are completely in the same boat, and both have been following both the Hector & Seltos thread from quite some time now.
Hector is non-existent for me !
Old 4th September 2019, 12:59   #2526

Seltos has beaten the Hector in sales in Aug. Kia sold 6200 units in Aug while the Hector managed 2018 units. Source..
Old 4th September 2019, 12:59   #2527

Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Seltos has beaten the Hector in sales in Aug. Kia sold 6200 units in Aug while the Hector managed 2018 units.
I would not be surprised if Kia eventually sells more number of cars, part of it due to the fact that it has many variants with prices starting sub 10L. But these figures per se to me look like MG was un prepared for the kind of gigantic response that it got from our market and is actually facing production issues and hence the lower numbers.

Don't know if this has been discussed previously but I was just going through the Seltos spec sheet and it seems that front sliding arm rest is only offered in the GTK variant and all other variants in both trim lines get a fixed arm rest! Why on earth would Kia come up with this strategy and what sense does it make? A sliding arm rest is highly desirable and it is usual for companies to offer it in the higher variants. Kia is doing the opposite by offering it only in the entry level variant of GT series. Can someone please explain this?

Last edited by drmohitg : 4th September 2019 at 13:02.
drmohitg is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th September 2019, 13:18   #2528

I would not be surprised if Kia eventually sells more number of cars, part of it due to the fact that it has many variants with prices starting sub 10L. But these figures per se to me look like MG was un prepared for the kind of gigantic response that it got from our market and is actually facing production issues and hence the lower numbers.

Don't know if this has been discussed previously but I was just going through the Seltos spec sheet and it seems that front sliding arm rest is only offered in the GTK variant and all other variants in both trim lines get a fixed arm rest! Why on earth would Kia come up with this strategy and what sense does it make? A sliding arm rest is highly desirable and it is usual for companies to offer it in the higher variants. Kia is doing the opposite by offering it only in the entry level variant of GT series. Can someone please explain this?
I asked the SA the same thing, but he claimed that it is not sliding in any model, even though it says so on the spec sheet. Still, I heard someone mention that this could be because of the Air Purifier. In the higher versions, this feature is present, and for it, the filter and apparatus are in the armrest, so it can't be moved. This could be the reason, in case the sliding armrest is present.
HK. Oby is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th September 2019, 13:40   #2529

I thought all the variants getting the air purifier have fixed armrests as it is engineered that way so that would be the HTX/HTX+/GTX/GTX+.

The HTE/HTK/HTK+ are lower variants and probably that is why they don't get sliding armrests.

GTK is priced at a premium but does not get the air purifier so they gave it a sliding armrest.

I don't know if this makes sense, but this seems to have happened.
Vedant Gupta is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th September 2019, 13:45   #2530

Visited the Kia showroom over the weekend with my mind set on booking a mid-range diesel automatic as a daily run about for the family. The GTK automatic version is a bit too bare ie no climate control, no leatherette reclining seats, led lighting and misses a whole lot of extras.

The next automatic version is HTX+ which is straightaway around 3 lacs more. There should have been an in between automatic version which gets the GTX trim. Im confused now whether to get the GTK automatic or pay a little more and get the GTX manual diesel. The top of the line automatic is just too expensive. I wonder how Kia missed this sweet spot for people wanting diesel automatics.
Old 4th September 2019, 14:00   #2531

I am considering booking the Diesel AT in the top trim and confused between the HTX+ and GTX+. Assuming a price hike of 1L the OTR difference between the 2 variants comes to around 1.2L. Provided KIA keeps the feature list intact for the Diesel AT GTX+ variant, a price difference of 1.2-1.5L is completely justified. You gain:
1. 4 airbags.
2. 360 degree camera
3. Blind spot camera
4. Heads up Display
5. Hill hold
6. ESC
7. VSM
8. Brake Assist
9. Rain sensing wipers
10. GT badging with the red inserts - can be personal preference but to me they look cool if combined with the correct paint shade.

It is only to be seen if Kia doesn't get greedy and either makes the price difference more than 1L or delete features.
Old 4th September 2019, 14:38   #2532

Hey guys,
My HTX+ automatic has reached the stockyard and I just went to take a look at it. We’re all set to take the delivery of the vehicle but, with the recent rumours / news of the possibility of the GST being reduced I’m confused if I should go ahead or wait and see if there’s a change in the GST structure. Any inputs / suggestions would be welcome.
Attaching some pics I took of the car.
The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-2d9339b0b01d42258802722d8cee067c.jpeg  

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-b86b467f3182459aa52fd20da5a7baea.jpeg  

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-1a797d838b3e4fd6af4ba4658440a27c.jpeg  

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-a8b130dc90a1489fae79439c0967aec4.jpeg  

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-615d65b584104a39beef07927ea6a743.jpeg  

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-c933320e54ca4e38acadc3add2ee7f55.jpeg  

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-b0df9b1f7c3246b4855c84b1f66857c2.jpeg  

10nitin is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 4th September 2019, 15:00   #2533

Originally Posted by Vedant Gupta View Post
Please look at my earlier post (post 2491 on this thread), the recommended tyre pressure is 35 PSI.
Please test the vehicle at that pressure and then give us your feedback regarding the ride quality.

And please get us the images of the 3.5 inch MID screen as well, thanks.

The 'shift lock release' button is used to lock the gear lever in the current position.
For eg, when the button is engaged, you will not be able to change from P to R, etc.

What you are talking about is the 'hill hold assist', which prevents backward rolling of the car on an incline and is only available on the GTX/GTX+ trims of the Seltos.
Today I have driven GTX DCT and HTX IVT. The PSI I have seen in DCT is: 35(driver side front), 36(Passenger side front), 34( driver side rear) and 35(passenger side rear). With this I reset mileage and checked for short drive of 6 kms. Before reset it was showing 6.4 kmpl and by the time I completed my TD it showed 9.8 kmpl with AC ON, which I felt was good mileage and I did not put too much force on my right leg. Driving DCT was first time exp for me and it was pleasure driving be it the way it responds and the feel inside the cabin and with Sports mode it has very nice sound that comes.

On HTX IVT, before my TD the reading was showing 6.5 kmpl, I reset it and went in the same route. The reading after my TD was 12.9 kmpl with AC ON as road was not having too much traffic and I could reach speed of 50 max with revving up and down frequently to see how it performs. The IVT is smooth and I felt bit lag while taking one of the steep as I was in lower speeds(~20) due to traffic, not much though and it picked up nicely after that initial glitch. The PSI of the IVT I did not check personally but my SA told it is in same range as DCT in 34-36.
govs is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th September 2019, 15:26   #2534

As per the latest info received the GTX+ DCT & GTX+ Diesel AT variants launch, pricing will be announced on 12th September.
karan561 is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 4th September 2019, 15:36   #2535

I am considering booking the Diesel AT in the top trim and confused between the HTX+ and GTX+. Assuming a price hike of 1L the OTR difference between the 2 variants comes to around 1.2L. Provided KIA keeps the feature list intact for the Diesel AT GTX+ variant, a price difference of 1.2-1.5L is completely justified. You gain:
1. 4 airbags.
2. 360 degree camera
3. Blind spot camera
4. Heads up Display
5. Hill hold
6. ESC
7. VSM
8. Brake Assist
9. Rain sensing wipers
10. GT badging with the red inserts - can be personal preference but to me they look cool if combined with the correct paint shade.

It is only to be seen if Kia doesn't get greedy and either makes the price difference more than 1L or delete features.
I would definitely recommend waiting for the diesel GTX+, if the buy is not very urgent. Considering all the safety features one is getting plus all the bells and whistles (which you might as well get when you are paying so much anyways) make it a more practical buy.

Originally Posted by 10nitin View Post
Hey guys,
My HTX+ automatic has reached the stockyard and I just went to take a look at it. We’re all set to take the delivery of the vehicle but, with the recent rumours / news of the possibility of the GST being reduced I’m confused if I should go ahead or wait and see if there’s a change in the GST structure. Any inputs / suggestions would be welcome.
Attaching some pics I took of the car.
The next GST council meeting is scheduled for the 20th of September, 2019.
Personally I don't see a major tax cut coming up.
The GST on the Seltos is currently at 45% (28% GST+17% cess).
Both the Centre and States are struggling for resources but you never know, we might just get a 5-10% decrease.
Vedant Gupta is offline   (1) Thanks