![]() | #241 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: May 2010 Location: Chennai
| ![]() This is the standard size for a "minivan" in the USA and Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Fiat Chrysler all have equivalent models. Kia calls is Sedona there. Honda is generally the leader (I have not checked lately) with their Odyssey. I owned an Odyssey in the US between 2004 and 2007 and it was the best family vehicle to ferry kids back and forth to playschool and weekend classes. Sliding doors make it so easy to lift babies in and out and strap them into child seats. Any of these players could have brought their minivans to India in the last 15 years. But they did not - due to lethargy and not paying attention to India as growth market. https://automobiles.honda.com/odyssey https://www.toyota.com/sienna/ https://www.chrysler.com/pacifica.html https://www.kia.com/us/en/sedona Kudos to Kia for identifying the niche and acting on it so quickly to bring their minivan here. The others can wake up at least now, with the government allowing CBU imports without homologation up to 2500 units per year. Last edited by 84.monsoon : 5th February 2020 at 12:37. |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #242 |
BHPian Join Date: Apr 2005 Location: Delhi
| ![]() Just got call from Kia, on confirming our delivery date for this month only. We confirmed same, including model i.e Limo and color i.e Silver. Limo is 5l expensive than prestige, but remembering my 2010 days when we payed 2.5l extra on Vx over Gx Innova, and still cherishing every day, covered with same analogy as well. ![]() The extra 1ft of Carnival, is really to my family advantage in terms the difference it is making interior sitting space and boot. ![]() Last edited by abhi1881 : 5th February 2020 at 12:49. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #243 | ||
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Apr 2016 Location: Pune
| ![]() Quote:
Our market is such that the Compass/Harrier get compared to the Creta/Seltos so the Carnival will also in some way get compared to the Innova as there is no other MPV in that price range. Last edited by OSH : 5th February 2020 at 13:01. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #244 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | ![]() More than 3,500 bookings have been received for Kia Motors' Carnival since it opened in January. But expect some cancellations as the market expected a bit lower pricing. Link |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #245 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2012 Location: BLR & KOL
| ![]() As per my understanding of the Indian Automotive scene and assumption along with a few conversations I had with my family & friends I have a few things to say about this topic and the pricing of Carnival.
Hence, I feel Kia already has a winner in hands. The sheer size and the overall feel of the vehicle a lot of those bookings should convert into purchase. IMO, Yes! The Limousine could have been cheaper but I will not call the Carnival overpriced and feel it will definitely do well in the market and I'm glad the days of Innova being the Ultimate 7 Seater is over. Though I just hope Carnival turns out to be as reliable as Innova if not more. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #246 |
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() | ![]() If we have come to accept premium sedans & cramped cars like the C-Class being sold for 40 - 45 lakhs, I think we should accept premium vans too. IMHO, there is a reasonable market for this MPV. I know of many rich dudes who can easily spend 10 - 20 lakhs over the Innova Crysta for a practical 7-seater, but they still bought the Toyota as there was no other option. The number of garages I know with an Innova parked alongside an S-Class or Jaguar is insane. Seems to be a proper luxury MPV for those who aren't price sensitive. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #247 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: May 2012 Location: BLR/PTR
| ![]() As a car(or a Van) i think pricing is fantastic. Base version Carnival will cost about 8lac more than base Innova Auto. For 8L you get more powerful motor, bigger car(more seats), few additional features and probably better looking interiors. The premium taxi market actually would love the 9 seater variants and I wouldn't be surprised if Carnival sell in good numbers. To me the biggest problem however is with looks, Carnival looks like a Van from all angles and Innova , though not an SUV, is higher up the ground is a departure from vanish looks. The latter will also have better GC. With current pricing, Carnival is now in Endeavour/Fortuner territory- We love SUV ![]() Last edited by PrideRed : 5th February 2020 at 14:08. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #248 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() If I were to pick one the 8 seater Premium version @ ₹25.15L is what was expected. Prices are as expected. Not high or low just right, remember this is KIA and not MG. |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #249 | |
Senior - BHPian | ![]() Quote:
I have a strong feeling Carnival will trump Innova big time. Higher-end Innova buyers will migrate to Kia , leaving Innovas mostly to cabs and bureaucrats while their political masters with their unlimited budget will shift to Kia. Even if this doesn't happen, it will keep Innova prices in check, from galloping away like they have been doing so far. As for size, it is relative. There are some who find Innova too big and opt for Ertiga. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #250 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Feb 2012 Location: Ghaziabad
| ![]() Quote:
![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #251 |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() I expected the base version to start from 22 L, IMHO prices are 10-15% more than VFM pricing. The target customers may not worry about this 15%,so KIA has got it correct with the pricing. While KIA had a very good Start in India, the durability of both Seltos and Carnival is yet to be proven - hope they will not disappoint us. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #252 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jun 2014 Location: Kuwait city
| ![]() Quote:
Last edited by wheeledsoul : 5th February 2020 at 15:29. Reason: Correction | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #253 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: Mumbai
| ![]() Quote:
1. Limo pricing: They are rightly milking the top end variant with a sizeable premium over Prestige. Think Bollywood, HNIs / UHNIs / business owners who are not going to blink at a few extra lakhs and this car stands alongside a super premium sedan. This is a better experience than their existing Innova and "money saved" over a comparable Velfire which they would not have plonked the big bucks for. 2. Prestige: Honestly, this is not shabby pricing at all at sub 35 on road. Perfect for several corporates, some premium fleet owners, rich families with a big headcount and slightly more budget conscious (think of it as a second car to anything between C or D segment sedan to a 5 series / X3 segment car. 3. Premium: Someone on top end Innova budget willing to go bottom end of the range for the benefit of the size. Honestly the base variant feels pretty rich too by any measure and they're rightly taking the fight to the top end Innova variant with their base version pricing. Some all round things going for it. It has a 200 bhp engine with a sophisticated AT and refined engine - across all variants!! Let size be the only concern - you at least get an easy to drive powerful AT regardless of which variant your budget takes you to - unlike the Innova which makes variant selection so difficult (no V AT, only G or Z ATs). I am confident the Innova at the very least will expand its AT to the middle variant too now. One thing about the Carnival - I will be very surprised if it will be the ONLY car in any garage. It is a REALLY long car and i would be surprised if there is a family out there which will keep this as their only ride. If I had to own this, I would at least keep a GT TSi in my garage as well as a 2nd vehicle. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #254 |
BHPian Join Date: Jun 2017 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() I can see babus rushing to KIA showrooms and booking "white" Carnivals for themselves. Also I can see several 5 star hotels ordering Carnival for it's taxi fleet. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #255 | |
BHPian Join Date: Jul 2015 Location: Delhi NCR
| ![]() Quote:
I think you have hit the nail on the head! Kia should indeed have priced the Carnival a bit more competitively if they were expecting to take away some of the Innova's market share. The way things are right now, Innova's reign of the MPV market seems likely to continue unhindered. | |
![]() | ![]() |