525i 1 1.10%
530i 43 47.25%
525d 46 50.55%
Voters: 91. You may not vote on this poll

Old 11th January 2007, 04:34   #1

BMW 5 Series Thread

BMW today launched the facelifted 5 series with minor but refreshing changes to the interiors and exteriors. In addition to this, all engines have been upgraded with an extra bit of oomph! . . . The best part of this all is that this will be the exact same version that will be released in India mid this year.
Indept details below....

To get a clear picture of what exactly the car is gonna look like ,check out this video BMW 5 Series Facelift

Engines: (For India) Figures in brackets denote the increase we will get now as compared to current specs

BMW 530i: Straight-six petrol engine with second-generation High Precision Direct Injection, 2,996cc, max output 272 hp (+14hp), max torque 320 Nm (+20Nm), acceleration 0–62mph 6.3secs (-0.2secs), top speed 155 mph (limited electronically), average fuel consumption 36.7 mpg (-14.3 per cent) (automatic transmission 37.7 mpg (-24 per cent)).

BMW 525i: Straight-six petrol engine with second-generation High Precision Direct Injection, 2,996cc, max output 218 hp, max torque 270 Nm (+20Nm), acceleration 0–62mph 7.1secs (-0.4secs), top speed 154 mph (+2mph), average fuel consumption 38.2 mpg (-17.5 per cent) ) (automatic transmission 37.7 mpg (-25.3 per cent)).

BMW 523i: Straight-six petrol engine with second-generation High Precision Direct Injection, 2,497cc, max output 190 hp (+13hp), max torque 235 Nm (+5Nm), acceleration 0–62mph 8.2secs (-0.3secs), top speed 147 mph, average fuel consumption 38.7 mpg (-16.6 per cent) ) (automatic transmission 37.7 mpg (-24 per cent)).

BMW 525d: Straight-six diesel with common-rail fuel injection and variable vane turbocharger, 2,993cc, max output 197 hp (+20hp), max torque 400 Nm, acceleration 0–62mph 7.6secs (-0.5secs), top speed 147 mph (+4mph), average fuel consumption 45.6 mpg (-11.5 per cent) (automatic transmission 43.5 mpg (-21.5 per cent)).

Pricing
Ex-showroom Thane Indiviual

523i 37 Lakhs
525i 41 Lakhs
530i 45 Lakhs
525d 42.24 Lakhs

That being said, pick your choice from the above. . . . but before you do so, check out what the PSI(Pete's) has to offer for the 525d

With the PSi box plugged in the 525d will increase performace as follows:
Power: 25 BHP gain
Torque: 48lbs+65Nm gain

525d+pete's box=530i

Last edited by Sahil : 11th January 2007 at 04:50.
Old 11th January 2007, 04:44   #2

for 4.24 lakhs i would love to have 10 525d, just kidding sahil bhai.
but i'll go for 530i, if i am spending 40+ anyways what wrong with having the best one on sale.
Old 11th January 2007, 19:41   #3

The best diesel version for the 5 series is the 530 d.It is full of torque (500Nm @ 2000RPM) , 6 cylinder in line , that vezrsion has got a lot of response, you are at 120 km/h @ only 2000 RPM on motorway, very stressfull to drive and fast.Have seen some 530 d on this forum pics were from India.or there is the almighty 535d 272 hp , the engine is the same than on the 530d but it has got a pair of turbo a small for low revs ang big one for high revs.It is a sporty diesel sedan.
Old 11th October 2007, 23:44   #4

Just drove a 525d and was very impressed by the performance. Diesels have come a long, long way over the past ten years!
Old 11th October 2007, 23:58   #5

525d is not the best diesel in the international lineup, by the same logic 530i is neither the best petrol. However the power/torque output figures are one thing, the rpm at which they are achieved is completely different. For me the one that revs higher in each gear.
Old 12th October 2007, 00:17   #6

That's what surprised me about the 525d, it red lines at 5,000 rpm...almost as high as low-tech petrol engines!
Old 12th October 2007, 00:20   #7

kbk- I have booked the 525d and still havent driven it... please give me some more insights on the performance i am earger to know if i have actually made the right decision over the petrol 525i !
How was the torque? Did you find any turbo lag at all or feel it run out of steam on higher revs?

Last edited by Sahil : 12th October 2007 at 00:21.
Old 12th October 2007, 00:38   #8

Dude...let me just say, you've made a damn good choice! I didn't drive any of the petrol 5s, but I drove the 325i and was not THAT impressed by the performance. Sure, it's quick, MUCH quicker than it feels, but the auto box makes the early going a pain. I enjoyed the 320d more than the 325i. Pity they have made the interiors and extra features on the 320d so few (no xenons for instance).

To answer your question, I think you've made the right choice. 525i or 525d, no contest...easily the 525d! 530i, I'd like to drive to see just how quick it is. 525d pulls beautifully from very low in the rev band, no turbo lag, revs to 5,000 rpm...it's a beauty! Best of all...amazing mileage! I was stuck in total bumper-to-bumper traffic for around 20 mins. Then when the road opened up I was really booting it and it indicated an average of around 9.5 km/L for the entire drive. Awesome! I think on a nice expressway cruise you should get an easy 15-16 km/L.

Only down-side for me...it's BIG. It FEELS big to me. The 3 feels very small and nimble. I guess it's just a matter of getting used-to the size. Also the ride on the 3 was nice and firm. I felt the ride on the 5 was a little looser and also the steering was not as direct as the 3. Too bad they don't offer a 325d with all the nice options!

BMW have gone back to mis-numbering their models...the 525d is a 3L 6 cylinder. Makes almost 200bhp and 400nm. I think the auto box is particularly well suited to the diesels, I felt a noticeable lag between kick-down and actual pull on the petrol 325i.

What colour have you ordered and how long is the wait? Congratulations, I'm sure you'll be very happy with your new car!
Old 12th October 2007, 00:54   #9

Thanks for the detailed review buddy ! Have ordered a silver with grey interiors... have waited well over 2 months now and got a call from the dealer that gonna take another month!! How long was the wait on the car you drove?

Am impressed with the mileage although the on-board computer doesnt usually denote the correct reading but anything around that figure is impressive! This was one of the main reason for me getting a diesel as the car is gonna be used on the highway pretty often. Just one last query, was the engine noisy at idle or sound harsh as you move up the rpm like most other diesels?
Old 12th October 2007, 01:13   #10

To be honest I didn't loiter around outside the car with the car idling, but there was absolutely no clatter inside the cabin. I didn't ask them the wait time, so I don't know. Looks like it's around 3 months then...
Old 12th October 2007, 10:24   #11

very nice.. but sahil wont recommend the tuning box.. it will void warranty.. there was a 530d which was fitted with a techtorque tuning box.. the car responce was amazing.. but the engine mounting were worn out in the first 15000 kms.. which we have not changed in any 530d yet.. also now the cars engine is busted.. with one of the connecting rods bent.. so would want u to be careful with that.. happy motoring!!

Mav!
Old 12th October 2007, 12:45   #12

Originally Posted by Maverick5490 View Post
very nice.. but sahil wont recommend the tuning box.. it will void warranty.. there was a 530d which was fitted with a techtorque tuning box.. the car responce was amazing.. but the engine mounting were worn out in the first 15000 kms.. which we have not changed in any 530d yet.. also now the cars engine is busted.. with one of the connecting rods bent.. so would want u to be careful with that.. happy motoring!!

Mav!
Thanks for the heads up Mav, i'm gonna run to you everytime i need some tech help on the car (hopefully that wont happen too often).
I am not looking to fit the tuning box, atleast not for now, was just impressed with the figures hence i posted it earlier.
I think 400nM of torque is enough to handle for now
Old 12th October 2007, 15:04   #13

Having owned a German diesel, its undoubtedly the 525D for me! The 400 NM of torque sounds mouth-wateringly delicious. Great in the city...equally good on the open road.

Compared to the other engines, its pretty well-priced too. I wouldnt be surprised if near 70% of 5 series sales are for the diesel.
Old 12th October 2007, 23:06   #14

havent driven any of the beamer 5 series. had my luck with my sister 330i... was phenomenal
anyhow, id love the 530i
Old 13th October 2007, 00:56   #15

my brother just took delivery of the 325i and was not impressed one bit with it and prefers the 320d. similerly i have driven the 5 series range here in delhi and i feel the best choice is the 525d. being a german diesel car owner too i can vouch for the power and the comfort for those long drives.
sahil you have made no mistake atall in your judgement to buy the car.