Old 6th June 2022, 12:25   #1141

Re: Next-gen Mahindra Scorpio | Now revealed as Scorpio-N

The excitement surrounding the new Scorpio is very much encouraging. It seems that the Indian cars have come long way towards maturity. So India is going towards china way. Only desi cars will rule.
After Ford’s exit, foreign car brads are really struggling in India for a foot hold. Market share of Suzuki is decreasing and TATA and Mahindra are fast filling the void. Force motors already captured the passenger vehicle market with its humble ‘Tempo Traveler’. Gurkha generated a storm after the launch of its makeover. A very encouraging scenario.

Last edited by edunata : 6th June 2022 at 12:40.
edunata is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 12:25   #1142

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post

One more thing - the Scorpio-N will be offered in 2 seating configurations - 6-seater and 7-seater. Captain row seats will be available from launch day itself.
I heard that the front seats are ventilated. Can you please confirm?
Also will the top end 4x4 AT be available with Petrol? I was told that the Top 4x4 AT will be offered in Diesel Only. Can you please confirm?
TIA.
Old 6th June 2022, 13:51   #1143

Loving all the details made available so far on the forum. Looks like a winner already.
My preference would be 4x4 MT Diesel in top trim.

Mr. Mahindra please take all my money ��
SukhamritR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 13:53   #1144

Here's a video showing the off-road testing of the new ScorpioN, https://www.instagram.com/reel/CedLD...d=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

Source: @shutterdrives on Instagram
mj14 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 13:54   #1145

What are the dimensions of big daddy SUV?As per the speculations it shorter than XUV700.
Old 6th June 2022, 14:29   #1146

The features and specifications looks really exciting. I will be in Market for a Automatic SUV in 2-3 years and Scorpio-N looks very tempting.

Hope they price it well and prices remain flat for few years.

Being one of the early adaptor of the CRDE Scorpio in 2007, I have learnt a lesson to wait at least for 2 years before buying Mahindra products.

chandrda is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 14:37   #1147

Mahindra Scorpio-N spotted tackling some off-road obstacles

Next-gen Mahindra Scorpio | Now revealed as Scorpio-N-smartselect_20220606143357_instagram.jpg

Next-gen Mahindra Scorpio | Now revealed as Scorpio-N-smartselect_20220606143405_instagram.jpg

Next-gen Mahindra Scorpio | Now revealed as Scorpio-N-smartselect_20220606143412_instagram.jpg

Name:  SmartSelect_20220606143842_Instagram.gif
Views: 567
Size:  5.51 MB

Video

Last edited by Venkatesh : 6th June 2022 at 14:39.
Venkatesh is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 15:02   #1148

Originally Posted by achyutaghosh View Post
4Matic is trademarked by Mercedes Benz i think. Mahindra will have to call it something else.
Come to think of it, the exact word used for the terrain modes was something else. Started with 4(Four). Will get this fully confirmed.

Originally Posted by SShandilya View Post
Is the thar 4 door still on the plans of Mahindra or it has been replaced by the new Scorpio ?
5-door Thar is still on the plans. How they will fit that in between the Scorpio Classic, Thar, Scorpio-N and the 7OO remains to be seen.

Originally Posted by mj14 View Post
Here's a video showing the off-road testing of the new ScorpioN
Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
Taken from the boot camp for the Scorpio-N which ended very recently (in the first week of June).

Will get back for the rest of the queries after confirmation. Hopefully by tonight.
RavenAvi is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 15:10   #1149

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
Some XUV 700 owners may be regretting their decision of getting that car, seeing the list of features to be offered on the Scorpio N
I doubt if there will be any significant cross-shopping between the Scorpio-N and the XUV 7OO, just like it did not happen across the current gen Scorpio and the XUV 5OO. The clientele for a sophisticated, well-handling, feature-laden, contemporary crossover is highly unlikely to consider a ladder-frame SUV with oodles of body roll (yes, that is inherent to BoFs, whatever you do the suspension), and vice versa. Only time will tell

And boy, am I GLAD that the low-range gearbox stays
cool_dube is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 15:19   #1150

Originally Posted by purohitanuj View Post
I heard that the front seats are ventilated. Can you please confirm?
Also will the top end 4x4 AT be available with Petrol? I was told that the Top 4x4 AT will be offered in Diesel Only. Can you please confirm?
TIA.
Scorpio-N is said to be based on Thar platform and will come in both Petrol and diesel with MT and AT transmission..

5-door Thar is still on the plans. How they will fit that in between the Scorpio Classic, Thar, Scorpio-N and the 7OO remains to be seen.
5-door Thar should rival the Jeep Rubicon and will be a different ball game than Scorpio if that happens.

MOD NOTE : Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers.

Also,

Please use the EDIT or QUOTE+ (multi-quote) button instead of typing one post after another on the SAME THREAD!

To know how to multi-quote, click here.

We advise you to read the Forum Rules before proceeding any further.

Last edited by Sheel : 6th June 2022 at 15:29. Reason: MOD NOTE ATTACHED.
rahulya007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 15:30   #1151

Will get back for the rest of the queries after confirmation. Hopefully by tonight.
Thank you for the wonderful updates.

Another question if you may afford adding to the list: Any news on the Air Conditioner vents in the third row?
msarunms1987 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 16:17   #1152

Really wonderful to read this thread. Keenly awaiting the launch and if really good would be booking one as well. The only concern I have is niggles that the initial batches have. But it is compensated by their service & support.

Thanks @RavenAvi and @Birdie
livelyyoungman is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 16:30   #1153

The spec leak sounds promising. Ticks so far all the right boxes for me. A no nonsense (read ADAS stuff), muscular, A/4WD, Cruise Control, sorted out ride around 20 lakhs that too a Desi made car!

Btw, isn't this spec and price directly routing for potential Innova Crysta buyers? I will choose this over Innova Crysta anytime. I have 2013 Innova, and I had Scorpio 2006 and surely, this new Scorpio-N will match the new Innova in terms of value and reliability.

Only if they iron out issues before launch and not after launch, with us being the paid testers (the other way, we pay Mahindra to test their vehicles).

I really would like to go for the 4WD Diesel Auto as both the delivery of the XUV 700 and Thar is not even seen in the horizon. The only concern the initial trouble Mahindras are notorious for.

While typing here, checking with the M&M sales person but he is tight lipped on various questions asked. Even asked for unofficial booking and no favorable response.
sgmuser is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 16:56   #1154

Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post

While it has electronic 4x4 modes, I'm told it does have 4L (I couldn't verify this personally).
Based on what I saw on test vehicles it has proper 4x4 with electronic shifter, unlike the manual shifter of Thar.

Last edited by Shubhendra : 6th June 2022 at 16:58.
Shubhendra is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 18:52   #1155

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
Good wheel articulation, just wish MLD is part of package.