Old 9th April 2018, 21:08   #1

Renault announces 4 years / 1,00,000 km warranty on the Kwid

Renault has announced a 4 years / 1,00,000 km warranty on the Kwid hatchback. This includes the standard warranty of 2 years / 50,000 km and extended warranty of another 2 years / 50,000 km. Renault is also offering free roadside assistance.

Renault announces 4 years / 1,00,000 km warranty on the Kwid-renaultkwid06.jpg

As part of the Renault Secure program, existing owners of the Kwid, Duster, Captur and Lodgy can now extend the warranty coverage up to 5 years / 100,000 km. It will also include free roadside assistance for the duration of the Secure program.

The Renault Kwid range starts at Rs. 2.67 lakh (ex-showroom, Delhi). It is available in two engine options - 799 cc, 3-cylinder petrol engine with 54 BHP @ 5,678 rpm and 72 Nm of torque @ 4,386 rpm and 1.0-litre, 3-cylinder petrol engine that makes 67 BHP @ 5,500 rpm and 91 Nm @ 4,250 rpm. A 5-speed manual transmission is standard, while 5-speed AMT is offered on select variants.

Link to Team-BHP News
TusharK is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 9th April 2018, 21:41   #2

Re: Renault announces 4 years / 1,00,000 km warranty on the Kwid

But toothpicks don't last more than 4 minutes. What the heck will I do with a 4 year warranty on a car made out of toothpicks?

And roadside assistance? What will Renault do when my car made out of toothpicks breaks down? Build one from scratch beside the road and stick it together with spit and glue?

What are you smoking Renault?

Last edited by sourav9385 : 9th April 2018 at 21:43.
sourav9385 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2018, 08:17   #3

Originally Posted by sourav9385 View Post
But toothpicks don't last more than 4 minutes. What the heck will I do with a 4 year warranty on a car made out of toothpicks?

And roadside assistance? What will Renault do when my car made out of toothpicks breaks down? Build one from scratch beside the road and stick it together with spit and glue?

What are you smoking Renault?
Not that i love the Kwid, but thats very harsh. The Kwid is better built than the Alto and even Celerio in my view. Also i havent heard of any incident on the forum where people have been stranded because of the Kwid.
2000rpm is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 10th April 2018, 08:48   #4

This is certainly a confidence inspiring move by Renault. Not only they have seen success with this product after Duster, even the competition knows that Renault is able to breach the MSIL fort for entry level hatch.

In terms of looks and sitting space, it is ahead of Alto et. al. I think the threat that KWID is getting is from Tiago, which is comparatively better build and offers necessary active and passive safety features. It not too far in terms of pricing when compared with 1 liter KWID (not the entry level 800 cc trim).

Renault should also look at revisiting safety kit offered in the car to make it more desirable !
i74js is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th April 2018, 10:14   #5

Standard warranties cost companies money; I'm pleasantly surprised to see a 4 year warranty on an entry-level hatchback with wafer thin margins, when even 15-lakh rupee cars come with 2-year warranties today.

As a lover of warranty coverage, I must say 'hat's off, Renault'! This is a confidence-inspiring move. And the best part is, it only takes one manufacturer to offer something good before the others are forced to follow. I look forward to the day that 4 - 5 year warranties are standard in India, with extended options for another 2 - 3 years.

Originally Posted by sourav9385 View Post
A young man was polishing his 118 NE in the 90s when a Mercedes owner walked up to him.

Mercedes owner: You polish your car more than I do my Mercedes.

118NE owner: That's because this is 'my Mercedes'.

For a first-time car owner, the Kwid will probably be his Mercedes. Let's not make such sweeping statements against cars. Request to please post value-adding comments to discussions. Your post is frankly pointless and would have been deleted, if it wasn't already replied to above. If you want to discuss the pros & cons of a car, by all means do so objectively with facts backing them. Thanks!

The question you should ask yourself is - Is the Renault Kwid's build & quality inferior to others in the same price band? IMHO, certainly not! In many ways, it's actually better than the segment leader (Maruti Alto).

Last edited by GTO : 10th April 2018 at 11:44.
GTO is offline   (35) Thanks
Old 10th April 2018, 11:29   #6

As I remember Kwid came with extended warranty when launched. However I am unable to recall the tenure/no. of KM's . I believe it was limited to 4 years/80000 KM, though not sure. The first part of this post mentions warranty for 4years/1lac KM, subsequent the post also mentions 5years/1lac KM. So what is the max tenure/no of KM's warranty one can avail now?

Last edited by PrideRed : 10th April 2018 at 11:31.
Old 10th April 2018, 14:31   #7

Renault must be spending some money on offering this 4 years / 1,00,000 kms warranty. I am happy about this. I would have been happier, if they had spent this amount on making the car structurally safer (like the Brazil model). But, I guess, that would not have moved people as much as this and that is why Renault did this.
Old 10th April 2018, 14:47   #8

Originally Posted by ashlil View Post
Renault must be spending some money on offering this 4 years / 1,00,000 kms warranty. I am happy about this. I would have been happier, if they had spent this amount on making the car structurally safer (like the Brazil model). But, I guess, that would not have moved people as much as this and that is why Renault did this.
Renault did this "making the car structurally safer (like the Brazil model)" because Brazilian laws demand it.

Renault didn't do "making the car structurally safer (like the Brazil model)" in India because current Indian laws doesn't care.

When no other manufacturers care to offer safety in this wafer thin margin segment, and when even the laws doesn't care for any of it, why would Renault go all goody goody and stab themselves?

The standard extended warranty is all great. Hope it doesn't fold the brand.
SandyX is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2018, 15:20   #9

Looks like upper management has suddenly waken up by poor show of Renault in India during past few months hence some moves to make Indian customers happy. Earlier price cut on Duster & now the extended warranty on Kwid. Both are very welcome moves, IMO.

I am glad that Renault is at least serious about the Indian market unlike some European car makers (Yes VW, I am pointing at you).
bhavik.1991 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2018, 16:33   #10
v12

Is the 4 years / 1 lakh warranty applicable to existing users? Do they have to pay anything extra to avail of this warranty? Or is this now the standard warranty for all Kwid's (new and existing)?
Old 10th April 2018, 16:43   #11

Originally Posted by v12 View Post
Is the 4 years / 1 lakh warranty applicable to existing users? Do they have to pay anything extra to avail of this warranty? Or is this now the standard warranty for all Kwid's (new and existing)?
I just checked the official review and my car. The Kwid came with 4 years warranty back then. Only highlight now is the no. of KM's. Earlier it was 80000KM which is now bumped up to 1lac. Not sure what is this new 5 year extension though.

From official review
• Kwid gets a 2 year / 50,000 kms standard warranty. Renault has also thrown in 2 years of roadside assistance (with towing). Extendable to 4 years / 80,000 kms.
Old 10th April 2018, 16:50   #12

I had purchased this Extended Warranty in last December for my KWID 800

Renault announces 4 years / 1,00,000 km warranty on the Kwid-ew01.png

Renault announces 4 years / 1,00,000 km warranty on the Kwid-ew02.png

Renault announces 4 years / 1,00,000 km warranty on the Kwid-ew03.png

So the difference is 20000 KMs more before expiry, right?
Old 10th April 2018, 17:38   #13

Originally Posted by TusharK View Post
As part of the Renault Secure program, existing owners of the Kwid, Duster, Captur and Lodgy can now extend the warranty coverage up to 5 years / 100,000 km. It will also include free roadside assistance for the duration of the Secure program.
I own a 2014 Duster - which is covered under extended 4 yr/80000 KM warranty cover. Got really happy reading above and reached out to Renault dealer ( Whitefield Renault ) to find out if I can buy 5th year warranty. However, he mentioned that it can only be purchased if your car is under 'standard' warranty years/km and not under extended warranty years/km. Which means, you can buy 5th year warranty ONLY IF your renault car is within first 2 years and 50000 KMs of running.

Last edited by pranav_mankad : 10th April 2018 at 17:39. Reason: Removed redundant capital letter.
pranav_mankad is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th April 2018, 13:35   #14
Tgo

Originally Posted by pranav_mankad View Post
he mentioned that it can only be purchased if your car is under 'standard' warranty years/km and not under extended warranty years/km. Which means, you can buy 5th year warranty ONLY IF your renault car is within first 2 years and 50000 KMs of running.
I believe the news on team-bhp and other sites is out in advance. tried searching the Renault website to validate the claim but the Renault secure rate list is not updated with 5 year program. Someone on a group said that Renault has not finalized the rates and that's the reason why the outlets don't have details on pricing etc.

Things should be clearer in a few days.
Old 12th April 2018, 18:47   #15

Is this as segment busting a move as Renault says, specially the "4-year" bit?
Tata has been selling the Nano from 2015 onwards with a 4-year/60k warranty with options for paid AMC services which makes pretty good sense for very reasonable financial outlays.
And years back, I remember , ye old GM used to peddle their range with the USP of a 3year/100k warranty which they advertised heavily.
Definitely, it's a good , confidence inspiring move by Renault.
But pioneering? That's for the jury to decide

Last edited by arjab : 12th April 2018 at 18:49.