Old 31st August 2018, 02:11   #451

Re: The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs

Suzuki Connect is not in the list. Does it come standard with the Ciaz?
No it has to be bought separately. More details here: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...-launched.html
PraNeel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st August 2018, 08:17   #452

Hello guys...i drive a Baleno Alpha CVT and an i10 Asta AT as my daily cars. I took a TD of the Alpha AT Ciaz yesterday. It was a long one with a mix of highway and city driving. My observations on the engine+transmission are -

1. City - the car is very eager at low revs at city speeds and situations. Quick darts into gaps are far better than the baleno and the gearbox due to its taller gearing does feel useful to potter around all day. Fuel efficiency within city was also good (13.5 kmpl for a 6 km drive on Sinhagad Road, Pune at 10 am in the morning) and easier to achieve due to the Start-stop feature on the car. Engine refinement was excellent. Feels perfectly at home in the city. I would imagine that a CVT would have definitely hampered its performance based on my long term experience between the Baleno and i10.

2. Highway - out here the proficiency of the gearbox is definitely lower than in the city as an overall package. I guess the engine has what it takes to make this car a good ride but the gearbox due to its limited and tall gearing can be a mild disappointment. I am not a pedal to metal kind of a driver and prefer to have minimum throttle out on the highway to cruise at 90 to 100 kmph. While doing this when the car approached long slopes, i could feel the deficiency of the box while climbing up such inclines as downshifting happens while the engine is in its flat spot at the moment demand more from the car. So overtakes beyond 70 to 80 kmph will need to be planned well as the buildup of speed beyond this threshold can be slower than expected.

Is this a deal breaker for me and most? I dont think so. It is still a very balanced package and delivers what most people would expect from it - a hassle free , comfortable , efficient, reliable and well priced commuter.

Still i think a CVT would have been a downer and hampered performance further. MSIL do have a 6 speed AT Torque converter available in their stables. It is fitted on the export version of the Baleno with the 1.0 L Boosterjet. The power and torque figures of that engine are not far removed from the territory of this new 1.5L (Torque being slightly higher). Wondering why they have not used it in this car. They do have a price cushion vis-a-vis their competition in India and looks like an opportunity missed.

All in all when i am in the mood for some high adrenaline fun i do have my 530d sitting in the garage for those late night runs. But for the rest of the times i am happy to pick up one of these. Booked myself a white Alpha AT. Lets see when i arrives !

Cheers !
Dieselite is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 31st August 2018, 09:55   #453

Had a chance to look at the Ciaz. Was at NEXA to check out the SCross 1.3 Zeta for a friend who is comparing it against the Nexon, and got some time to check out the Ciaz as well. Did not take a test drive, and will be doing that probably over the weekend.

My take from the showroom experience -
+ Looks nice. Not trying too hard and should age well.
+ Feels 'Nexa' enough in terms of the interior.
+ Loads of space for a C segment car.

- Missed oppurtunity for a fully loaded 6 airbag, sunroof variant. Is very capable enough to take on City top variants in this new avatar.
- Same old 1.3 diesel. Not even interested to take a TD since I've already done my share of miles on the VGT 90hp multijet. Will try the 1.5 petrol if at all I take a TD.

Taking the spotlight at NEXA. Feels like the NEXA flagship IMO, grabbing the title from SCross.
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_160203b_1600.jpg

Familar design elements from the rear -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155121.jpg

Except for the new tail lamps, alloys and chrome surrounds for the rear reflector housing -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_154757_1600.jpg

The new front end -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_154956.jpg

Side is as clean as Japanese designs come. Looks most European among the Asian designs in India -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155013.jpg

The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155111.jpg

The chrome horizontal lines on the sides make the Ciaz feel slightly longer than earlier I feel. (Window line + fog lamp surrounds)
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155412.jpg

The new front end. Please ignore the slight gap above the grille, as the Bonnet seems to be open. Didn't realize at that point when clicking!
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155427.jpg

Looks premium in the NEXA blue shade -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_154757.jpg

Ciaz going out for a TD when we had just returned from the SCross drive -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_163601.jpg
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 31st August 2018, 10:24   #454

Closer look at the interiors. Cabin in two words, spacious and airy -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155700_1600.jpg

Indian families who like beige will find this very welcoming. Loads of space and the beige adds to the welcoming feel -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155208.jpg

Same story continues at the rear -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155133.jpg

Gets a very premium feeling colour MID now -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155229.jpg

Though these blue needles are an eyesore as others already pointed out -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_161256.jpg

Smartplay touchscreen entertainment system shared with other models in their stable -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155236.jpg

Closer look at the new faux wood inserts on the dashboard -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155248.jpg

Cubby hole behind the gear level reminds me of the one in our Xcent. Has a soft feel and spring loaded opening action. Looks like a fingerprint magnet though -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155308.jpg

Hides a cubbyhole for phone, two for cups, and the USB and cigarette lighter sockets -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155300_1600.jpg

Sunglass holder in front of the ORVM. Opens in a nice loaded action -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155929.jpg

Five speed manual -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_160000.jpg

Passenger gets a vanity mirror, but no lights -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155943.jpg

SRS Airbag marking for the passenger, printed on the faux wood insert -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_161017.jpg

Glove box feels decent in space, but could have used felt lining + spring loaded opening action -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155852_1600.jpg

One of the best backseats in the segment -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155150.jpg

Legroom after setting the front seat to a relaxed driving position -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155542.jpg

Gets pullup sunblinds for the rear -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155144.jpg

ISOFIX mounts for securing childseats -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155558.jpg

Dedicated cabin lights on either side -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155611.jpg

A/c vents for the rear. Good armrest for the front -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155638.jpg

Seats feel soft. Gets a rear armrest, but center passenger wont be all too uncomfortable. SCross, in comparison, was very bad in this regard. Also the beige will not age well - but Indians do have a big soft corner for it!
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155140.jpg

Rear door pad. Good space between seats and the B pillar to slide out comfortably.
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155629.jpg
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 31st August 2018, 10:30   #455

Yet to check out the car but those headrests don't look too comfortable. They seem to jut out too much vs the backrest angle. So you can't really sit up straight, will force your neck forwards from the looks of it.

I think they just borrowed headrest from the hatchback and slapped it onto the Ciaz.
Vid6639 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 31st August 2018, 10:55   #456

Closer look at some of the details. The new front end -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_154956.jpg

LED projector headlamps on the Alpha variant -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_160244.jpg

The new grille. Bonnet is open in this pic.
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155435.jpg

Closer look at the grille elements -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_160256.jpg

The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155446.jpg

Huge chrome on the foglamp surrounds will divide opinion -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_160306.jpg

New diamond cut alloys with 195/55 R16 Apollo Alnac 4G tyres -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155511.jpg

Wheel wells are fully covered. This is for the rear -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155744.jpg

Chrome surrounds again, this time for rear reflector housing -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_160117.jpg

New LED Tail lamps -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_155051.jpg

Many youngsters would be happy with these. Matches the BMW style aftermarket light mods being commonly done on both Ciaz and City.
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_160122.jpg

Bootlid is covered up. Material is similar to the boot carpet -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_160353.jpg

Spacious boot -
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_160342_1600.jpg

Liked the paint quality on this NEXA blue. Was having an extra glitter under the lights, as compared to the Baleno and Ignis parked in the same showroom.
The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_20180830_160721_1600.jpg

The end! Unless ofcourse I end up taking a TD soon.

Yet to check out the car but those headrests don't look too comfortable.
Goodpoint. My bad I missed. Initially when I sat down, it was digging into my neck. For my height, I had to push it all the way up and was comfortable at that position.

Headrests feel slightly softer than the ones in SCross, for which I was seated as a backseat passenger during the TD shortly afterwards. Not as flawed as the crossover, but yes - could have been much better specially when its at a lower position.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 31st August 2018 at 11:00.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 31st August 2018, 11:39   #457

I like the treatment that Maruti has given the front end of the Ciaz except for those dollops of chrome on the fog lamp garnish. The new alloys look sweet. Maruti haven't gone overboard with the interior either and the new wood trim looks very nice.

However I wish Maruti had done something at the rear too which looks a bit too plain jane and a little disconnected from the facelift at the front. Anyhow this will certainly boost the sales of the Ciaz especially now that they have a petrol engine. But what would I give to see an RS version of the Ciaz with the 1.4L BoosterJet and all black interiors.

Drive on,
Shibu.
shibujp is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st August 2018, 21:06   #458

Originally Posted by shibujp View Post
But what would I give to see an RS version of the Ciaz with the 1.4L BoosterJet and all black interiors.
Maruti plays it extremely safe with their product lineup, so no chance of any turbocharged petrol engines in the Ciaz.

Even the 1.5 petrol seems to be tuned towards fuel economy - with an ARAI tested 21.56 kmpl against 17.8 kmpl of the City.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 31st August 2018, 21:19   #459

Does the Ciaz come with more than 2 airbags in any of the global markets?
Old 1st September 2018, 10:56   #460

The end! Unless ofcourse I end up taking a TD soon.
Good report, well done

Great effort put in by Maruti Suzuki to deliver a proper facelift to the Ciaz.

PS - Loved the New 16" Alloy Wheels
Old 1st September 2018, 11:42   #461

Maruti Suzuki Ciaz shows 7002 units dispatched to its dealers in its August Sales figures.

Well will take a few more months to establish its leadership position but most likely the 'King' is back.

Last edited by volkman10 : 1st September 2018 at 11:44.
volkman10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st September 2018, 14:23   #462

Checked out the new Silver colour Ciaz facelift yesterday at the showroom. Looks very nice in person. I guess it is the same as Baleno silver.The Maruti Ciaz Facelift. EDIT: Now launched at ₹ 8.19 lakhs-img_3965.jpg
ashish2135 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 1st September 2018, 14:32   #463

Are the tail lamps a combination of LED and conventional? I can see a bulb in the photo with a reflector as well.
Old 1st September 2018, 14:47   #464

I loved the new styling! Looks sharp and premium. As usual I see chrome overdose which will be replicated to lower variants too!!

But for once I was hoping that maruti will come with 6 airbags and a sunroof! This is their flagship model and quite successful one. If there was one Alpha Optional model ( somewhat like zdi+) with 6 airbags and other niceties, public would have happily paid for that. Folks are shelling out 15-16 big ones for top of the line City with 6 airbags and sunroof. They can certainly pay little more for Ciaz (which will be much lesser than City ZX)
turbowhistle is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st September 2018, 19:08   #465

Looking for buy a petrol manual sedan for mainly city driving. Budget is appox 11lac. Have considered:

City:
It's a good car with great space at rear and brand. Fuel economy is decent as well. Getting the new Edge edition for 11.12Lac On road.

Ciaz:
I can get Top end Alpha variant for 11.45 On road.

Now,
I am confused between Honda City Edge Edition and Ciaz Top end Alpha variant. Any advise on how to decide?
gary4gar is offline   (1) Thanks