Old 19th June 2019, 13:42   #796

Re: Hyundai Venue : Official Preview. EDIT: Launched @ 6.5 lakhs

Originally Posted by adhd92 View Post
I am unable to understand the dealership's strategy here of refusing to sell if you do not buy insurance from them. Are you a car dealership or insurance agents?
AFAIK, dealerships mainly make money selling insurance and accessories and servicing cars. There's not much profit through car sales only. So now that they've got a much in demand new release, it seems to have given them additional reason to stand their ground even in the face of few cancellations. And since most new car buyers buy insurance from the dealerships with eyes closed, they can afford to let go of a few customers.

Originally Posted by jaaz View Post
Before cancelling your Booking, submit a letter to the Dealer and take an acknowledgement. Insist on a written reply for refusal of sale without insurance. I'm sure, Dealer will not give it in writing, but still do your part. While cancelling also, mention the reason in remarks.

In case, you get a letter in writing, you can definitely complain to IRDA.
I don't know about Hyundai, but Ford dealers usually don't honour cashless claims if insurance isn't bought through them, though they're fine with customers buying insurance from outside. Ford India has also given this in writing to fellow BHPians, defending their dealers for not honouring cashless claims.

For peace of mind, its better to get the insurance from the dealership for initial few years. Or else try to get the car from some new dealership which might not have become arrogant yet.
Old 19th June 2019, 13:46   #797

Found this video of Hyundai Venue E (base) variant on Youtube:

Not sure if anyone would be considering this variant with petrol engine but for diesel car buyers, this is a viable option. I must say the front end looks much better on this one without any chrome elements.

Last edited by self_driven : 19th June 2019 at 13:49.
self_driven is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th June 2019, 14:32   #798

Originally Posted by PieBull76 View Post
Just to put things into perspective, a dealer earns money from several sources, the first one obviously being the fixed margin he earns on the car. Besides that, dealership earns money from insurance commission , finance commission, accessory sales, the infamous 'handling' charges etc. When they refuse to sell a car without insurance, it generally has to do with the insurance penetration targets given by the OEM. The dealer earns a variable margin on several parameters and insurance penetration is generally one of them. For example, at least 50% of the cars sold need to be sold with in-house insurance. The dealer management in turn pushes its sales consultants to ensure every car is sold with an in house insurance. So, there are 2 different earnings at stake for the dealer and hence this attitude towards this topic. Of course, they cannot force a customer and you can use appropriate escalation mechanisms to get this resolved.
Thanks for the explanation.
I understand that they need to earn money but dealerships cannot justify it by exploitation, bullying and arrogance.
The team leader got back to me saying he will speak to the manager and revert by evening. I am mostly going to cancel my booking anyway.

Originally Posted by FrodoOfTheShire View Post
AFAIK, dealerships mainly make money selling insurance and accessories and servicing cars. There's not much profit through car sales only. So now that they've got a much in demand new release, it seems to have given them additional reason to stand their ground even in the face of few cancellations. And since most new car buyers buy insurance from the dealerships with eyes closed, they can afford to let go of a few customers.

I don't know about Hyundai, but Ford dealers usually don't honour cashless claims if insurance isn't bought through them, though they're fine with customers buying insurance from outside. Ford India has also given this in writing to fellow BHPians, defending their dealers for not honouring cashless claims.

For peace of mind, its better to get the insurance from the dealership for initial few years. Or else try to get the car from some new dealership which might not have become arrogant yet.
It may be convenient to get the insurance claim, no denying, but this is a wrong practice when it set as a condition. In a way they are taking your right as a consumer. I wish more people become aware about this.

Have spoken to Safdarjung Hyundai in Gurgaon. The sales guy told me it is not compulsory hence I have asked him to send the Pro Forma invoice so that was a positive. Hope he stands by his words. No word from Hyundai India yet though.
adhd92 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th June 2019, 23:04   #799

Hi everyone, I took the delivery of my Hyundai Venue SX+ DCT on 10th of June but unfortunately it incurred damage on left side of the front bumper. Now I seek advice of fellow Bhpian on the matter. I did not crash the car, my sister went to a restaurant this afternoon where the parking guy asked her to hand him over the keys so that he can park it. My sister warned him about the car being new and to be cautious while parking. With no regard to what she said the guy ruthlessly turned even when he was doing this my sister asked him to park it slowly and smashed the car in the pillar on the side, damaging the front bumper. My sister immediately shouted on him to get out of the car else the damage would have even be worse. Still the guy had the guts to say ' This is just a minor damage madam'. Thanks to careless drivers like him, now I have a damaged front bumper on the 9th day of the car even when I couldn't get the number plate installed.

I also reached the place soon and after talking to the manager of the parking, he has agreed to cover up the expenses of the repair, he insisted to use up my insurance for the same and pay paperwork charges.

Also, I visited the workshop where the service advisor told me exactly what I suspected - change of front bumper that would cost around 15 k. He advised me to either get the whole bill in cash and ask him to pay it all together and if he insists on using the insurance which according to him happened a lot in such settlement cases, he said that I should ask for paperwork charges and the No claim Bonus that I would get otherwise.

Also paperwork plus No claim bonus shall round up to around 6-7K
For information : My insurance is zero depreciation Insurance From Reliance with unlimited claim and a no claim bonus of 20%.
I seek the advice of fellow BHPians about how I should pursue the matter?

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attac...1&d=1560964390
Hyundai Venue : Official Preview. EDIT: Launched @ 6.5 lakhs-img_20190619_150304.jpg  

Hyundai Venue : Official Preview. EDIT: Launched @ 6.5 lakhs-img_20190619_150309.jpg  

Last edited by Eddy : 19th June 2019 at 23:28.
Nimish is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th June 2019, 23:43   #800

Hi Nimish, cars have an emotional connect with most of us and any dent or damage initially especially in a new possession is painful. Having said that, this special area and angle of bumper is prone to hits. One practical way of dealing could be take the 6-7k from the parking person and defer the replacement of bumper. You can get it done in future if there's something else also to be claimed. But please heed to this suggestion only if your heart allows. I am not sure if you can live with it's bruised brow.
vermasach is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 20th June 2019, 06:49   #801

A similar incident occurred with Dad's white EON. The damage was similar and they fitted a new bumper, and everything. But the paint was not matching perfectly even though it was the dealership that was doing it. Like in your case, insurance was claimed and paperwork charges of just around 2000 were borne by the offender (the total charge was 9k). The problem came during resale!
Valuators look at the edges for these guidelines. If it is repainted, the guidelines are not there. So they automatically assume (much to their benefit) that the car could have met with an accident. We had all pictures to show the extent of damage and were on the backfoot regarding this. Finally got Rs. 30,000 less than market price just because of this incident. So, as much as possible - what I advise is not to change bumper. It's a new vehicle I understand the sentiment, but look at a repaint option as well.

Originally Posted by Nimish View Post
'This is just a minor damage madam'.
Sebring is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 20th June 2019, 08:04   #802

Now I seek advice of fellow Bhpian on the matter.
That's a sad sight to see on a new car. From the pictures, it appears that there is a hairline crack on the bumper and replacement is the only option left.

While I am no one to stop you from keeping your car in pristine shape, the damage is too insignificant to go through the hassle of an insurance claim and lose out on NCB, resale value and factory paint match.

If you plan to sell your car in the next 3-4 years, any prospective buyer will see this insurance claim as a deterrent. Beyond that, I don't think you'll lose anything as it is not uncommon to have repainted bumpers on 5+ year old cars. I have claimed insurance twice in one year for my car (when it was 3 year old) for relatively minor damage but I plan to keep it till it crosses 10 year milestone.

For now, take the 2k odd bucks (file charges) from the parking manager before he/she backs out. Since the bumper is anyway waste now (from insurance point of view), go to a local painter and ask him to touch up/fill that hairline crack with the same colour without repainting any panel.

Last edited by self_driven : 20th June 2019 at 08:08.
self_driven is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2019, 09:40   #803

Also, I visited the workshop where the service advisor told me exactly what I suspected - change of front bumper that would cost around 15 k. He advised me to either get the whole bill in cash and ask him to pay it all together and if he insists on using the insurance which according to him happened a lot in such settlement cases, he said that I should ask for paperwork charges and the No claim Bonus that I would get otherwise.
Is that a torn bumper ? I couldnt identify it looking properly at the pictures. If its a just flex in the bumper with scratch , see if you can fix it at local garage with the compensation provided by restaurant owner.
See if you can take second opinion with FNG for fixing it.

Last edited by Vid6639 : 20th June 2019 at 09:45. Reason: fixing quote tags
Old 20th June 2019, 10:02   #804

Originally Posted by vermasach View Post
But please heed to this suggestion only if your heart allows. I am not sure if you can live with it's bruised brow.
My heart is definitely not allowing it but I am totally open to all the viable and radical solutions now.

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
A similar incident occurred with Dad's white EON. The damage was similar and they fitted a new bumper, and everything.what I advise is not to change bumper. It's a new vehicle I understand the sentiment, but look at a repaint option as well.
Honestly, that would not be a problem because as wierd as it may sound , my family keep their cars untill they are scrap and i haven't been able to convince them so far in taking radical decision of selling a car after a few years.
I am not very aware about the topic of car care , can you elaborate the issue that a workshop fitted bumper color can differ from the factory fitted color?

Originally Posted by self_driven View Post
While I am no one to stop you from keeping your car in pristine shape, the damage is too insignificant to go through the hassle of an insurance claim and lose out on NCB, resale value and factory paint match.

If you plan to sell your car in the next 3-4 years, any prospective buyer will see this insurance claim as a deterrent. Beyond that, I don't think you'll lose anything as it is not uncommon to have repainted bumpers on 5+ year old cars. I have claimed insurance twice in one year for my car (when it was 3 year old) for relatively minor damage but I plan to keep it till it crosses 10 year milestone.
Going by the trend , my family would keep the car for more than 10 years for sure and we might also not look for resale options thereafter. Can a replaced bumper be differentiable from the factory fitted part? Also, can the torn part be filled by the local shops?

Originally Posted by alexpaul View Post
Is that a torn bumper ? I couldnt identify it looking properly at the pictures. If its a just flex in the bumper with scratch , see if you can fix it at local garage with the compensation provided by restaurant owner.
See if you can take second opinion with FNG for fixing it.
To provide full information on the matter, it might though look like a scratch but the bumper is torn.
Nimish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2019, 11:04   #805

A colour mismatch is the number one worry for those going in for repainting. The net is full of stories on that (there are threads on TBHP on painting centres that got it wrong). A simple white has varying colour options. The Glasgow Grey on my Nexon is different than the grey on a Zest. And though it looks fine during delivery, when you see the car under different light - the repainting is obvious. That's why in Bangalore, some of us BHPians have identified repaint experts with a keen eye for details. We go to specialists. If resale is not a bother then it's fine

can you elaborate on the issue that a workshop fitted bumper color can differ
Old 20th June 2019, 11:36   #806

can you elaborate the issue that a workshop fitted bumper color can differ from the factory fitted color?
When you'll claim insurance, the new bumper will be painted at the dealer workshop. It comes as a non-painted/black plastic part and is painted later to match car's colour.

Can a replaced bumper be differentiable from the factory fitted part?
Replaced bumper will not be noticeable but paint finish will be; when you'll compare it with fenders, bonnet and other factory painted parts. That's why I suggested you to try and fiddle with the original bumper first.

Also, can the torn part be filled by the local shops?
I'm not sure of the process but there are few workers at painter shops who specialize in bumper repair. As your damage is minor and the torn part is not sticking out, even a painter would be able to add a very thin line of paint on the crack to make it less visible. No harm in getting an opinion.
Old 20th June 2019, 12:35   #807

unfortunately it incurred damage on left side of the front bumper.
A bit of a coincidence going on here!

My dad seemed to have misjudged the car's dimensions and grazed the wall of the building parking lot. The front bumper is damaged, but it looks like it's just a scratch.

Somehow, I'm not too dejected. It's only a car and have learned to accept that things like this will happen!

I'm not going the insurance route, as I'll be out by at least Rs. 8000/- by way of loss of NCB and processing charges. Also, this might also hurt the car's resale value and cause paint mismatch as already discussed on this thread.

I'll be taking the car to our local garage and we'll see what best he can do to hide this gash! The damage seems to be more on the cladding though, so let's see what sort of jugaad we can think of.
Hyundai Venue : Official Preview. EDIT: Launched @ 6.5 lakhs-img_20190620_122552_95.jpg  

KaranP is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 20th June 2019, 12:39   #808

I am not very aware about the topic of car care , can you elaborate the issue that a workshop fitted bumper color can differ from the factory fitted color?
Nimish, condolences friend, I know how it feels as I had a cab driver rear end my 15 day old car when I had stopped at a traffic light. He was a Ola guy who appeared to have dozed off and did not hit the brakes. The damage in my car was worse and I replaced the rear bumper thru insurance. No colour mismatch or any issues at all since it was a 15 day old car.

I feel there would be no paint mismatch or any issue with your car (especially since its white colour) because your car is only 9 days old. Being painted at the dealer level will not be an issue since your paint overall has not been exposed to the elements or had any real time to fade. After painting the bumper and a full car polish later, you can forget this nightmare and enjoy your car.

All the best.

Last edited by Cyborg : 20th June 2019 at 12:42.
Cyborg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2019, 14:37   #809

Originally Posted by Cyborg View Post
he damage in my car was worse and I replaced the rear bumper thru insurance. No colour mismatch or any issues at all since it was a 15 day old car.
Agree with you, Don't think so much about NCB, Re-sale, Colour mismatch, etc, if you start to worrying about it, you wont be in peace of mind driving the car.

If there is any mishap claim insurance, and if you have problem with NCB, change insurance company you might get lower quote from another company.

Resale wont be problem at all, unless chassis damage or full body tinkering/painting is done, its not considered as accident vehicle, If bumper damage or bumper painting is considered as accident vehicle, i guess more than 50% of vehicle will be considered as accident vehicles. If someone says that as problem there are 100 different avenues to sell your car.

So dont worry about all these, enjoy the vehicle and claim insurance if needed.
shamanth is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st June 2019, 14:44   #810

Originally Posted by adhd92 View Post
Hi Guys

Wanted to pose a question to current or past Hyundai owners regarding insurance. I have booked the Venue DCTSX+.

The dealership in question has told me it is compulsory to purchase insurance from them. I was surprised at this rule because as per them its a 'Hyundai' policy which I am not buying because they did not really say yes to give it in writing.

However, I called another dealership and they have told me the same. Apparently they have some auto portal that have to use.

Is this true? Has anyone else faced this issue?
I took delivery of 2 venue dct SX+ from HMP Chennai and I bought the insurance on Coverfox. This is not standard, if your stick to your guns they'll have no option but to relent.
Chrome6Boy is offline   (2) Thanks