Old 22nd December 2006, 20:29   #1

BMW releases prices for cars in India

BMW finalises pricing plan for India
Byas Anand

[ INDIATIMES NEWS NETWORK ]FRIDAY, DECEMBER 22, 2006 03:16:06 PM
NEW DELHI: German luxury car maker BMW is stepping on the gas pedal in India, literally. As part of its entry plans for Indian market, BMW has decided to roll out five of its brands — 3-Series, 5-Series, 7-Series, X5 and X3 — in the country within four months.

The rollouts would cover the entire premium car market with the entry-level BMW 3-Series model 320i priced at Rs 26.90 lakh and some 7-Series variants carrying a tag of around Rs 1 crore, BMW India president Peter Kronschnabl told Indiatimes Auto.

“We don’t feel we are late in entering India, but we also do not want to waste time. The market is now ready for such premium segment offerings, and BMW intends to offer all segments of premium car buyers a choice. This is the reason why we have decided to introduce all the models in close succession,” he said.

“We have finalised out rollout strategy for India. Our maiden product will enter the market by February and all five models would be rolled out by mid-2007,” he added.

The India market debut will start with two 3 Series cars — 320i and 320d. Also, four models from the 7 Series stables — 730ld, 740li, 750li, 760li — have been shortlisted for sale in India through the direct import route. These five brands would be part of the initial introductions in India.

“Within most top-end segments, we will offer several variants — some through the import route and others through the assembly route. Alongside, opportunities for introducing other brands like M-Series and the mini would also be explored next year,” Kronschnabl added.

The Mini badge would be introduced through the CBU route and could be priced anywhere upwards of Rs 20 lakh. “We will explore if there’s enough demand to introduce the Mini in India by 2009,” he said.

It will also study the feasibility of setting up an international procurement office in India to source components for its global operations.

Redcandle
Old 22nd December 2006, 22:14   #2

26.9 for the 3series i think is on par with the C class if not more. Thats sad. I was hoping bmw would try and price it lower.
Almost convinced my dad if it was below 30 onroad to go for it.
still hoping.
Old 23rd December 2006, 10:13   #3

BMW has decided to roll out five of its brands — 3-Series, 5-Series, 7-Series, X5 and X3 — in the country within four months.
Talk about an all-out assault! Thats 5 model ranges in the same year. However, that also means that some / all of them will be CBUs because BMW does not have the infrastructure yet...to assemble all of these in India. I hope its not another half-hearted approach where CBU brands are launched and there really is no awareness. Local assembly and manufacture show commitment.

The India market debut will start with two 3 Series cars — 320i and 320d.
Sales of the 320d (alongwith the 5 series) will be the most interesting to watch. This 2 liter bad boy pumps out 160BHP +.
Old 24th December 2006, 00:54   #4

Well the Indian motoring is going to change now and for all..... Luxury meets Performance but with strange styling ofcourse...!!but I just love them!!!
Old 24th December 2006, 02:31   #5

Can someone post prices of C180K and C200 CDI for comparison.

BMW's timimg for launch may not be all that good. The new C is coming at the same time and will take the wind out of BMW's sails.

Last edited by Mpower : 24th December 2006 at 02:32.
Old 24th December 2006, 02:48   #6

c180 i think is around 25.4 lac and c200 cdi is around 28.5 lac
Old 24th December 2006, 03:00   #7

Exshowroom price approx:
C 200 K MT==26,73,877
C 220 CDI MT==29,17,153

On road prices[approx] ,mumbai:

C 200 K MT== 28,83,572
C 220 CDI MT== 31,46,917

C 200 K AT== 30,54,384
C 220 CDI AT== 33,18,384

Last edited by rahul_intlad : 24th December 2006 at 03:04.
Old 24th December 2006, 03:46   #8

Are you sure abt that Rahul ??

Coz a person my dad knows ordered a C-class with manual transmission but when the car was delivered, it was Automatic and he was really pissed. The salesman told him that all Mercs in India are automatic.

He was extremely pissed with them. BTw, this was at Sundaram Motors who are the only dealers for Mercedes in Bangalore....

That is why I am asking if manual transmissions are also available...
Old 24th December 2006, 03:59   #9

nikhil bhai, my uncle has a manual in his c-class, but that is a 2004 model so i don't know about the new ones but think you can get manuals.
Old 24th December 2006, 04:47   #10

Now this is interesting. BMW has always been 10% cheaper than equivalent Merc in the US.

So, for India they are going head to head to match prices...lets see how the public responds.
Old 24th December 2006, 11:16   #11

There definitely are manual transmission mercs in India.Our very own Super-admin is a proud owner of one.
Old 24th December 2006, 11:20   #12

Here you go nikhil,

Mercedes-Benz India - Showroom - C-Class - Technical Data

both the petrol and diesel are available in 6 speed manuals.
Old 24th December 2006, 12:35   #13

This Month's Autocar India says, "The initial batch of cars is likely to be all imports but sold at the domestic price, until the Chennai plant begins local production sometime in Feb."

BMW would be absorbing the cost of importing the CBUs!!

Intresting to hear...Made in Germany @ Indian Prices...
Old 24th December 2006, 12:39   #14

That also means the best time to get one would be the first batch.

But will the first batch of cars be localised for our fuel and roadssince they will be imported???
Old 24th December 2006, 13:06   #15

Finally BMW is here! But I am very disappointed because ACI reports that all BMW's in India will be Automatics. If it's true then it's a huge let down.