Old 12th January 2007, 19:35   #1

Hyundai Sonata Diesel @ 14.75 lacs

Read all about it HERE

Its a 2.0 litre CRDI , 142 BHP @ 4000 RPM with torque of 33 kgm/2000~2680 RPM with a 6 speed manual !!! Check it out - Hyundai Sonata Diesel

Last edited by normally_crazy : 12th January 2007 at 19:39.
Old 12th January 2007, 19:42   #2

Thats good news for sure! 2007 is year for Diesel Lovers.

Thats why I picked up Petrol Innova before Toyota stop its production

Ravi.
Old 12th January 2007, 20:02   #3

That's a great price. Need to know more about the car's performance and efficiency.
Old 12th January 2007, 20:09   #4

Thought its tempting news but i still don't have a good feeling about it selling like hot cakes.. but time will tell
Old 12th January 2007, 20:14   #5

great price and all...but will people leave the mighty skoda and go in for a sonata diesel...i dont think so...
Old 12th January 2007, 21:01   #6

142 hp, 33 kgm torgue and a 6 speed manual sounds quite interesting...I think our tuners could extract much more out of it.

Price should have been more tempting though...
Old 12th January 2007, 21:36   #7

This is one car, I've bin waiting for anxiously. Embera is already nice.. PLUS Diesel, 142 BHP, 6 speed manual .. Cool. Korean or not, Hyundai sure knows where to hit the market ,,, Lets see the specs when its out ..
Old 12th January 2007, 21:51   #8

I read somewhere that from 2008 Hyundai does not want to be recognized as a manufacturer of low cost cars and therefore will up prices of all its models starting in Europe; this to sidestep the even lower cost Chinese autos expected to debut then. Slightly off-topic but then Indian buyers might want to consider good Hyundais like this Embera diesel much before 2008 itself.
Old 12th January 2007, 21:54   #9

it should sell pretty well in the south.. finally an alternative to the skodas..
Old 12th January 2007, 22:10   #10

What will be the cost of the new Elantra that will be out soon if Sonata is priced at 14+ and with verna at 8+OTR...
Old 13th January 2007, 00:10   #11

Dont know if the octavia would have much of a problem ,but definitely something for the laura to watch out for.
Old 13th January 2007, 07:40   #12

Yep, some competetion finally to Skoda diesels! Good luck, Sonata!

The only thing I dislike about the Sonata is the road presence.. Especially considering we are paying 15+ lakhs.. The older Sonata was somewhat more appealing to me with its jaguar-ish looks!!

Last edited by Equus : 13th January 2007 at 07:43.
Old 13th January 2007, 08:45   #13

That's it. I support Hyundai in this venture to pull the NEW OCTAVIA (some calls it Laura) down to where it belongs.

It will sell like hot cakes I think.
Old 13th January 2007, 11:08   #14

Its a 2.0 litre CRDI , 142 BHP @ 4000 RPM with torque of 33 kgm/2000~2680 RPM with a 6 speed manual !!!
For a second, I thought we are talking about the C220....those stats are so similar. Fabulous Hyundai! This should show the Laura of the type of power that D-Segmenters deserve.

The Sonata looks pretty decent, is cheap to maintain and now has a fabulous diesel. I think the price at 14.5 is pretty competitive, and makes it the only spacious diesel-D segmenter.
Old 13th January 2007, 11:12   #15

They will scoop the upmarket taxi segment for sure and put the accord/camry out of business over there

As for the Skoda.....so is it 120 bhp for 14 lakhs or 104 bhp for 19 lakhs... no brainer