Old 23rd June 2019, 10:05   #406

re: The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs

Originally Posted by simeonovitch View Post
The 1.6-litre petrol engine in the current Creta makes a maximum power of 123PS
1.6-litre diesel engine of the current Creta makes 128PS
If power number is the logic - we should have had Ford Figo and Aspire selling in 3000s per month (at least), Abarth Punto should've been selling 500s, JTP twins should've been darling to the market - and they are not. There are a lot of things the manufacturers should do to make the cars interesting - bells and whistles matter, at least for the majority out there. When we lack options in the market, we need the bold moves from new players in the market - so let us welcome KIA, MG etc with open hands. Let us sit back and watch and not complain.
vinodvayyat is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2019, 10:42   #407

Some of the arguments against the Seltos are mind boggling. Everyone is entitled to his/her own opinion. But trying to force fit an argument against something is IMHO not in good taste.

1. No market would grow without new brands and companies introducing their new products. I don't even know how to argue on this point.

2. The whole market is getting shook up due to new regulations. There are certain segments being vacated completely and companies re-thinking their whole business strategies. Engine capacities and specifications are also a result of this re-jig. Selectively quoting this as a "step back" may not be appropriate

3. Platform sharing is not new. Why is this suddenly bad?

4. Why is it that all of a sudden, too many options is negative? Kia is currently a single product company and they can surely manage their inventories and production. Moreover, why should WE even bother how they manage, as long as they give what I have ordered for!!

Lastly it's not whether an opinion is popular on unpopular, doesn't really matter. As long as it is based on facts and not on one's own biases.

Last edited by octane_100 : 23rd June 2019 at 10:42. Reason: typo
octane_100 is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2019, 10:42   #408

Originally Posted by simeonovitch View Post
Fact check time.
A) This will have the same engines as the next-gen Creta.
B) This will be based on the same platform as the next gen Creta
C) There are three engines on offer. Two 1.5 (Petrol and Diesel) and a Turbo Petrol 1.4
D) Both the 1.5 make less power than the 1.6 in the Creta. Talk about taking a step back.

Who, in their right mind would spend that much. On a creta.

I can criticize Kia for positioning the brand the way they have positioned it.
I can criticize Kia for giving it 1.5 Engines, which are less powerful than the ones in the current gen Creta.
I can criticize Hyundai for launching the Kia as a premium brand.

To me, the brand positioning makes ZERO SENSE.
For vast majority of Indians out there, performance and better engine outputs are not a priority. Why do you think Maruti is selling so many units of their models ? Why is that the 'Creta', which you're referring as 'over-priced' is still selling a solid 9K-10K units a month ?

Regarding the 1.5L engine units, you have answered it in your first point. These are the new batch of BS6 engines which will be replacing in Hyundai's stable as well. We do not know their power outputs nor their driveability. We are living in a country where most of us are going to spend most of our driving times in stop and go traffic. BHP and outright power delivery doesn't matter to the mass. Driveability matters.

Yes, both Kia and Hyundai may not premium brands abroad. But, in India, the level of quality, fit and finish, attention to detail that a Hyundai offers is far better than many of the popular brands. And that's the reason Hyundai succeeded well over its counterpart, Honda. Further, Hyundai's used to have boat like ride quality long back, but they have improved a lot now. That is exactly what is reflected in their growing sales chart.

Kia's President has over numerous times specified that they're are a late entrant to our market and they only have a one time opportunity to make it right. Whatever they have done so far is promising. So, let's just give Kia some time in our market, hope that they succeed and stop deriding.

Cheers !
akhil_rpmlover is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2019, 13:20   #409

This is probably the best time for the new entrants to come in. Launch latest products as per upcoming regulations.

From Kia's point of view, along with MG (Chinese element is something they have to overcome) right now they are probably in the best space that any manufacturer can be. They will not saddled with any inventory that is not compliant. Kia has taken all these things into consideration.

Seltos as a product:
1) It is in the best segment. Literally a low hanging fruit.
  • Hatch is over crowded and price conscious. You are heads on with the market leader
  • Compact SUV's again crowded - competition everywhere. Cannot price it too premium as people would want a bigger car
  • Sedans not worth entering now
  • Crossover /SUV - best region to be where you can command a premium with features and a growing one. Our craze to be seated high along with Potholed roads makes this a default choice for the majority if budget permits.
  • above 20 Lakhs - you enter a niche segment.
2) It has the ideal form factor
  • Creta is success because it is the ideal form factor that Indian's aspire for. SUV looks without the bulk. Cars upto 4.5m is the parking that is available majorly in the metros and the top tier cities.
  • Seats 5 people with decent luggage space. Unless one needs a people mover this is good for 90% of the populace. Lack of the tunnel (from pics) makes it a good choice
  • 1.5 L engines if tuned well are convenient for both city and highway drives.
  • Multiple engine choices - If we get them we should feel happy. One manufacturer feels choice of transmission should be with the customer
3) Few Aspirational Features
  • Bose speakers - We will immediately connect to this (Audiophiles will disagree )
  • Airbags - Safety covered
  • Sunroof - bragging rights covered
  • Large Touch screen

I am quite surprised by the microscopic level of criticism we are giving the new boys (who are investing 100's of crores). The products are not even on the road yet. Lets give them time people. We Indians don't take crap for too long.

Originally Posted by octane_100 View Post
2. The whole market is getting shook up due to new regulations. There are certain segments being vacated completely and companies re-thinking their whole business strategies. Engine capacities and specifications are also a result of this re-jig. Selectively quoting this as a "step back" may not be appropriate

Last edited by indian21r : 23rd June 2019 at 13:27.
indian21r is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2019, 13:40   #410

I welcome the 1.5L engines. Because of stupid 100cc more, the insurance increases significantly. BRV with 1.5L petrol engine has insurance cost of 35-40k, whereas Creta 1.6L petrol almost twice of that, if not more. I say this increased insurance cost is worth it if the engine is significantly larger than 1.5L, but not for just 100cc more.
ani_meher is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2019, 19:39   #411

Some pics coming in from a recent dealer meet;

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-img20190623wa0001.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-img20190623wa0005.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-img20190623wa0008.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-img20190623wa0007.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-img20190623wa0012.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-img20190623wa0009.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-img20190623wa0003.jpg

The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-img20190623wa0004.jpg
karan561 is offline   (55) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2019, 19:50   #412

Originally Posted by karan561 View Post
Some pics coming in from a recent dealer meet.
Thank you for the interior pictures.
May be in a minority here but I am glad they have omitted the electronic parking break for the conventional lever.
Maybe the top end versions may have it.
Boot looks spacious too - another thing we love in our market.

This seems to be a competent product and all depends on how it drives & how it is priced.
Ithaca is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2019, 21:06   #413

1. Ground clearance on GT line is low. Hope it is not so on the standard car.

2. The all black interiors are looking better than those black-beige ones on the event’s MT display car. Hope they have an option of choosing black interiors across variants.

3. And ohh please, do i see a XUV5OO in that front grill and claw like lights!!
The Kia Seltos SUV (SP Concept). EDIT : Launched at Rs. 9.69 lakhs-f7d31d789ed14649bb8e5d3152bf2f58.jpeg

Last edited by manson : 24th June 2019 at 13:39.
hydraulicsteer is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2019, 21:17   #414

Originally Posted by Ithaca View Post
Thank you for the interior pictures.

May be in a minority here but I am glad they have omitted the electronic parking break for the conventional lever.
Maybe the top end versions may have it.
If the top end GT line doesnt have it i dont think other variants may have it.

Boot looks spacious too - another thing we love in our market.
YES !

This seems to be a competent product and all depends on how it drives & how it is priced.
True.

Originally Posted by hydraulicsteer View Post
1. Ground clearance on GT line is low. Hope it is not so on the standard car.
Intersting, so if there are mechanical upgrades on the more powerful GT line, 'sporty' variant its a good thing i believe.

2. The all black interiors are looking better than those black-beige ones on the event’s MT display car.

3. And ohh please, do i see a XUV5OO in that front grill and claw like lights!!
No, i think you may be the 1st person to compare this to an XUV500.
karan561 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2019, 21:19   #415

Isnt the dashboard a little too high? Or maybe it is the angle of the pic.

The seltos is a looker
Hope the driving dynamics match the looks.
SideView is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2019, 21:19   #416

I can't spot paddle shifters or a sports mode in the GT line. A wee bit disappointed.
octane_100 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th June 2019, 00:54   #417
MAS

The pics are from two different cars. The Stereo systems seem to be different. One has no manual buttons,
Attachment 1887188

while the other one has a host of manual buttons.
Attachment 1887182

And.. that's an interesting MUV
Attachment 1887184
Innova Competitor?
MAS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th June 2019, 00:58   #418

Originally Posted by MAS View Post
The pics are from two different cars. The Stereo systems seem to be different. One has no manual buttons,

while the other one has a host of manual buttons.

And.. that's an interesting MUV
Innova Competitor?
The picture of stereo with buttons is the unit for lower variants. The 10.25" unit without any physical button is the top variant. The MUV there is the Kia Carnival.

Last edited by akhil_rpmlover : 24th June 2019 at 01:00.
akhil_rpmlover is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 24th June 2019, 07:19   #419

Kia Seltos To Get 8 Monotone and 5 Dual Tone Colour Options.

Monotone options:

- Intense Red /-Punchy Orange /- Clear White /-Glacier White Pearl/-Steel Silver/-Gravity Gray /-Aurora Black Pearl/-Intelligency Blue/

Although the dual tone colour combinations are yet to be announced, they were showcased during the Seltos’ official unveil. As far as the interiors are concerned, the dual-tone version of the Kia Seltos is likely to feature contrast stitching inside the cabin on touch points such as the steering wheel, gear lever and probably the seats like in the Hyundai Creta.

volkman10 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th June 2019, 07:29   #420

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Kia Seltos To Get 8 Monotone and 5 Dual Tone Colour Options.
Monotone options:
- Intense Red /-Punchy Orange /- Clear White /-Glacier White Pearl/-Steel Silver/-Gravity Gray /-Aurora Black Pearl/-Intelligency Blue/
Curious to see the difference in Clear White vs Glacier White Pearl.

Now I'm wishing the top end variant GTi is 19L on road so I can close the deal. Creta is too bland in its current form. It doesn't even have disc brakes in rear, not sure why it's selling so much.

Last edited by manson : 24th June 2019 at 13:40.
panamera13 is offline   (3) Thanks