Old 12th September 2018, 08:27   #166

re: The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs

These are the sales figures of Honda CR-V in India . What will be the monthly sales figures will be Honda's target for the new CR-V - 200 ?

The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs-21.jpg

Source:Auto Punditz
volkman10 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th September 2018, 09:00   #167

Originally Posted by AbhiJ View Post
I dont see a sunroof!!
I think its there, visible on the red car -

The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs-img_20180912_085754.jpg

The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs-img_20180912_085800.jpg

The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs-img_20180912_085904.jpg

The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs-img_20180912_085804.jpg

CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th September 2018, 14:21   #168

https://www.autocarindia.com/car-rev...t-drive-409686

First reviews are out..
AbhiJ is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2018, 14:33   #169

New Generation Honda CR-V Specifications Revealed, Launch Soon.

The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs-specshondacrve1536913736102.jpg

Honda CR-V Review ( CnB)

The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs-ie52htc4_hondacrvreviewindia_625x300_14_september_18.jpg

The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs-1pter0t_hondacrvreviewindia_625x300_14_september_18.jpg

The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs-4d7b1of_hondacrvreviewindia_625x300_14_september_18.jpg

The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs-6jvn6khk_hondacrvreviewindia_625x300_14_september_18.jpg

The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs-ae5qplk_hondacrvreviewindia_625x300_14_september_18.jpg

The Honda CR-V, now launched at Rs 28.15 lakhs-pegd58j4_hondacrvreviewindia_625x300_14_september_18.jpg

Last edited by volkman10 : 14th September 2018 at 14:54.
volkman10 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 14th September 2018, 14:42   #170
AYP

Looking at the Cargo Space section in the above attached file, it seems that Honda is not going to offer the petrol CR-V with a 7 seater configuration. I don't get the logic of this at all and hope that it is not true. There may be a good number of customers who won't care for those 2 extra seats but still. Why?
Old 14th September 2018, 15:13   #171

Originally Posted by AYP View Post
Looking at the Cargo Space section in the above attached file, it seems that Honda is not going to offer the petrol CR-V with a 7 seater configuration. I don't get the logic of this at all and hope that it is not true. There may be a good number of customers who won't care for those 2 extra seats but still. Why?
Petrol 7 seater could get the bad reputation for being a fuel guzzler, its better to play safe and focus on diesel, still the popular one for SUVs, whatever the buzz is.

I think we'll get the 192hp 1.5 petrol turbo once BS6 fuel is widely available. The petrol quality we get right now must be illegal in most countries, Honda won't risk their reputation for reliability with factors outside their control.
Old 14th September 2018, 19:00   #172

Here are the reviews:

Zigwheels

Motorbeam

The diesel AWD is touted as the best handler and fun to drive. Petrol has better headroom and legroom due to no third seats.
Honda's mix and match of features in variants baffles me like Hyundai.
Seven seats in diesel not in petrol
AWD in diesel and not in petrol
Diesel has no gear lever (only buttons), petrol has gear lever.
PraNeel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2018, 19:55   #173
AYP

Originally Posted by avira_tk View Post
Petrol 7 seater could get the bad reputation for being a fuel guzzler, its better to play safe and focus on diesel, still the popular one for SUVs, whatever the buzz is.
How much weight do you think will those 2 extra seats add to the car? Negligible.

If the petrol 7 seater is a fuel guzzler, so will be the 5 seater.
Old 14th September 2018, 21:09   #174

1.6 ltr diesel unit will make Honda CRV on par with Duster, Creta and S-Cross. S-Cross 1.6 gives 118 bhp@3750 rpm and 320 nm @ 1750 rpm and will definitely be more powerful than CRV at power to weight ratio.
Old 14th September 2018, 21:24   #175

Originally Posted by AYP View Post
You lose 10% of bootspace with the 3rd row seats.
————
Here is a review of the CVT Petrol version:
Sahil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2018, 21:59   #176
AYP

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
You lose 10% of bootspace with the 3rd row seats.
————
Still, it is not making any sense. Then they should have followed the same approach for the diesel. Do they think that only the diesel owners would carry around 7 people and not petrol? It may or may not be true, but I still can't make any sense out of it.
Old 14th September 2018, 22:18   #177

Something tells me that, this car will be a hit thanks to its small engine(1.6 diesel), timing of this launch couldn't have been better and many may find cars like Fortuner, Innova and Hexa to be very expensive to run. Given that petrol and diesel may inch closer to the century mark, this might be a tempting option.

People might think few rupee saving for someone investing more than 20L may not matter, but we live in a country where even the most expensive Merc i.e the S-class sells more with small diesel even though they have better options.

Last edited by giri1.8 : 14th September 2018 at 22:19.
giri1.8 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 16th September 2018, 07:49   #178

I was in the market for an SUV in this segment .

PROS:
  1. Looks like Honda did not skimp on features
  2. Panaromic sunroof, digital cockpit, Decent Touchscreen infortainment system with apple car play and android auto, Good quality interiors, LED headlights etc
  3. All features seem to be available in the 2WD model too and not restricted to 4WD models like other manufacturers do
  4. I actually like they are offering a 5 seater version although I wish they offered it in diesel too

CONS:
  1. No electric tailgate which all competitors offer
  2. No satnav. I know it is not a must with android auto and carplay but still something competitors offer.
  3. the puny diesel engine. Competition offers better engines. Tucson outputs 180 bhp, tiguan is at 140 bhp, hexa offers 150 bhp, compass offers more than 150 bhp I am not comparing endeavor and fortuner because I believe people who are looking at those will not be looking at CR-V.
  4. the infotainment system is not in the same league as to what VW offers. Hyundai's facelifted tucson (not available in india yet) also has a better one.

I think honda is banking on its brand value and the reputation for quality among urban indians to sell the underpowered diesel. I hope it becomes a sales dud and honda is forced to bring the twin turbo 160 ps version, unless of course they price is very aggressively which I do not see happening.

I expect the top spec to be closer to 32 L OTR (around the same as 4WD tucson). I think I will give this version a miss and wait for the facelifted version of tucson to hit india sometime next year. Looking at this, tiguan feels like value for money. I hope skoda brings the karoq soon to india.
etrast75 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th September 2018, 10:30   #179

Originally Posted by etrast75 View Post
I was in the market for an SUV in this segment .

PROS:
[/list]
CONS:[*] the puny diesel engine. Competition offers better engines. Tucson outputs 180 bhp, tiguan is at 140 bhp, hexa offers 150 bhp, compass offers more than 150 bhp I am not comparing endeavor and fortuner because I believe people who are looking at those will not be looking at CR-V.

I think honda is banking on its brand value and the reputation for quality among urban indians to sell the underpowered diesel. I hope it becomes a sales dud and honda is forced to bring the twin turbo 160 ps version, unless of course they price is very aggressively which I do not see happening.

I expect the top spec to be closer to 32 L OTR (around the same as 4WD tucson). I think I will give this version a miss and wait for the facelifted version of tucson to hit india sometime next year. Looking at this, tiguan feels like value for money. I hope skoda brings the karoq soon to india.
I agree with most of your points, however the engine choice has me perplexed. Why would Honda give this car such an obvious con during launch? Reputation once soiled takes time in restoring.

Here are two theories:

First: They wanted the vehicle to gain the "kitna deti hai" halo and try selling with that as a USP. (Will that work in this segment? What was the last time someone compare fuel efficiency between a C Class and 3 Series as a buying decision?)

Second: Honda, having tasted success from the Amaze, is planning aggressive pricing for the CRV! In that case the smaller engine makes tremendous sense!

I really hope for the sake of customers, Honda and the CRV 2018, my second theory holds true.
Old 16th September 2018, 11:01   #180

After evaluating the reviews, especially the Zigwheels one which actually compares the petrol vs the diesel in detail- I have booked the petrol CRV

This car will replace my Fortuner which has gone from being the most used car in the house to being the least.
The CRV will be used by my mother who prefers SUVs but also gives a big importance to ingress and degrees Catch 22
Hence ladder on frame SUVs are out. Even though her past two car over the decade have been the Endeavour and Fortuner. I guess age is beginning to catch up a bit.

Why did I pick the petrol over the diesel:
- Urban usage
- More boot space as this car will be used for airport runs. The last row of seats in my Fortuner were used less than 8 times in 8 years.
- CVT. Although this a major drawback for me personally, the car will be 95% chauffeured. The CVT is the smoothest transmission for Mumbai traffic, we have had a CVT Honda city in the past that proved this.
- Better headroom and legroom at the rear seats
- Grey future of diesels.

Btw, did anyone notice a retractable sunblind for the rear windows? I hope this feature is there or I’ll have to rely on those annoying magnetic ones.

Hopefully car will be delivered before Diwali. Leaning towards white or silver.

Of course, as always it’s only after the TBHP review and a test drive will I put the full payment down.

Last edited by Vid6639 : 16th September 2018 at 15:41. Reason: petrol diesel swapped
Sahil is offline   (5) Thanks