Old 18th October 2020, 22:26   #316

re: Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs

The car's interior looks kinda bland from the spy shots.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 18th October 2020 at 22:33.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 18th October 2020, 23:09   #317

re: Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs

Originally Posted by PrasannaDhana View Post
The car's interior looks kinda bland from the spy shots.
I agree, the tech and features offered are great, but the all-black interiors seems to be giving off a very drab feeling.
sid__kaps is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th October 2020, 23:31   #318

The good thing is there is not much of a difference between the European Model and the Indian Model in terms of the interior. I was able to figure out the following from my initial scrutiny :
  • The Digital Cluster has been straightaway flicked from Verna.
  • The Day & Night Rear View Mirror seems to be manual.
  • The buttons for the ventilated seats are missing. So, ventilated seats is a no.
  • Though not clear, but the speakers does seem to have the Bose branding.
  • They are doing a Kia with the multimedia buttons. They are no longer sticking to the good old volume knobs.
  • Height Adjustable seat belts are evident.
  • There are two buttons less on the Air Con controls as compared to the EU version.

Indian Model :
Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-img_20201017_234549.jpg

European Model :
Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-screenshot-20201018-10.53.25-pm.png

Cheers !

Pic Courtesy - Hyundai Europe & Car and Bike Reviews.
pandatrooper is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 19th October 2020, 00:18   #319

Originally Posted by CEF_Beasts View Post
The new gen i20 will be a hot seller!

Spotted at a dealership.

The space between the AC vents and HVAC controls looks a bit ungainly!
Audi-styled AC vents? Come on Hyundai, you guys are acting like the Chinese more than the Chinese themselves(More unreliable as well!)

Anyways, that interior door handle looks cheap and reminds me of the old Tata Indica(Heck even the colour shade is similar!)

Though, I'm happy to see a sunroof in the car!

Let's hope they haven't forgotten to install brakes that actually work in order to cut costs for making room for that pint sized sunroof, ventilated seats and wireless charging!

Originally Posted by Durango Dude View Post
Hope the new i20 coming here has nothing to do with the HB20 which has fared disastrously at the Latin NCAP...
Nahh! I'm sure the India-spec i20 won't score 4 in the first place. So, there's no chance of a 4 to 1 rating drop here!

Last edited by theAutomaniac : 19th October 2020 at 00:43.
theAutomaniac is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 19th October 2020, 08:57   #320

I really hope that the 1.0 Turbo Petrol gets the 120 BHP Tune and comes with a REAL manual gearbox as well, not one of those iMT units like the Sonet. This car the potential to compete with the Polo 1.0 TSI if the Hyundai does the drivetrain combination right along with decent steering and suspension.
Old 19th October 2020, 10:52   #321

Originally Posted by pandatrooper View Post
  • The Digital Cluster has been straightaway flicked from Verna.
  • The Day & Night Rear View Mirror seems to be manual.
  • The buttons for the ventilated seats are missing. So, ventilated seats is a no.
  • Though not clear, but the speakers does seem to have the Bose branding.
  • They are doing a Kia with the multimedia buttons. They are no longer sticking to the good old volume knobs.
  • Height Adjustable seat belts are evident.
  • There are two buttons less on the Air Con controls as compared to the EU version.
Adding to the above list, seems like Hyundai have gone with Ceat tyres as OEM fitment on what looks like the top end variant
Striker is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th October 2020, 11:58   #322

From the pics somehow the silhouette looks similar to the erstwhile Tata Bolt, while there is nothing bad about it!

We can expect top notch fit and finish as always from Hyundai, however The interiors look a tad bland. Probably too much of black with no subtle touches to break the monotonous color? The sporty appeal may appeal to many but its nothing to what an I20 can be related to...The grill across the dash is a hit and a miss!

All said and done, lets hope they get the pricing well and the outgoing model looked better IMO...
Old 19th October 2020, 12:42   #323

New Hyundai i20 spotted with DCT badging

Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-smartselect_20201019123943_chrome.jpg

Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-smartselect_20201019123949_chrome.jpg

Source : Autocar India
Venkatesh is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 19th October 2020, 13:44   #324

Compared to the european version the interiors look slightly bland. Going by the black door handles i had initially assumed it to be a sporty variant but the absence of red accents suggests otherwise. Also going by the features like rear wash and wipe and keyless entry and go it looks like the top end asta(o). Really disappointed to see hyundai still offering the top end with the 1.2 kappa 2 vtvt
Old 19th October 2020, 13:55   #325
AYP

Seriously! The interiors are just too bland. A subtle use of silver accents on the dash and door pads, chrome door handles and piano black around the ACC area would have been decent enough.

Also, this car may have benefitted from having a dual tone black and beige interior. At least it would have made the car feel airy and open.

While I will reserve my final judgement for later, this cabin does not make the cabins of Jazz and the Polo feel too old, which I was actually expecting it to. Disappointed on this front.

With that being said, this will still be my pick in the segment due to the 1.5 diesel. If only VW wouldn't have discontinued their diesels.

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 19th October 2020 at 15:15. Reason: edited
Old 19th October 2020, 14:29   #326

Thanks to the Team-BHP fan (he prefers to remain anonymous) who sent these images in. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing them with other enthusiasts via this page!

Hyundai is expected to launch the next-gen i20 on October 28, 2020. Now, we have received images of the car at a dealership.

Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-1.jpg

Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-2.jpg

Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-3.jpg

Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-image00001.jpg

Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-image00003.jpg

Bose sound system!
Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-image00002.jpg

Link to Team-BHP News Article

Last edited by GTO : 20th October 2020 at 08:03.
Aditya is offline   (65) Thanks
Old 19th October 2020, 14:54   #327

Originally Posted by Aditya View Post
Thanks to the Team-BHP fan (he prefers to remain anonymous) who sent these images in. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing them with other enthusiasts via this page!

Hyundai is expected to launch the next-gen i20 on October 28, 2020. Now, we have received images of the car at a dealership.

Attachment 2069704

Attachment 2069705

Attachment 2069706

Link to Team-BHP News Article
After a glance, I believe the grille of the red i20 seems to be sporting a turbo tag somewhere on the left side. I am a big fan of the design, but 2 things are coming out as quite sore, the projector headlamps which I thought would have been all LED, and the chrome strip on the rear. Great colours though, particularly like the grey.
sid__kaps is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th October 2020, 14:59   #328

Am I the only one who feels that the projector setup on the new i20 looks rather old now making the front fascia a bit dated?

Compare this --->

Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-3.jpg

To this --->

Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-99hyundaii202020studioherofront.jpg

IMO, the all LED setup lends an aggression to that sharp front end while the projector makes it a bit docile.

I hope this is the Asta variant and the Asta(O) comes with all LED headlamps.
Porschefire is offline   (32) Thanks
Old 19th October 2020, 15:15   #329

The chrome strip at the back is an overkill imho.
I hope it's not a standard fitment!
Nazaar25 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 19th October 2020, 15:24   #330

Third-gen Hyundai i20 spotted testing in Chennai. Edit: Launched at 6.79 lakhs-smartselect_20201019123943_chrome.jpg

I don't know what kind of a cost cutting exercise is this but why is Hyundai/Kia moving to 2 parking sensors for the rear in all their offerings below the C2 segment.

At one hand we have Toyota who are increasing the number of parking sensors at the rear from 2 to 4 in case of their offerings and on the other hand we have Hyundai/Kia reducing them .

I agree even if it costs Rs 200-300 per sensor or 2 sensors based on the volumes they sell its a good saving at an overall level but at the same time when you are selling a product worth lacs why are you saving pennies on the dollar or rather thousands of dollars.

Last edited by sv97 : 19th October 2020 at 15:26.
sv97 is offline   (15) Thanks