Fiat to manufacture Linea at Ranjangaon

Saw this news at rediff Fiat to manufacture Linea at Ranjangaon
Old 5th May 2007, 16:43   #77

Originally Posted by swathyd View Post
Do you know how large the vehicle is , it is as big as a corolla
Well.. I was comparing it to Octavia because it has a similar sized Diesel engine. Corolla doesnt even have a diesel engine, so why even bother. I am sure the Octavia is bigger, if not, heavier than the Linea.

Tata Indigo XL's wheelbase is a whole 50mm longer than Corolla. But I would be a laughing stock if I went around saying Indigo XL is as big as a Corolla!!

Its wheelbase is also big enough to accomodate a 1.9 engine.
I know that the engine would fit in (btw, I own a Palio 1.9D).

I was just saying it would be an overkill for a C+ segment car. I would prefer if they put a 1.4 JTD and make it more affordable. Last thing anyone would want to see is Fiat positioning Linea as a D segment car. But then, we Indians are such suckers that manufacturer fool us very easily.

Last edited by spadival : 5th May 2007 at 16:58.
Old 5th May 2007, 23:59   #78

Originally Posted by spadival View Post
I am sure the Octavia is bigger, if not, heavier than the Linea.
Linea dimessions :

Length: 4560mm
Width: 1730mm
Height: 1500mm
Wheelbase: 2600mm

Source: Linea dimensions

Skoda Octavia dimensions:

Length: 4507mm
Width: 1731mm
Height: 1431mm
Wheelbase: 2512mm

Source: Skoda India's website

Skoda Octavia (Laura) dimensions:

Length: 4572mm
Width: 1769mm
Height: 1462mm
Wheelbase: 2578mm

Source: Skoda International website.
Old 6th May 2007, 00:27   #79

Hmm.. Then u can say tata to Linea too.. Price of 8-9 lakhs will be a pipe dream.. I am sure they will price it in the 12-13 lakh range.
Old 6th May 2007, 13:07   #80

Originally Posted by spadival View Post
Hmm.. Then u can say tata to Linea too.. Price of 8-9 lakhs will be a pipe dream.. I am sure they will price it in the 12-13 lakh range.
I don't quite understand what you are trying to say ...You are trying to say that if they price it at 8-9 lakhs, we can say goodbye to linea as no one will buy it, but on the other hand you feel sure that it will be priced at 12-13 and it will be a success

P.S: Thanks 'amit' for providing the dimensions

P.P.S: If India is made the manufacturing hub for RHD Lineas, there's a great chance that the luxurious interiors will make it here, what say?

Last edited by arif_t01 : 6th May 2007 at 13:15.
Old 6th May 2007, 13:35   #81

@ Arif - i think he meant to say that expecting a price of 8-9 lacs will be a dream and it will be priced at around 12-13lacs for sure, and i guess he meant to say if the Linea is priced at 12-13lacs it wont be a success.
Old 6th May 2007, 16:57   #82

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post

1+2 - A quarter glass on the front and the rear? Something new to me.
An incorrect observation my auto-loving friend. You can see it on the Honda Civic. Take a look.
In fact a front quarter glass would be usual on cars, that dont create a mounting triangle, out of the side view mirrors. (Like the Wagon R, which also has a front quarter glass)

Ergo, by design a car that has what appears to be a extended side-front cabin, needs the mirror to be closer to the driver and therefore it is mounted on the door itself. This creates an empty area where the mirror unit is normally situated and a quarter glass is placed there. (To facilitate the roll down of the rest of the glass window)You can find this kind of mirror mounting (present on the linea above) both on the civic and the NHC.
This is also present, by design on the NHC, therefore, the NHC does have a quarter glass upfront.

It should have also had a rear quarter glass, but that has been substituted by a quarter glass shaped plastic triangle.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 6th May 2007 at 17:02.
Old 6th May 2007, 17:07   #83

Sam bhai In this case the both the front and rear quarter glass are not present on the doors.

In effect that is a new design cue.

ps: hey you used the word ergo a good example. hehehe
Old 6th May 2007, 17:14   #84

In the Honda Civic, the front quarter is not part of the door, but the rear is.
A car that i can think of where the rear quarter glass is not part of the door, is the Optra. But there is no front quarter glass.

So a combination would be new. I see your point viddy.

I was merely pointing out to MFs statement about both a front and rear quarter glass to be something he had not seen before.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 6th May 2007 at 17:15.
Old 6th May 2007, 22:25   #85

Unfortunately fiats own engine(1.9 jtd 120 bhp) will serve new baleno. Where as fiat s' linea will be powered by 1.3 jtd !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 6th May 2007, 22:53   #86

Unfortunately fiats own engine(1.9 jtd 120 bhp) will serve new baleno. Where as fiat s' linea will be powered by 1.3 jtd !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I believe that Linea is going to come with multiple engine options...
This would include the 1.9 JTD as well.

Full marks to Maruti for their statergy!!! Their timing has been perfect!!

They lauched the Swift Diesel option way before the Puntos
And the SX4 before the Linea.

Before Fiat launches its product, Maruti would have been an established leader. Fiat would then have to settle for left overs..

Pity... technology by FIAT but money to Maruti
Old 7th May 2007, 14:48   #87

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
@ Arif - i think he meant to say that expecting a price of 8-9 lacs will be a dream and it will be priced at around 12-13lacs for sure, and i guess he meant to say if the Linea is priced at 12-13lacs it wont be a success.
Spot on.. If the Linea is same size as an Octavia, then why would Fiat not position it as a D segment car?
Old 7th May 2007, 15:22   #88

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
In the Honda Civic, the front quarter is not part of the door, but the rear is.
A car that i can think of where the rear quarter glass is not part of the door, is the Optra. But there is no front quarter glass.
So a combination would be new. I see your point viddy.
Sam I think I need to take another look at the Civic. I haven't been observant enough.

I was merely pointing out to MFs statement about both a front and rear quarter glass to be something he had not seen before.
I caught that! .
Old 7th May 2007, 15:57   #89

Originally Posted by raajks View Post
Pity... technology by FIAT but money to Maruti
Well, surely FIAT is also making a lot of money by licensing the engine - that too what is speculated to be, from multiple vendors in India. One time R&D - create fantastic engine and sell them to be used on popular marques.
Old 7th May 2007, 16:28   #90

SX4 will not get the 1.9JTD 120bhp engine. I think the 1.3 MJD VGT has a better chance in the SX4.

For the Linea, Fiat should give the car the 1.3 MJD 90bhp AND the 1.9JTD. That way they can cover both the Fiesta's and Verna's on one end and Corolla and Octavia at the higher end.