Old 13th June 2020, 19:40   #46

Originally Posted by ron_9191 View Post
I seriously think BMW should stick to cars and not SUV's To be it looks like a giant London black cab with some bling. It is hideous!

That kidney grille now looks like 2 massive drain holes.
From the pics it looks bad but I have see it in person and it looks pretty good; it kinda adds up and looks good. I have seen a few in Houston and every time it was a mom hauling kids...so more of a family SUV.

I own the E70 (2011 X5 35d) and I love it so much. I love BMW SUV's...in fact my next SUV would be nothing but a newer model X5.

Mod Note : Please use the EDIT or QUOTE+ (multi-quote) button instead of typing one post after another on the SAME THREAD!

To know how to multi-quote, click here.

We advise you to read the Forum Rulesbefore proceeding any further.

Last edited by Sheel : 13th June 2020 at 21:02. Reason: Mod note attached.
Old 13th June 2020, 20:43   #47

Re: BMW X7 launched at Rs. 98.90 lakh

Originally Posted by 991.2GT3 View Post
Is the squeaking sound coming from interior or exterior of the vehicle? Also which model do you have, 30d or the 40i trim? I'm looking to replace my 525d and the new X5 40i seems to be the top choice so far.
Mine is 30D. By sound, I mean, from the tyres When you push the car hard, it's no longer what it used to be in last generation, this has definitely something to do with the Air-suspension. Overseas on M- spec variants, Adaptive dampers ate standard and preferred over Air.

My pick will still be Diesel over Petrol. I find 30D on X5 more responsive than 40i on my 7.

Last edited by Turbanator : 13th June 2020 at 20:52.
Turbanator is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th June 2020, 14:38   #48

Mine is 30D. By sound, I mean, from the tyres When you push the car hard, it's no longer what it used to be in last generation, this has definitely something to do with the Air-suspension. Overseas on M- spec variants, Adaptive dampers ate standard and preferred over Air.

My pick will still be Diesel over Petrol. I find 30D on X5 more responsive than 40i on my 7.
That 620Nm torque is sure to push you back in your seat. The 40i seems to be superior on paper, guess will have to take back to back test drives to know what's what. My 525d (204hp/450nm) still puts a smile on my face so can't begin to imagine what the 30d would feel like with ~50% more torque but i miss having a powerful petrol in the stable Not a big fan of how the G30 looks else a 530d would be the perfect lateral upgrade, hope they launch the 540i with the LCI next year.

Yes the adaptive suspension will be better for handling vs the Air, also more reliable given how Air suspension equipped vehicles fare in our country.I'm guessing your 740li also has air suspension? I believe only the M-performance(m50d/m50i) models come equipped the same?! Not sure if M-sport ones like the 530d have M specific adaptive suspension or just adaptive dampers.

Do you know if the 40i M-sport has M specific tuning to air suspension or is the same as the x-line? Couldn't find any concrete info for the same online.
991.2GT3 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th June 2020, 19:54   #49

Originally Posted by 991.2GT3 View Post
Not sure if M-sport ones like the 530d have M specific adaptive suspension or just adaptive dampers.
Varies from year to year. Mine 2011, 530-D probably had but they took out in 2014 and later. Came back again last year if I am not mistaken.

o you know if the 40i M-sport has M specific tuning to air suspension or is the same as the x-line? Couldn't find any concrete info for the same online
It has to be M Suspension. I can try to find it from the VIN in case I get, will share.

Last edited by Turbanator : 15th June 2020 at 19:56.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2020, 18:01   #50

I own current generation X5 and in the past had the older as well, haven't driven X7 but I am not at all happy with how current X5 handles.

Either, it's being a while that I have driven the older X5 or am got spoilt using sedans, but X5 squeaks at high speeds. Air Suspension seems to be the culprit and it will be even worst on X7. Straight-line power or speed will be better but without Sound, No, Thanks.

Most likely, BMW India has got the kits they ordered to HQ in 2018 don't think anyone is going to order one at 1,65 Plus options.
Well, I believe the sounds are better off coming from the sedans that one tends to be spoiled by (and rightfully so). The SUV needs to waft the family of 6 to that vacation home out of town on the weekends. I'm sure the air suspension tuning on the X7 would be competent for all intents and purposes. But hey, that's just me.

About the pricing, we cannot rule out the possibility of discounts further along the road. Especially now that Mercedes-Benz has just launched the new GLS-Class.
Old 28th July 2020, 08:26   #51

BMW unveils X7 Dark Shadow Edition SUV

ETAuto July 25, 2020, 10:47 IST

​The BMW X7 Dark Shadow Edition is based on the X7 M50i, which is powered by a twin-turbocharged 4.4-litre V-8 engine.

BMW X7 launched at Rs. 98.90 lakh-screenshot_20200728082824_gallery.jpg

New Delhi: BMW has unveiled the new X7 Dark Shadow Edition SUV on Friday. The German luxury carmaker says the X7 Dark Shadow Edition will be built in a limited number of 500 units.

Production of this limited edition SUV will begin from next month, as the automaker claims.

As BMW says, the X7 Dark Edition comes with distinctive design elements and features. It gets a new Dark Shadow colour scheme.

The SUV features BMW Individual High Gloss Shadow Line, aerodynamically optimised bodywork elements of M sports package, claims BMW. It gets 22-inch M light-alloy wheels in V-spoke design with a Jet-Black matt finish.

Among other offerings, the SUV gets M leather steering wheel. As BMW claims, the frozen arctic grey colour of the SUV will be offered with the BMW X7, BMW X6 and BMW X5 starting from August 2020.
More on the link below

https://auto.economictimes.indiatime...n-suv/77162949

Last edited by Bibendum90949 : 28th July 2020 at 08:52.
Bibendum90949 is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 28th July 2020, 08:46   #52

Originally Posted by Bibendum90949 View Post
BMW unveils X7 Dark Shadow Edition SUV

ETAuto July 25, 2020, 10:47 IST

​The BMW X7 Dark Shadow Edition is based on the X7 M50i, which is powered by a twin-turbocharged 4.4-litre V-8 engine.

Attachment 2035428

More on the link below

https://auto.economictimes.indiatime...n-suv/77162949
The X7 looks quite menacing in person and now this dark shadow reminds me of Lucifer(Netflix Show), devilishly handsome yet sophisticated. Hope to buy it some day!
Well done BMW.
Sreesh1009 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th October 2020, 17:35   #53

My cousin was looking to replace his 2007 X5 with a newer one. However, the dealer got the X7 for a test drive instead and he fell in love with it. Its loaded with features, has the most comfortable rear captain seats and a lot of street presence. The soft close doors are an added bonus in this category. Driving wise its phenomenal and actually quite agile in sport mode. You really don't feel the bulk once you've got used to the car.

Since he was going to be spending so much money, we though he should check out all the competition. We drove the new GLS, Range Rover sport and Velar, and also the Q8 (which is not really comparable in this segment).

Out of all the above the X7 still felt the best. We're trying to negotiate a deal for some discount as the X7 is now over a year old and not really flying off the shelves. However, the BMW dealers have now made some pact to not offer any big discounts. So the only thing on offer is a couple of lacs shaved off on the insurance.

We're still holding out for a better deal, so if someone does hear of something, please keep me posted. Cheers!
manishk123 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th October 2020, 19:10   #54

Yes, It's indeed competitive. Except for the ventilated seats, this ticks almost everything else. Really hard to find anything wrong and yes this thing is huge. Larger than anything else and still drives like a BMW. Rear captain seats will be very useful for the chauffer driven vehicles and this will be one of the most comfortable Cars for the rear passengers.
I just sat in one and it is nice how much difference a cushion behind the neck can make in terms of support. The engine was so smooth. BUtter smooth. It was so quiet and refined from inside with everything being so silent. The ride is nice and you feel like you're on air. There is clatter from the outside but the inside is amazing. I never experienced one before and didn't know the degree of whatever people said about bmws and mercs. this was an eye opener for me

Really really nice. I asked my friend to let me take some pictures and a test drive. I might be able to put up a report. I'm so excited!
viXit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th October 2020, 09:04   #55

I drove a friends X7 40i and wow what a car, the 3 litre petrol engine's exhaust sounds so good, and it is quick for its size. Comfortable to sit in and the ambient lit sunroof is the cherry on the cake. Love it's presence and looks.
aman-bh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th May 2021, 17:34   #56

Ultra-Exclusive BMW X7 Dark Shadow Edition to be launched in India soon. It is limited to just 500 units worldwide.

BMW X7 Dark Shadow Edition is based on the range-topping M50i variant. It is powered by a 4.4-litre, twin-turbo V8 petrol engine which produces 530PS and 750Nm paired to an 8-speed automatic gearbox. 0-100 kmph in a matter of just 4.7 seconds. Its top speed is electronically restricted to 250 kmph and also comes with a BMW sports exhaust system.

BMW India teases the X7 Dark Edition Link

BMW X7 launched at Rs. 98.90 lakh-smartselect_20210529172738_twitter.jpg

BMW X7 launched at Rs. 98.90 lakh-smartselect_20210529172749_twitter.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 29th May 2021 at 17:46.
Venkatesh is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th May 2021, 21:11   #57

Few units are coming and all spoken for. No free stocks currently.
Turbanator is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st May 2021, 12:17   #58

BMW X7 Dark Shadow Edition to launch today

BMW X7 launched at Rs. 98.90 lakh-smartselect_20210531121556_twitter.jpg

BMW X7 launched at Rs. 98.90 lakh-smartselect_20210531121613_twitter.jpg

Venkatesh is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th January 2023, 13:37   #59

BMW has launched the Facelift 2023 X7 officially in India.

X7 xDrive40i M Sport - Rs 1,22,00,000/-*
X7 xDrive40d M Sport - Rs 1,24,50,000/-*

The 40d tune finally takes the GLS 400d head on.